We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
46
69
65
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
69
65
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthatched hutsgroup comingnice toiletriesphoned aheadbird songvery nice hotelquiet roomhotel restauranttour groupbar fridgethe wi fibit datedsmall fridgeen routeon arrivalstayed here for two nightsclean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 205 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Whilst the hotel rooms have benefited from a refurbishment, they could have made them so much better.
Due to the round shape of the small rooms we had insufficient room to access our second suitcase. We were constantly trying to manoeuvre around trying to get to our clothes. Not helping the situation was that there was no where to put a toilet bag in the bathroom, so always walking in and out , it was that or putting it on the floor. Although the bathroom is small surely they could have put some storage in there.
The breakfast selection wasn’t great and the dining room was very crowded.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monsoon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim, being GUEST satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our GUESTS and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our GUESTS expectations.

I have shared your feedback with the team and we will do our best to better everyone's experience of the rooms.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back at Riempie in the near future.

Kind Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Really good service from check-in to check-out. The buffet dinner was excellent and breakfast was varied and fresh! The newly renovated rondavels are clean and modern. The wi-fi is still spotty in spite of a recent upgrade. Pretty grounds and pool area, and we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank KWW2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Protea Hotel by Marriott Riempie Estate and sharing your valuable feedback with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you had such a great experience at our hotel and that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurant.

We did take note of the Wi-Fi issues and as you mentioned, we’ve already upgraded.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Riempie when travels bring you back to Oudtshoorn.

Kind Regards
Elmarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

Very friendly staff with newly renovated rooms.

We went to the Protea hotel riempie estate in early March 2018, was very impressed with the friendly staff and neat rooms. Although the hotel was fully booked we felt like the staff was very friendly and always willing to help. A definate must for anyone looking to travel to the wonderful town of Oudshoorn.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018

January'18 holiday to Western Cape with my wife.

Absolutely fantastic hotel. The huts were amazing and had one of the nicest meals ever eaten in a hotel restaurant.

The pool area is also fantastic and the service was great too. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2018 via mobile

Only place we could stay because of the size of our group. They think of themselves as a three star hotel—that’s pushing it. Only had a double bed (with a king size headboard). Floor was dirty. WiFi was weak. Get to leave now-best part of the day

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHRiempie, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Dear Mr and Mrs Frans

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim, being GUEST satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our GUESTS and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our GUESTS expectations.

I truly regret not having been able to meet your expectations. We recently installed new Wi-Fi and never had any complains. I will look into this. Unfortunately for our roofs it sometimes cause a bit of dust when the wind blows very strong. We are definitely working on fixing it.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back at Riempie when travel brings you to Oudtshoorn again.

Kind Regards

Elmarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews