We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“socially responsible, caring, peaceful setting, lovely country hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“socially responsible, caring, peaceful setting, lovely country hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This hotel is close to our hearts- they are set in a lovely cul de sac valley, with stunning views, peaceful setting, and stunning gardens. The staff, the management and the whole ambience is relaxed yet professional. Ideal for families, honeymooners and conferences. They have a giving room, which supports a preschool for undepriviledged children across the road, Graceland, and the hotel is very active in charity work. The rooms from classic to luxury are all newly renovated, and very much on par with most 4 star hotels now in SA. Highly recommended from our perspective, a good value, great setting, winelands hotel.

Room Tip: aks for the vineyard rooms to the right of the main reception, bit more expensive, but amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girafino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    160
    45
    21
    7
See reviews for
67
276
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
240 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Friendly staff welcomed us and cared well for us. Food in the dining room exceeded our expectations with suggested matching wines available. Outdoor pool needed a clean where it looked like the filter was at fault - plenty of leaves floating! Wine tour day arranged for us with delightfully pleasant guide who initially did not particularly inspire confidence but provided a good day overall - strange combination perhaps. Lovely garden surroundings at this vineyard based accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidFBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Our stay at Devon Valley was distinctly average. Erin extended us a lovely, friendly welcome and our sommelier, Luvoyo, was really wonderful but other than that, and the picturesque view, the rest of the stay was distinctly average. The property is looking very tired and run down and the staff need a wake up call if you ask me...they all look bored to tears (except for Erin and Luvoyo) and very tired. The lady with red hair who checked us out just gave us our bill, didn't even say thank you OR even ask us if we enjoyed our stay. Very poor customer service. The room itself was okay but not outstanding. Other properties in the area are head and shoulders above this one. I must say that the pizzas were delicious but everything else looked tired and was sub standard. We would not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umlani09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I selected Devon Valley as a venue for my wife and myself to spend our 50th wedding anniversary. We were not disapointed. The hotel is superb, the accomodation is wonderful, and the restaurant was just perfect. Add to this the wonderful gardens, and the local scenary, and you have a truly unforgetable experience.
We both look forward to our next visit, it was truly memorable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed at Devon Valley for 8 nights to enjoy some nice X-mas holidays with our 8 year old son.

This really was such a nice and cosy experience ! Rooms (we stayed at a vineyard room) are excellent and very clean, with a beautiful view (this is a place where one could get old just sitting there enjoying life!)

Food is great : breakfasts includes everything one can dream of (except maybe a glass of champagne :)) and dinner is really well prepared and the dishes truly look great as well. Wine is, needless to say, very nice. The staff is friendly and they do their utmost to make their guests feel confortable.

The hotel is central, but peacefully located. A tip might be to get yourself pampered on a safari tour at Aquila, and to enjoy one of the hiking tours at Devon Valley.

As to us, this is a great choice for spending a lovely time !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrijn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed at the Devon Valley for 6 nights over Christmas. My flight arrived very early in the morning, but they were more than helpful getting us checked in and settled with breakfast (fresh fruit, nuts, cereal, croissants, toast, smoked salmon, bacon, eggs, beans, sausages, mushrooms, yoghurt, fresh juice.......)

The rooms themselves are lovely. Downstairs ones have a little patio for sundowners, while the upstarus ones have a huge sliding door so you can make the most of the view. Beds are incredibly comfy, and the shower is hot and powerful. Although I never thought I'd have a bath in the middle of summer in SA, they've created a sliding door between the bedroom and bathroom so you can lie back in the bath and watch the sunset- heaven!

Food at the hotel was delicious, and the staff made a special effort on my boyfriend's birthday by giving us a free mini bottle of cava.

Staff generally were very friendly and helpful. They helped us hire bikes for a (wobbly) tour of the vineyards, and were always on hand with a smile.

Only reason I didn't give this 5/5 was because, due to the area, you have to have a car to get anywhere, but that's the nature of SA really, and because the jacuzzi wasn't cleaned out when we first arrived.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczecin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We have spent two nights in Devon Valley Hotel starting the Garden Route and I would love to stay there longer. It's picturesque located, luxurious, stylish (in a very elegant colonial style) and as I think prefectly managed hotel. We were greeted with bottle of local wine and the staff was very helpful, when I got some troubles with the car. The breakfast was one of the best. I do reccomend for all people who would like to feel atmosphere of the old Cape...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FromPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
8.4 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
6.0 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#2 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.4 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
4.5 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
8.3 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing