We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent introduction into the real South Africa

Visiting this lovely place in the Kayamandi township on the outskirts of Syellenbosch is actually... read more

Reviewed April 22, 2018
silage
,
Castillos, Uruguay
Stunning energy, great entertainment

What a lovely surprise. The service was friendly, food was traditional and good and the live... read more

Reviewed April 20, 2018
E S
,
Cape Town, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 86 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Stellenbosch
from US$24.90
More Info
from US$58.80
More Info
from US$24.90
More Info
from US$88.90
More Info
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
61
13
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
13
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 77 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2018

Visiting this lovely place in the Kayamandi township on the outskirts of Syellenbosch is actually an ideal introduction into the different spheres of SA lifestyle. Just 5 minutes away from the glitz and everything that represent the "rich" of SA, is this theatre/restaurant where they are trying to show you the evryday life in the other SA. The food was GOOD and represent the traditional people in the new SA. The show was well put together (except the sound system).

Thank silage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

What a lovely surprise. The service was friendly, food was traditional and good and the live performances very good. We felt safe and well looked after. Well done AmaZink

Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017

An excellent opportunity to meet the locals, be introduced to the Xhosa culture, eat traditional food and sing and dance with some of the best local talent available ... this is Africa in the heart of city life - they also offer walk-about tours and you can book a meal with a local family - it is on my definate list to do in the near future. We attended the full experience at AmaZink and it is highly recommended to be included in any holiday in the winelands (check for seasonal times, I am not sure if they are open 12 months of the year?)

Thank MyGeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2017

We attended Schalk Bezuidenhoudt's (stand up comedian) show and really enjoyed the allround vibe in Kayamandi. Bar with very affordable wine. Secured parking available at the venue.

Thank GustavPotgieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile

A visit to Amazink is a definite must for tourists AND locals! Great food, amazing vibe and awesome show.

Thank rcornelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

We had an unforgettable evening - great singers, full of joy and happiness! This is a MUST when you visit the Stellenbosch region!

Thank vmax55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2015

I attended my favorite show again on Saturday ( a special performance as the Friday was sold out) Words can't describe the energy and voices, except to say, "the beauty of it brings tears to my eyes every-time I see the show!" Everyone there takes time to ensure that you're looked after!
The cast's audience interaction along with their MAGNIFICENT voices holds you enthralled from beginning to end! A definite MUST SEE! AmaZink, you're AmaZingK. Maralize, I thank you for introducing me to this AmaZingK show. Yes, I too was wary at first of entering the township, but, it is safe! From the car guards to the welcoming committee at the door to.... EVERYONE, makes you feel AmaZingKly welcome, safe and secure. I'll definitely be back! Thank you to all of you!

Thank NicoiKhaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2014

I had a fantastic night at AmaZink Live. I wasn't sure what to expect as I hadn't done any homework. All I knew was that it was in Kayamandi and it featured dancing of some sort.

At first you start with drinks and a braai. The food was basic but gives you a flavour of local cuisine. It also provided a welcome break to all the fine dining you end up doing in Stellenbosch. Once you're eating the performance begins which really is a whole other type of feast for the senses.

There's performance, singing, dancing and more. The incredibly talented troupe covers a range of African songs - old and new, traditional and contemporary. You do fall in love with them all and really appreciate what they do, especially considering the fact that most are simply from the local area - not flown in for the show.

The evening builds up into a tidal wave of energy, campness and general fabulousness which will make even the most reserved, grumpy looking mainland European tourist get up and dance.

1  Thank moaksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2014

Great food, vibe, and show. Very intimate setting, felt it really captured a feeling you don't get in Cape Town! Food was great, performers were absolutely stunning, and definitely a place I recommend to anyone!

Thank Heathr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2014

Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops. Stellenbosch has a wonderful atmosphere with lively ambiance of pavement cafes and a great mix of people but choose your accommodation with care.

1  Thank 76onMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews