We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winery views!”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed at the hotel for one night in December 2011. The rooms were excellent. They are spacious with very comfortable beds and linens and very well appointed bathrooms. A small veranda for every rooms looks out over the beautiful vineyards of the valley, making the stay very peaceful and quite. I reckon this is an excellent place to stay if you're looking for peace and quite just outside of Stellenbosch's buzz. Breakfast was a good buffet, but not exceptional. Dinner service also provided a good selection of food, although preparation lacked the WOW! factor. Make a point of visiting the bar! A lovely plush couch and a very big selection of whiskeys await you. It's a real treat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScubaZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

If your preference in hotels is along the lines of a highly rated Sheraton or Hilton, you will not give this hotel the best rating. However, the Devon Valley hotel has what those sterile hotels will never have: It is alive with character. It clearly wasn’t designed in one grand, coherent layout, but like so many old Cape buildings must have just “happened” over the years.

It is situated amongst vineyards outside of Stellenbosch, with stunning views of the mountains. Being situated outside of Stellenbosch also helps to avoid the notorious Stellenbosch traffic.

Some of the reviews I read complained about unfriendly staff and bad service. My experience was the opposite: All the staff members I encountered were friendly, courteous and helpful.

My room was spotlessly clean, with all furniture and fittings perfectly maintained, and the bathroom had bath and a trendy walk-in shower. The room opened onto a vine patio in a shady garden, and a glimpse of the views towards the mountains

I only had breakfast in the restaurant, so I can’t vouch how good the food is in general. I was perfectly satisfied with the buffet breakfast.

When I go back to Stellenbosch, I won’t look for another hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Driesvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at the Devon Valley for 2 nights...what a lovely place. It's set a few kilometers outside of the lovely town of Stellenbosch and close to Franschhoek, Somerset-West, Paarl, Cape Town.
We were in a suite... a huge room, with a walk-in cupboard and a big bathroom with tub and shower.
We were welcomed with a local wine and a cheeseplate in our room. Just the thing to enjoy while gasping at the surroundings.
The rooms have stunning views and are set in quiet gardens. The staff are very helpful and the service is great. We only had breakfast here, which was excellent...a buffet with much more to offer than anybody can eat! The variety is very good.
Would definitely return to this tranquil place!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Li4SouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is a wonderful hotel, full of interest and set in beautiful garden surroundings with stunning views over the countryside. Our room was a spacious suite of two bedrooms with ample bathroom between and an opening door to a small lavender-garden (shared between four or five rooms). Food and service were good and most of the staff were friendly and professional. While self-contained in a lovely garden, with a dining terrace with outside pizza oven, it is not within walking distance of any town or other facilities, though we had a pleasant walk along the road with good views of the countryside.
Rooms were very clean and well serviced.

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracerWarwick_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were coming to the end of a 17 day stay in SA having been in some very nice hotels, but this was exceptional in our opinion clean rooms great service terrific facilities and a great location. Having been to a very poor wine tasting at another location the one offered by the hotel was first class, the somelier was up to the mark! The cape mandalay buffet was good and the a la carte menu varied and extensive

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Colonial style bedrooms . Ours had a terrace overlooking the valley with grape vines over a pergola,
The bathroom had been modernised with a wet room and walk in shower, with a travertine floor and a cast iron victorian style bath.Comfortable bed and my wife said the pillows were beautifully soft.
Well staffed and all friendly .
Food , especially the breakfast , was very good.
Even free internet, which seems to be very unusual in S.A.
All in all, top marks !

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband & I stayed at the Devon Valley Hotel in September. The rooms had the potential to be outstanding with a few improvements. For example, our room had a gorgeous dark hardwood floor. However, after the maid washed it each day with some sort of soap, it had a heavy film that smeared all over and made a beautiful floor look dingy along with turning our socks brown. The only other improvement we would suggest is insulation. It got pretty cold a couple of the nights we stayed and the small heater in the room along with the gas fireplace (a nice touch) could not compensate for the wind coming in through the gaps around the sliding glass doors and windows. The gaps were so large, you could see into the room from the outside at night. I can imagine the reverse problem in the summer, with the small in-room air conditioner not be able to compensate for hot air pouring in. Some insulation would be a cheap fix and would probably save the hotel a bundle in heating and air conditioning costs (we had the heat on 30C and were still freezing!).

While the rooms had these issues, the food at the restaurant was excellent. The pancakes with carmelized bananas for breakfast was outstanding! The food at dinner was excellent as well but the wine selection was a bit limited.

I would love to see Devon Valley make the few needed adjustments as it would easily take the hotel to five star status. The staff was terrific and welcoming which also helped make our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
8.8 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,956 reviews
4.5 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
907 reviews
5.8 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
416 reviews
2.5 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
399 reviews
5.8 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $145 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing