We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
154
18
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
18
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse mealostrich farmreal palaceostrich steakostrich tourstunning place to stayinfinity poolcomplimentary portbeautiful furniturecape townfluffy towelsgreat stopoverlocal wineexcellent dinnerviews of the mountainsroad tripattention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 179 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

I can write nothing to do this place justice! Visiting this place is an absolute must!
The accommodation is picture perfect, and the food is probably the best I have ever eaten!
The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful!

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2017

On arrival Elmare met us with a warm welcome. We were shown to our accommodation which was in a beautifully furnished cottage with enviable antiques and 5* touches. Complimentary port in the room was most welcome after a long drive to the property.
Dinner prepared by Elmare was a gourmet experience. Kobus took charge of the drinks.
This was my first ever B & B experience and one that will long be remembered.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2017

Just back from a road trip in the Western Cape and would like to give the highest rating to the Ostrich Palace where we stayed on the 14th April, not only in terms of welcome, service received, our lovely room and the outstanding food. Kobus and Elmarie were wonderful hosts and we gained a real insight of ostrich farming.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2017

We were doing road trip around South Africa. The Rietfontein Ostrich Palace was just a stunning place to stay on our last leg back to Cape Town. We arrived and were met by a delightful Elmarie who showed us to our stunning bedrooms, so comfortable and spacious. We did enjoy the show and the Victorian Bath. We took a walk around the farm and enjoyed a stunning sunset. Pre drinks dinner was served where Kobus explain about the history of the farm over a lovely Gin and Tonic , fascinating read of the book dated 1910 here it explains the history, you need to get there and stay for the full story! The dinner served was stunning, Elmarie should be rated as one of the leading chefs in South Africa, what a stunning dinner. I opted for the Ostrich and was certainly not disappointed , we had the 4 Course meal which was outstanding. Great idea from Kobus to only serve local wines at very reasonable prices.
The breakfast was just as superb.
We reluctantly left, leaving new friends and Emma the dog behind, but we will be back

Room Tip: Rooms by the restaurant and mean hotel are really fabulous , try for the Emma cottage
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarylCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017

Friday night dinner for 8 - Elmarie and Kobus were absolutely fantastic in making us feel welcome and comfortable. A 3 course meal which was absolutely outstanding with the standout dish being the Ostrich which was by far the best that I have ever had.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Beans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews