We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible Place to Stay!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Bright House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Place to Stay!”
Reviewed January 14, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I had the opportunity of staying at the Bright House on a recent business trip to Oudtshoorn. I had been recommended it by a friend, and it definitely didn't disappoint! The room was comfortable, clean and luxurious - the guesthouse a feast for the eyes in its embrace of creative design. The proximity to Jemimas Restaurant was also very convenient. If you don't stay here on your next trip to Oudtshoorn, you'll be missing out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahMBax...
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
Reviewed January 13, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

On a recent business visit to Oudtshoorn I had the immense pleasure of spending a night at the Bright House. It is a beautiful space and the hosts Debbie and Pierre were incredibly gracious... they could not do enough to ensure our comfort.

I highly recommend a stay at the Bright House. I will definitely be back to stay on my next visit to Oudtshoorn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R0elien
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Oudtshoorn”
Reviewed December 25, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had the privilege to stay at The Bright House, what a treat for the eyes and the soul. This is an artistic gem, quirky, yet stylish. One floats out of the pool, to the braai area, onto one of the beautiful couches, or a comfortable bed, with the best quality linen. A definite reason to spend time in Oudtshoorn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LUXURY IN THE KLEIN KAROO”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely home - and right on the doorstep of "Jemima's" (our favourite restaurant in Oudtshoorn). A wonderful anniversary celebration.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A feast for the eyes ”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A gorgeous house perfect for either a romantic get away or a fun filled weekend. All amenities imaginable, squeaky clean and simply a feast for the eyes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabriella...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful home with everything we needed”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the bright house for with my partner and another couple for a long weekend away in Oudtshoorn.

The house is spacious and open plan, great for relaxing as well as enjoying some wine and a braai. The main area opens onto the garden with pool. All the bedrooms have en suite bathrooms and are full fitted. Beds are very comfortable with fresh linen and towels.

Pierre was an excellent host. He made sure we had everything we needed and was very knowledgable about Oudsthoorn and the surrounding area. Pierre and his wife also own the restaurant Jemima's (https://www.tripadvisor.co.za/Restaurant_Review-g312667-d1231272-Reviews-Jemima_s_Restaurant-Oudtshoorn_Western_Cape.html), which is separated by a beautiful garden right next to The Bright House.

I would highly recommend The Bright House to anyone looking for a relaxing, private getaway which is still within walking distance of the main town.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A terrific holiday home, private yet so central to town.”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This beautifully designed home with phenomenal art and architecture had everything we could need. Centrally located in town, yet very quiet and private with secure parking. Fantastic fully equipped kitchen with innovative braai area, everything so comfy and functional, wish we could stay longer!...or for ever!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing