We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved my stay here!! You don't need to look any further!!”
Review of Armadillo Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armadillo Studios
Ranked #53 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I was travelling on business by myself and found this the best place ever!! Marion and David were so welcoming and a lot of fun!! This place is very safe which was a big plus for me seeing as I was travelling alone. I had a very nice unit with a big bathroom, a kitchenette, lounge and bedroom. I had a nice outdoor area (with table and chairs) where I could admire their beautiful garden and be tempted by the pool. This place is a slice of heaven!! Honestly, you don't need to look any further. Marion and David are truly awesome people and they have an awesome place to stay!! Oh, and the breakfast was very nice. I went for the continental option and that was more than enough for me, there was cereal, muesli, yoghurt, fruit salad, fruit, juice, coffee, tea etc. They also do a cooked breakfast. You enjoy breakfast on their balcony while enjoying the views :-) Last but not least the parking is on their property and is safe also.

Room Tip: All units looked fantastic, there are three and all are different sizes. I had the smallest unit (it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzchinagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

It's wonderful to know that our business guests enjoy staying with us as much as our holiday visitors. Thank so so much for your excellent & very detailed review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write. See you again soon - and many thanks for the wine lovely samples!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

The accommodation was excellent, the location was excellent, everything about our stay was way above our expectations and we cannot thank our hosts Marion and David enough for their wonderful hospitality, having recommended The Armadillo Studios to everyone we know I suggest
booking early as we had trouble booking a year in advance!

Room Tip: There is only three studios so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Great review - thank you so much! Good advice regarding 'booking early'. As we only have 3 guest studios, they tend to get snapped-up quickly - especially during high season. Hope to see you all back here one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for four nights in the two bedroom apartment. The accommodation is clean, spacious and the hosts ensure that you have everything that you need. The apartment also stayed at a nice cool temperature even when it was very hot outside.

The location is peaceful, the gardens excellent and pool was loved by all of the family.

A five to ten minute drive to Knysna Waterfront which has lots of bars and restaurants and a real buzz.

Room Tip: For a family with two teenagers the two bedroom apartment was perfect, expecially as each room has i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

What a lovely review - thank you very much indeed. It was a pleasure having you stay and delighted that your youngsters, in particular, liked our pool. We also enjoyed reading your succinct reviews of restaurants & attractions in Knysna! Hope to see you back one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Many thanks to Marion and David for such a wonderful stay. The studio was more than what we wanted and your garden is absolutely beautiful, the location is perfect and we couldn't have asked to stay with more accommodating people!
We are looking forward to our next visit!

Thanks again,

Luke & Kayleigh

Room Tip: All the rooms are of great standard, I'm sure anyone visiting would not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Super review - thank you very much. So glad you enjoyed our accommodation & garden - and the welcome notice we put at our gate! Hope to see you return as 'Armadillo Amigos' very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Wonderful stay in a delightful spot up on the hills outside Knysna town. The two-bedroom apartment we rented for five days was a joy - comfortable, well equipped and spacious with its own patio for breakfast in the sunny, lush gardens. Marion and David are exceptional hosts, welcoming, friendly and generous with their time (and wine!). The best chunk of our South African holiday by far, we're very much looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaddieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Wow! What a succinct & heartwarming review. It's always particularly good to receive positive comments from regular TripAdvisor reviewers. Thank you so much. Really looking forward to seeing you back at Armadillo one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Well planned and spacious accommodation with a very attractive garden with a swimming in nice area. It is surrounded by mature trees so looks as though there aren`t any other houses nearby. Lots of interesting birds to watch. Very friendly and hospitable owners. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddington_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for your positive feedback - and congratulations on being our 100th reviewer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Fantastic hosts, fantastic setting with the garden and just exactly what i was looking for. My guest had a recent operation before coming to South Africa, so stairs was out of the question. With loads of online searching and trying to find the correct accommodation i stumbled on Armadillo Studios, but what a pleasant surprise!! Marion and David has been absolute fantastic and have been taking good care us for the 2nights and it was great. We had our privacy of leaving when we had to and we had our own entrance and exit so that we also do not invade their space and privacy. By setting things up the way they did, worked for them and also guests that will be staying there in the future. You have the option of having breakfast with views overlooking parts of Knysna Heads which is really great. Booking your stay here will be an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thanks for a great review (and all the exclamation marks!!!) So nice to receive such positive feedback from a top Cape Town tour guide - we really appreciate it & hope to welcome you back soon with more clients touring the Garden Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
31.9 km away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
167 reviews
13.1 km away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
292 reviews
3.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
24.6 km away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armadillo Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armadillo Studios

Address: 15 Lindsay Street | Hunters Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $88 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil, landscaped surroundings, close to Knysna & Pezula Golf Clubs, The Heads, town centre and Waterfront, Armadillo Studios offers the last word in affordable luxury. Our 4-star accommodation (B&B or self-catering) comprises spacious guest suites with stylish bathrooms, mini kitchens, lounge areas with flatscreen DSTV, DVD & hi-fi, private entrances, off street parking and patios overlooking our beautiful gardens with pool, sun deck, lapa and guest braai. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing