We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a peaceful stay near Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Onze Rust Guesthouse
Ranked #70 of 116 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Onze Rust lives up to its name: it offers a peaceful resting place in a nice rural setting, in the Stellenbosch wine region, in the immediate vicinity of the Cape Town area. The premises a slightly quaint, ambiance that feels like entering te past, but with all modern amenities. Well equippend for families with children (pool), and a treat for bird lovers. Service is really excellent, and staff go out of their way to assist in any way they can. It does matter to have a means of gtransportation at your disposal.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank guusvwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Dear Prof Guus, thank you so much for the review, we are glad we could assist you during your stay. Thank you for pointing out that own transport to visit restaurants (5-12 minutes drive away) is important, although we use the services of shuttles who can taxi guests to town centre or Cape Town (40km away), and a vine hopper who pick up our guests at the guesthouse before taking them to several wineries for a day outing. Most peope do not know how many things Stellenbosch has to offer, and would plan longer stays with own transport to make the most of it. We hope to see you back in South Africa soon. Ester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2016

This establishment needs an overhaul - the facilities are delapidated. Our room was spacious and the staff very friendly, but out towels were threadbare, grey and one was even torn. For two people we had one large and one small towel. When we asked for replacement they did. The couch had a tear in it showing the sponge underneath. The linen had a huge stain as well. The outside chairs were plastic and old - no cushion in sight. There was no dustbin in the room and we found used earbuds and cotton wool in one of the drawers. The plants in pots are dying since they are not watered. Three of the knobs on the drawers were missing. We have stayed at places at half the price that were 100% better. This was no value for money. If we would not have lost our deposit, we would have left.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ilze l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you for the review and the opportunity created for us to respond. This is the second unfavorable review Ilze has posted about this stay, and some of the things mentioned in the complaint has changed, which saddens us as it creates the impression that it is to harm our business, not to improve it. To understand why guests can get a bad first impression, we have to give background: It was the first day of Woordfees 2016 a well attended festival in Stellenbosch, with thousands of day and overnight visitors pouring into Stellenbosch. It was also the weekend of the Argus Cycle race in Cape Town, peak summer season with thousands of tourists and no vacent rooms in the area, we alone took 45-60 calls per day extra. I was so busy attending to the phone and enquiries that I did not have time to check this guest's room or personally welcome them on arrival as we usually do due to the timing. When the guests arrived shortly after 14h30, they were directly taken to a "not yet ready" room by one of our new inexperienced staff, where one of the curtains was off the rail and had to be hanged back. It was summer and a drought in the Cape, the grass was yellow (we use municipal water and could not water the 3 hectares lawn around the guesthouse with all the drought restrictions).The guest's partner could not find the keys to their luggage causing stress on arrival. In that time I took staff to their public transport down the road, during which time the guest wandered the property seeing all the open rooms and deciding that she wanted another room which is the honeymoon room next door. She asked to move, and we could not do that as other guests specifically booked that room. (I checked later that this guest indeed booked a STANDARD room, and the photo she saw when booking was not the honeymoon room). My phone kept ringing, the guests never said they wanted to go elsewhere, the room could be filled immediately, they would NOT have lost money. In my efforts to comfort them, I asked one of our regular guests who stayed with us 12 times before, and who was still on his way here, if he could please move over to another room - and give up his large 65 m2 room at the end of the Victorian house - for the peace and quiet the new guests said they needed. It would however impact on some of my downstream bookings later the week, and the guests were told the charge would be R400 of the costs of that (over a 3 day stay it was a mere R125/day), vs the R650 an upgrade would have been. Bear in mind our rates of R520 pp (including 14% VAT and breakfast) is very affordeable for an expensive property area, with high running costs. As Ilze and partner moved over to a room which was prepared for a single occupant, they had only 2 not 4 towels, which was rectified later. Ilze complained in another review about the 90 year old dressing table where one of the handles on a drawer was broken (it is antique were can't find a similar are desperately looking). There were several other drawers in the room. Dirt in drawers not mentioned until now makes it hard for us to check and train/fix. The half of a pot plant which was dead was not in the room, but outside next to the garden and we apologise for that. Bear in mind we run a 7.4 hectare farm property.. not a small garden patch and our normal irrigation was not used due to the draught restrictions. The big oak table outside on the verandah was put there for a German couple who stayed before them and who extended their stay from 6 to 15 days as they loved the room. They wanted back rest chairs as they played hours of cards in a tranquil environment, hence the plastic chairs was provided. What we regard as comfort: a KING size extra length bed, Nescafe JAR of coffee and FRESH milk (not just sachets), lots of TV channels, free parking and wi-fi. Views over the mountains and vineyards, the many birds and the peace and quiet, privacy. They slept very late and missed breakfast each day, despite us waiting for them extra hours. So we understand client service, and a guest complaint about a coach, a broken handle is taken seriously and must be fixed. It is not our policy to let people stay free of charge because they complain. Onze Rust is a social enterprize, subsidising youth leadership development, NGO's, womans groups from our normal commercial income. In that particular week we funded R4 160 towards Woordfees as sponsorships. Several other years it was much more, and we campaigned accommodation places to support the festival which give local artists a platform, and it create so many jobs. We did not push up our room rates... In the last quarter each year we partially sponsor kids and teachers/officials from Upington and Kimberly / Noordkaap coming to the Stellenbosch University as part of the WOW (Woorde Open Werelde) project by which youth is inspired to read, write, and hopefully become students of art/literate and one day successful writers in South Africa/ internationally. What we took very seriously in that week was the complaint of the other regular guest about the wi-fi not connecting. Due to the high volumes of people in Stellenbosch every body struggled all over with data bandwith. We have just replaced our hardware system (R12 000) to prevent future problems. The grass is now beautiful green after first rains of the season. I apologise for Ilze for not having warm welcome on arrival, we tried to rectify it with a larger room and the special effort to arrange it, and they seemed happy at the time as it was a much larger better room at a small supplement payment. Thank you to a very humble kind regular guest who did not take offence when I asked him to move... He just smiled did not dicuss it at all, neither did he ask for a discount, and every morning ordered his nice big omelet for breakfast. He was one of the speakers at an event and just published a book, which he also kept quiet about. Some guests teach us how to do things, by their words, or their actions. It is never easy. We welcome constuctive feedback, learn from it and thank you all for it, espescially if it is taken up with us directly. Ester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

I took pictures of the cornices pulling away between the ceiling and the walls, the flimsy curtain rails and curtains which were in tatters and also of wide cracks in the walls – all in Room no 2.
In general I was not happy with the accommodation; the room was stuffy and smelled rather of a barn than a comfortable bedroom. The extraction fan in the bathroom was extremely noisy and possibly didn’t do the job it was designed for. Since my business partner (Mr Chauke) doesn’t eat pork (bacon and rushers) there was no breakfast for him two mornings in a row.
It was strange that nowhere to be found was any indication that the Guest House is affiliated with Tourism Council or any other grading association. The owner/ manager and staff were very friendly but the house requires a face lift as it looks like it was last properly maintained 10-15 years ago.
Wouldn’t recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank guestg237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Dear Dr, thank you for the review we are so sorry you did not have a better experience. At the time of your stay the guesthouse was running full house for weeks, and the few single travelers got the smaller rooms, own outside doors and seating on the verandahs. Where we can we always upgrade business travelers to the largest rooms for comfort at same rates booked. Peak season we could not do that. The room has a King size extra length bed in it for comfort, but it does make the walking area much smaller. We have often considered replacing it with a standard small double bed, but in the end of all the remarks over the years the large beds was the single most welcomed item commented on by the men. We have taken care of the fan in the bathroom - apologies we did not know it was noisy. The 30 TV channels, Free parking, free wi-fi, Nescafe jar of coffee and fresh milk for coffee (not just a few sachets) is part of how we try to give our guests a good experience. Our breakfast consist of a full continental breakfast (coffee/tea, 2x juice, 3 bread selection, 2 cereals with milk and small individual variety of yoghurts, cold meats, 2 cheeses) and hot breakfast either a full English breakfast, variety omelets or French toast. I am amased to hear that Mr Chauke did not have breakfast, as we specially prepare vegetarian meals with eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms and baked beans for those who do not want meat or pork. I can't recall if there were beef or lamb sausages, Apologies for that. As we had only 22 guests on the day, most having pork, it might have slipped our staffs attention and we will imporve our training in that regard. We often buy special meals or sausages if guests are so kind to point it out to us in advance or in this instance where you were staying 3 days. Breakfast is complimentary and the rate of R720 pp (including 14% VAT) a very reasonable rate for an expensive property area. As Mr Chauke did not do this review himself, please be so kind as to convey our sincere apology to him, and we invite him back for complimentary breakfast (for 4 people) when he visits Stellenbosch again. We will make sure he gets a good breakfast of his choice. You are of course also welcome to the same invitation, any time just let us know. Ester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Onze Rust is on a farm on the Vlaeberg Rd - the ideal base for people who want to explore the city of Cape Town as well as Stellenbosch and Somerset West. Having had meetings in Cape Town, Bellville and Stellenbosch it suited us well. An evening on the dining room veranda with a good wine and the soothing "buckwheat" calls of the tarentaal was ideal to reflect on the meetings of the day.

Room spacious and rustic in line with the farm theme. Ester is attentive and well-organised and the heart of the place.

The drought had a major impact on the garden. Hope the rain will soon turn the countryside into a more enticing environment.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you so much for the excellent review. We are glad the central location served you well, we often have Cape Town visitors driving out to use the conference venue as we are located against the morning traffic from there. The wi-fi was upgraded in line with the data requirements of business travelers and is still free, as is the parking. With the first rains falling 3 weeks ago, the grass is now perfectly green, although the leaves are falling from the trees as it is now autumn. In our line of business we meet so many people of all walks of life, and the inspiring and forefront work you are doing as researchers in terms of business are truly inspirational - thank you for sharing some of it with us we know you are going to make a big difference. Ester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This is one of the better guest houses. Very nice location of the main roads, under cover parking, spacious rooms and a fridge in the room. The lady owner Esther is very helpful and make you feel at home. Breakfast is excellent and so is the rest of the venue. Good wine farms and top restaurants within 5 km.
Love to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thinus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Dear Thinus, thank you so much for the good review you are one of our favorate business guests. It was not your first stay with us, and February was so busy, you were staying in one of the smaller rooms as it was a single occupancy. Thank you for noting the effort we put in with breakfast, we know business travelers work hard and that is the most important meal of the day for some. We have upgraded our wi-fi system, as the previous one (and higher demands on data from guests) was not sufficient, the bed is still a King size, and with the first rains the grass is beautiful green although the drought in the Cape has not subsided yet. We would love to welcome you back again! Ester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This guest house has an old world charm. Nothing too fancy but all you need to enjoy your stay. The owner and staff are kind and most helpful. Breakfasts were a highlight. I will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you for the review Ina! We would love to host you again. Ester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

The guesthouse is situated in a beautiful environment at the heart of the winefields. It is a bit remote, but it is quiet and you're in the centre of Stellenbosch in about 10 minutes (by car). The hostess is very friendly and the breakfast is fine.

However, the rooms and grounds are very old and moisty, as well as badly maintained (like for 10 years at least...). We changed rooms after one night to another room, which was somewhat better, but still moisty and not well-maintained. Also the swimming pool was green and there were loose tiles everywhere. Moreover, the balustrades were cluttered up with old banks, a bath and other old, crappy stuff (instead of normal chairs in order to be used by guests).

In summary, there is a difference between authentic and just old, badly maintained buildings. This guesthouse is in the second category.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLEJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you for the review we take note of your remarks. October is the end of our heavy winter rainy season, and as the farm is located at the bottom of a valley the water table where a little stream flows lies above ground at that time, and water seep from the higher parts. Being a very humid time, one often find moisture after a nigth on the window panes as hotter air condenses against the cold glass. It is old buildings, one 100 years and the other much older. In South Africa it is not common to find double glasing as in Europe which helps. It is not a small little garden patch, but a farm of 7.4 hectares which requires lots of maintenance. We will not be running so full and have served so many guests over 7 years if we did not give good service and facilities. We offer King size extra lenth beds, TV with many channels, Full jar of good coffee and fresh milk, undercover parking, free wi-fi and complimentary breakfast. Properties in the area are expensive, with high running costs. You stayed at very very favourable rates. The benches on the verandahs are mostly wooden benches, and the ironcast cut-out bath is a decorative item often used by brides in their photo shoots. I am surpirsed that you did not make a nice comment about it as people just laugh at it when walking by. I can't recall a green swimming pool in October as it was still very cold temperatures, we did have a week when the pool had a problem which was in a heatwave in summer February when algea can grow overnight if chemical balances goes wrong. Things can and do go wrong from time to time. The key to the room (outside door) was taken with when you left and we replaced the complete lock without charging you (as you indicated you did not have it), yet it surprisingly arrived in the mail a few weeks later (thank you we do appreciate the effort and time for sending it back). We are a social enterprise, and in South Africa we need organizations who sponsor good community causes - we do it from our normal commercial income. So in part you are contributing to that, perhaps you may feel guest deserve better spoils and we hope you got much of that during the rest of the trip. The first room you stayed in had as decor old suitcases dating back 90 years... and wooden cupboards, and antique dressing table. It fit an old building. We feel modern tiles and furniture is not reflecting the history and period, although we respect that you may feel different. Ester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
12.4 km away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
143 reviews
11.3 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
921 reviews
17.9 km away
Le Pommier Wine Estate - Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Life & Leisure Lifestyle Accommodation
10.2 km away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#42 of 116 in Stellenbosch
110 reviews
3.2 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onze Rust Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onze Rust Guesthouse

Address: Vlaeberg Rd | Between M12 Polkadraai and Baden Powell R310, Vlottenburg, Stellenbosch 7603, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $92 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Onze Rust Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Onze Rust Guest House in the heart of the Stellenbsoch wine lands offers a unique nature setting. It is the perfect farm setting for you to relax and restore your inspiration. Gardens stretch over two hectares lawns, lots of trees, water and many birds. We are 25 minutes from Cape Town International Airport, a few minutes out of Stellenbosch town centre close to Spier Wine Estate. We can accommodate 24 people in 10 en-suite rooms, with extra-length beds and private entrances on to spacious verandas, free wi-fi and parking. There are 2 family units where kids can share and we offer information on the many things to do in Stellenbosch,and referrals to the good restaurants close by. Several rooms have King size extra length beds, we offer sufficient coffee and fresh milk in rooms, wide range of TV channels. Business travelers and Stellenbosch University visitors are close to the Cape Town international Airport. Our central location makes it suitable to visit Stellenbosch, Belville, Somerset West/Strand, and Saxonburg Business parks. For Capetonians attending day conferences on site, it is only 40km drive mostly against the morning peak hour traffic. We offer good food for functions, with flexible menus (e.g. "banting" functions with great feedback). For the romantics it is a perfect setting with honeymoon rooms, and weddings get nature photo opportunities. As a social enterprise we support community organizations with partial sposnsorships and vouchers for fundraising. Beauty, peace and comfort in the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Onze Rust Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing