We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
512
96
22
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
96
22
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape town working farm the owner wine region every evening very nice stay swimming pool business trip feel at home lovely place guest house three nights friendly hosts paarl area one night stay daan yvonne
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 637 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2018

This wonderful accommodation is run by a family of father a fire fighter and a mom and daughter. Very interesting people, who are really into taking care of you. The food was excellent .If you have to visit Paarl area this is highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank njan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018

I had actually been there in February 2015, so I apologize for my belated ratings and for the false date (tripadvisor doesn't let you rate anything older than 11 months, for some reason). First of all, it was a pleasant experience! I have fond memories of the dinners, the restful sleep, the cozy evenings by the fire and the wine safari.

The "De Leeuwenhof" is less of a hotel and more of a luxurious guesthouse. You can really feel that the Dutch family who runs it, puts a lot of effort into providing the best possible service to its guests. Initially, I was expecting to commute to Cape Town and to use this place to spend the night only. But the dinners were so exquisite and the wine safari they offered so interesting, that I began enjoying simply relaxing at the Leeuwenhof!

The rooms are in old horse-stable-like compartments of the building. You get a restful night in a historic building. The bathrooms are also very clean and the entire atmosphere took me back to my childhood memories growing up in Mexico.

The service is impeccable! Father, mother, daughter and son run the show and they do it with such politeness and attention to detail that it's a true delight. They also had an apprentice at the time and some additional employees who were very pleasant.

I can warmly recommend the dinners at the Leeuwenhof. You usually get a three course meal served in the courtyard next to the swimming pool. On top of that, you can order some Olsen wine, which goes perfectly with the South African cuisine (their chef was a local South African, at the time). The other thing I can recommend is a wine safari! They drive you to the Nederburg wineries and then up a hill to a private retreat where there's some additional wine tasting. I was buzzed at the end of the morning, but South African wines are so good that it's actually worth getting drunk on them!

So, if you're planning a trip to the Western Cape, try to plan at least three nights in Paarl and make sure to stay at the van Leeuwens' guesthouse! You'll def. enjoy it!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubert_Etienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2017

We had to go to a family reunion in the Paarl area so decided to stay here to a good choice as only a 5 minute drive to the reunion...
We were pleasantly surprised had cottage accommodation well fitted had all we needed including a good assortment of DSTV
Breakfasts were adequate and we had one dinner as well also great (maybe a little bit pricey)
Had a great swimming pool as well as was pretty warm both days we were there
Hosts were very accommodating and enjoyed chatting to them...

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annian90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deleeuwenhof, General Manager at De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2017

Dear Annian,

Thank you very much for your positive review and it was a pleasure having you.

The described DSTV package and big Led Flatscreens in our cottages are loved by many especially if sports are concerned. We offer a specialized hotel package to offer news and sports and some movie chanels to all our international guests.

The in-house restaurant and our own kitchen team including chef, prepare both breakfast and dinner. Daily made fresh croisants and the finest meats are offered as well as fresh fruits and vegies from the farm itself.

Dinner and breakfast are served around the pool and in the evening we light the fire and guest enjoy around the fireplace near the pool.

Our management team, takes great pride in their work and we interact often with guest, to make sure all is to their liking and to see if we can improve.

We hope to see you again with the next reunion.

Daan van Leeuwen Boomkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2017

We had an amazing stay at De Leeuwenhof Guesthouse. The family is warm, welcoming and very accommodating. Tessa even took my 4 year old daughter with her to feed the animals, which she loved. Daan gives a very informative tour of the farm and surrounding area. I wish we had more time to visit with him. The meals are plentiful and delicious, and the welcome braai was such a nice touch. We would highly recommend the guesthouse and will definitely be back again!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amandajnagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deleeuwenhof, General Manager at De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2017

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for your very positive review.

We are happy you liked the offerings. Our family driven Hotel/guesthouse is located on a historic farm dating back to 1714. The farm still produces wines and fruits and we have quite some animals around as well. The children love our new born cheep and dogs and we do take guests on a tour to tell them the history of the farm and how all is operated.

We are glad you liked our food offering in our in-house restaurant. The location around the big pool, give a relaxed atmosphere and most people love the fire-place.

We look forward having you again and thank you very much for the kind words.

Daan van leeuwen Boomkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017

I stayed at this property for a few nights while attending a wedding on a nearby property. This part of the Western Cape remains as beautiful as I remember from my prior visits, and I recommend De Leeuwenhof to those looking for a friendly welcome and a peaceful retreat. The family and staff clearly take great pride in running this property, and their attentiveness and willingness to help guests with all manner of needs and questions came through time and again. The accommodations are clean and well maintained, and each room has its own character.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deleeuwenhof, General Manager at De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Dear Matthew,

Thank you for your positive review and it was a pleasure having you.

As a family run guesthouse/hotel, we try to make sure all our guests are looked after like friends and all demands they might have are being full-filled.

De Leeuwenhof dates back to 1714 and that is what gives the peaceful atmosphere.

We look forward having you again and we then will celebrate your return with a nice cold glas of our white wines.

Kind regards,
\
Daan van Leeuwen Boomkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews