We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
135
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 140 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The accommodation was excellent, the location was excellent, everything about our stay was way above our expectations and we cannot thank our hosts Marion and David enough for their wonderful hospitality, having recommended The Armadillo Studios to everyone we know I suggest
booking early as we had trouble booking a year in advance!

Room Tip: There is only three studios so book early.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Great review - thank you so much! Good advice regarding 'booking early'. As we only have 3 guest studios, they tend to get snapped-up quickly - especially during high season. Hope to see you all back here one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed for four nights in the two bedroom apartment. The accommodation is clean, spacious and the hosts ensure that you have everything that you need. The apartment also stayed at a nice cool temperature even when it was very hot outside.

The location is peaceful, the gardens excellent and pool was loved by all of the family.

A five to ten minute drive to Knysna Waterfront which has lots of bars and restaurants and a real buzz.

Room Tip: For a family with two teenagers the two bedroom apartment was perfect, expecially as each room has its own bathroom!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

What a lovely review - thank you very much indeed. It was a pleasure having you stay and delighted that your youngsters, in particular, liked our pool. We also enjoyed reading your succinct reviews of restaurants & attractions in Knysna! Hope to see you back one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Many thanks to Marion and David for such a wonderful stay. The studio was more than what we wanted and your garden is absolutely beautiful, the location is perfect and we couldn't have asked to stay with more accommodating people!
We are looking forward to our next visit!

Thanks again,

Luke & Kayleigh

Room Tip: All the rooms are of great standard, I'm sure anyone visiting would not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Super review - thank you very much. So glad you enjoyed our accommodation & garden - and the welcome notice we put at our gate! Hope to see you return as 'Armadillo Amigos' very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Wonderful stay in a delightful spot up on the hills outside Knysna town. The two-bedroom apartment we rented for five days was a joy - comfortable, well equipped and spacious with its own patio for breakfast in the sunny, lush gardens. Marion and David are exceptional hosts, welcoming, friendly and generous with their time (and wine!). The best chunk of our South African holiday by far, we're very much looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaddieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Wow! What a succinct & heartwarming review. It's always particularly good to receive positive comments from regular TripAdvisor reviewers. Thank you so much. Really looking forward to seeing you back at Armadillo one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Well planned and spacious accommodation with a very attractive garden with a swimming in nice area. It is surrounded by mature trees so looks as though there aren`t any other houses nearby. Lots of interesting birds to watch. Very friendly and hospitable owners. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddington_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive feedback - and congratulations on being our 100th reviewer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews