We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overture at Hidden Valley

Overture at Hidden Valley
Ranked #14 of 232 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In November 2007 Overture Restaurant, situated on Hidden Valley Wines - a wine farm anchored into the side of the Stellenbosch hills - opened its doors for the very first time. Starting from humble beginnings, Overture soon became a destination for great food, service and wines. Since then, Chef Owners Bertus Basson and Craig Cormack have taken Overture to new heights with accolades as prestigious as being in the Eat Out top 10 for five years in a row and acquiring three stars in the Rossouw's Restaurant guide for four years running.You will find Bertus behind the pots at Overture while Craig focuses on his salt range, Amouleh.
Joburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Really worth it if you enjoy your food and a really great atmosphere, and attentive staff.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank NeoSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    87
    43
    32
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing - made our wedding day magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We were married at Hidden Valleys and had our reception in the Overture restaurant. Everything was fantastic, the setting and the views, the service from the staff and of course the food.

We were served canapés followed by a 4 course meal, and everything was amazing. The chef accommodated our preferences and requests to create a menu that all of our family and friends were impressed by. Everything was perfect! In particular, the mackerel pate canapé and rare roast beef and Huguenot cheese salad were both incredible - everyone loved them and thought that they were among the best thing that they had ever eaten!

It is impossible not to be impressed by the views and setting of Overture, and with food so good, I imagine that there must be a long wait for tables! Many thanks to the chef, kitchen team and service staff who made our wedding day so fantastic!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMeatballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“...ah so very very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

..ongoing 50th birthday celebrations for me saw my wife take me here for a dinner for the two of us. She tipped the restaurant off that it was my 50th and they recommended the best table with the most beautiful view - its the table at the very front corner of the outdoor seating area - unobstructed view of the vineyards, the mountains, the town lights in the distant. Its really wonderful. Service was impeccable and the food was fantastic. I was spoilt by everyone - with every member of staff wishing me well for my birthday, and small treats appeared from the kitchen especially for us. The restaurant manages to have a warm informality about it yet excels in every way. There is nothing intimidating about the atmosphere, the winelist or the menu. The waitering staff prompt, efficient and knowledgeable. It deserves every accolade it has received. It is moderately expensive by local standards but with the exchange rate, this sort of experience comes at a price that one cannot dream of at home. Go and enjoy it. I didn't take my kids on that occasion but I certainly felt that they'd be made equally welcome had they been there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A wine buff's paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We attended a birthday party lunch here. There were twenty in the gathering so I was expecting the service at least to be a little slow. However all four courses were of the highest quality and served without a hitch. The wine was superb. The restaurant has commanding views over the surrounding stunning countryside and we would certainly visit again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“It's all been said before.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Fabulous food, views & value. We booked for our 10th wedding anniversary, the sun shone & we had glorious views from the terrace. We opted for the 5 courses with wine as 2 of the starters sounded interesting & in hindsight it was a little too much food - leaving some wasn't an option as it was all delicious. The wine matches worked well & were not rigid - if in doubt an alternative was offered & we were introduced to new regions such as Agulhas.
We particularly loved the calamari beach, a masterpiece that almost looked too good to eat.....almost. We also loved that the staff were local to the estate, knowledgeable & keen to please but not at all in your face.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crudots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Overture at Hidden Valley also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Overture at Hidden Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing