We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Onze Rust Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
De Zalze Lodge(Stellenbosch)
US$104
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$140
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banhoek Lodge(Stellenbosch)
US$167
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$116
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,012
US$946
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
41
32
16
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
32
16
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape townserene settingfarm atmosphereguest housespacious roomlovely breakfastbusiness tripenjoyed our staymisterguesthousegardenvenueaccommodationfarmsverandafurniturewine
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 99 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2016

Onze Rust is always my first choice when I visit Cape Town.
It's comfortable, close enough to the amenities I need, the people are friendly and the rooms are always immaculate, warm, neat and clean with a nostalgic aura.
The immediate surrounding area is peaceful and quiet. I don't even mind the squirrels!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fernandodZ81OQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Dear Fernando, it is great having guests coming back so many times over several years and we appreciate the great review. It is always a pleasure to host you and see your enthusiasm and energy for life. Thank you. Ester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2016

I hate it when money is not reinvested in a property to keep it looking good for guests who pay a lot of money to stay there. Onze Rust could be a wonderful place, but is getting really shabby around the edges, and needs some serious maintenance and refurbishment. The towels should be thrown away and replaced. I know there is a drought, but even the gardens could be laid out better and look more attractive.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 247LiveLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

Thank you for the review. We like to think that at R520 per person sharing (including continental and hot breakfast and 14% VAT) it is very good value for money for an expensive area, and certainly not a lot to pay for what one get: King beds for comfort, TV with many channels, free wi-fi and FREE undercover parking, 26 indigenous species of birds (including a fish eagle and 2 types of owls), private outside entrances, assistance with things to do and adivice on restaurants and places of interest. We have replaced some of our towels, thank you for that remark we apologise for inconvenience. To assume we do not invest into the property is not true, our property is much much larger than a guesthouse in town centre and 7.4 hectares of land has a lot of maintenance. We also have pointed out that we are a social enterprise, sponsoring youth leadership groups, NGO's, community organizations. So a fair portion of our income (which we can choose to spend on furniture or non essentials for guests), are spent on subsidising good causes. A guest can say it is not their cause, but we feel in South Africa there is so much to be done, we simply cannot cut on that portion of our spend and vision. Stellenbosch has great wineries and top restaurants of all types in close procimaty. We would love to welcome you back, and hopefully next time your experience is great. Ester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2016

Onze Rust lives up to its name: it offers a peaceful resting place in a nice rural setting, in the Stellenbosch wine region, in the immediate vicinity of the Cape Town area. The premises a slightly quaint, ambiance that feels like entering te past, but with all modern amenities. Well equippend for families with children (pool), and a treat for bird lovers. Service is really excellent, and staff go out of their way to assist in any way they can. It does matter to have a means of gtransportation at your disposal.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank guusvwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

Dear Prof Guus, thank you so much for the review, we are glad we could assist you during your stay. Thank you for pointing out that own transport to visit restaurants (5-12 minutes drive away) is important, although we use the services of shuttles who can taxi guests to town centre or Cape Town (40km away), and a vine hopper who pick up our guests at the guesthouse before taking them to several wineries for a day outing. Most peope do not know how many things Stellenbosch has to offer, and would plan longer stays with own transport to make the most of it. We hope to see you back in South Africa soon. Ester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2016

This establishment needs an overhaul - the facilities are delapidated. Our room was spacious and the staff very friendly, but out towels were threadbare, grey and one was even torn. For two people we had one large and one small towel. When we asked for replacement they did. The couch had a tear in it showing the sponge underneath. The linen had a huge stain as well. The outside chairs were plastic and old - no cushion in sight. There was no dustbin in the room and we found used earbuds and cotton wool in one of the drawers. The plants in pots are dying since they are not watered. Three of the knobs on the drawers were missing. We have stayed at places at half the price that were 100% better. This was no value for money. If we would not have lost our deposit, we would have left.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ilze l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

Thank you for the review and the opportunity created for us to respond. This is the second unfavorable review Ilze has posted about this stay, and some of the things mentioned in the complaint has changed, which saddens us as it creates the impression that it is to harm our business, not to improve it. To understand why guests can get a bad first impression, we have to give background: It was the first day of Woordfees 2016 a well attended festival in Stellenbosch, with thousands of day and overnight visitors pouring into Stellenbosch. It was also the weekend of the Argus Cycle race in Cape Town, peak summer season with thousands of tourists and no vacent rooms in the area, we alone took 45-60 calls per day extra. I was so busy attending to the phone and enquiries that I did not have time to check this guest's room or personally welcome them on arrival as we usually do due to the timing. When the guests arrived shortly after 14h30, they were directly taken to a "not yet ready" room by one of our new inexperienced staff, where one of the curtains was off the rail and had to be hanged back. It was summer and a drought in the Cape, the grass was yellow (we use municipal water and could not water the 3 hectares lawn around the guesthouse with all the drought restrictions).The guest's partner could not find the keys to their luggage causing stress on arrival. In that time I took staff to their public transport down the road, during which time the guest wandered the property seeing all the open rooms and deciding that she wanted another room which is the honeymoon room next door. She asked to move, and we could not do that as other guests specifically booked that room. (I checked later that this guest indeed booked a STANDARD room, and the photo she saw when booking was not the honeymoon room). My phone kept ringing, the guests never said they wanted to go elsewhere, the room could be filled immediately, they would NOT have lost money. In my efforts to comfort them, I asked one of our regular guests who stayed with us 12 times before, and who was still on his way here, if he could please move over to another room - and give up his large 65 m2 room at the end of the Victorian house - for the peace and quiet the new guests said they needed. It would however impact on some of my downstream bookings later the week, and the guests were told the charge would be R400 of the costs of that (over a 3 day stay it was a mere R125/day), vs the R650 an upgrade would have been. Bear in mind our rates of R520 pp (including 14% VAT and breakfast) is very affordeable for an expensive property area, with high running costs. As Ilze and partner moved over to a room which was prepared for a single occupant, they had only 2 not 4 towels, which was rectified later. Ilze complained in another review about the 90 year old dressing table where one of the handles on a drawer was broken (it is antique were can't find a similar are desperately looking). There were several other drawers in the room. Dirt in drawers not mentioned until now makes it hard for us to check and train/fix. The half of a pot plant which was dead was not in the room, but outside next to the garden and we apologise for that. Bear in mind we run a 7.4 hectare farm property.. not a small garden patch and our normal irrigation was not used due to the draught restrictions. The big oak table outside on the verandah was put there for a German couple who stayed before them and who extended their stay from 6 to 15 days as they loved the room. They wanted back rest chairs as they played hours of cards in a tranquil environment, hence the plastic chairs was provided. What we regard as comfort: a KING size extra length bed, Nescafe JAR of coffee and FRESH milk (not just sachets), lots of TV channels, free parking and wi-fi. Views over the mountains and vineyards, the many birds and the peace and quiet, privacy. They slept very late and missed breakfast each day, despite us waiting for them extra hours. So we understand client service, and a guest complaint about a coach, a broken handle is taken seriously and must be fixed. It is not our policy to let people stay free of charge because they complain. Onze Rust is a social enterprize, subsidising youth leadership development, NGO's, womans groups from our normal commercial income. In that particular week we funded R4 160 towards Woordfees as sponsorships. Several other years it was much more, and we campaigned accommodation places to support the festival which give local artists a platform, and it create so many jobs. We did not push up our room rates... In the last quarter each year we partially sponsor kids and teachers/officials from Upington and Kimberly / Noordkaap coming to the Stellenbosch University as part of the WOW (Woorde Open Werelde) project by which youth is inspired to read, write, and hopefully become students of art/literate and one day successful writers in South Africa/ internationally. What we took very seriously in that week was the complaint of the other regular guest about the wi-fi not connecting. Due to the high volumes of people in Stellenbosch every body struggled all over with data bandwith. We have just replaced our hardware system (R12 000) to prevent future problems. The grass is now beautiful green after first rains of the season. I apologise for Ilze for not having warm welcome on arrival, we tried to rectify it with a larger room and the special effort to arrange it, and they seemed happy at the time as it was a much larger better room at a small supplement payment. Thank you to a very humble kind regular guest who did not take offence when I asked him to move... He just smiled did not dicuss it at all, neither did he ask for a discount, and every morning ordered his nice big omelet for breakfast. He was one of the speakers at an event and just published a book, which he also kept quiet about. Some guests teach us how to do things, by their words, or their actions. It is never easy. We welcome constuctive feedback, learn from it and thank you all for it, espescially if it is taken up with us directly. Ester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2016

I took pictures of the cornices pulling away between the ceiling and the walls, the flimsy curtain rails and curtains which were in tatters and also of wide cracks in the walls – all in Room no 2.
In general I was not happy with the accommodation; the room was stuffy and smelled rather of a barn than a comfortable bedroom. The extraction fan in the bathroom was extremely noisy and possibly didn’t do the job it was designed for. Since my business partner (Mr Chauke) doesn’t eat pork (bacon and rushers) there was no breakfast for him two mornings in a row.
It was strange that nowhere to be found was any indication that the Guest House is affiliated with Tourism Council or any other grading association. The owner/ manager and staff were very friendly but the house requires a face lift as it looks like it was last properly maintained 10-15 years ago.
Wouldn’t recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank guestg237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnzeRustGuesthouse, Owner at Onze Rust Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

Dear Dr, thank you for the review we are so sorry you did not have a better experience. At the time of your stay the guesthouse was running full house for weeks, and the few single travelers got the smaller rooms, own outside doors and seating on the verandahs. Where we can we always upgrade business travelers to the largest rooms for comfort at same rates booked. Peak season we could not do that. The room has a King size extra length bed in it for comfort, but it does make the walking area much smaller. We have often considered replacing it with a standard small double bed, but in the end of all the remarks over the years the large beds was the single most welcomed item commented on by the men. We have taken care of the fan in the bathroom - apologies we did not know it was noisy. The 30 TV channels, Free parking, free wi-fi, Nescafe jar of coffee and fresh milk for coffee (not just a few sachets) is part of how we try to give our guests a good experience. Our breakfast consist of a full continental breakfast (coffee/tea, 2x juice, 3 bread selection, 2 cereals with milk and small individual variety of yoghurts, cold meats, 2 cheeses) and hot breakfast either a full English breakfast, variety omelets or French toast. I am amased to hear that Mr Chauke did not have breakfast, as we specially prepare vegetarian meals with eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms and baked beans for those who do not want meat or pork. I can't recall if there were beef or lamb sausages, Apologies for that. As we had only 22 guests on the day, most having pork, it might have slipped our staffs attention and we will imporve our training in that regard. We often buy special meals or sausages if guests are so kind to point it out to us in advance or in this instance where you were staying 3 days. Breakfast is complimentary and the rate of R720 pp (including 14% VAT) a very reasonable rate for an expensive property area. As Mr Chauke did not do this review himself, please be so kind as to convey our sincere apology to him, and we invite him back for complimentary breakfast (for 4 people) when he visits Stellenbosch again. We will make sure he gets a good breakfast of his choice. You are of course also welcome to the same invitation, any time just let us know. Ester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews