We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devon Valley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$94
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$106
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roosenwijn Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magnolia Place(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$131
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$939
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveller rating
392
255
56
30
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
255
56
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflavours restaurantriviera travelpizza ovenjc le rouxwalk in showerroll top bathwine tastingluxury roomwelcome drinkstunning viewscape townbuffet breakfasthotel is situatedtwo nightslarge bathroomwonderful hotela real treat
Filter
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 742 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hotel is in a secluded setting with fine views to the front. The original bedroom wing, in which we stayed for two nights, is timber framed with clean, but small bedrooms in which there was no space to sit down. However, the bathroom was large with both bath and walk-in shower (a smaller bathroom and larger bedroom would have been an improvement. There was, however, a small patio area which unfortunately, unlike most other rooms, did not look out to the valley. There is a modern, two-storey modern wing which does offer private patios and an open valley outlook. The outdoor pool is small with limited lounger area and is at the bottom of quite a steep path which some might find difficult to traverse. The food is first class as is the dining room. An attractive terrace offers magnificent views over the valley and there is an option to have breakfast here - a bonus if you like eating outside. Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new wing, preferably on the ground floor with a patio.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We enjoyed a fabulous Sunday lunch Buffet with our 18 guests, the food was delicious although most wanted to start at the desert table...

The rooms were comfortable with GORGEOUS linen!! The bathroom is spacious and beautiful.

After a long lazy day we returned to our room to find a complimentary bottle of ice cold bubbly and a cheese platter, that we savoured on our own pergollad wooden deck under the privacy of vines and lavender!

We'd love to go back there, away from the husle and busle, hidden in a beautiful valley.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaraScholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This hotel is close to our hearts- they are set in a lovely cul de sac valley, with stunning views, peaceful setting, and stunning gardens. The staff, the management and the whole ambience is relaxed yet professional. Ideal for families, honeymooners and conferences. They have a giving room, which supports a preschool for undepriviledged children across the road, Graceland, and the hotel is very active in charity work. The rooms from classic to luxury are all newly renovated, and very much on par with most 4 star hotels now in SA. Highly recommended from our perspective, a good value, great setting, winelands hotel.

Room Tip: aks for the vineyard rooms to the right of the main reception, bit more expensive, but amazing!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girafino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Friendly staff welcomed us and cared well for us. Food in the dining room exceeded our expectations with suggested matching wines available. Outdoor pool needed a clean where it looked like the filter was at fault - plenty of leaves floating! Wine tour day arranged for us with delightfully pleasant guide who initially did not particularly inspire confidence but provided a good day overall - strange combination perhaps. Lovely garden surroundings at this vineyard based accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidFBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Our stay at Devon Valley was distinctly average. Erin extended us a lovely, friendly welcome and our sommelier, Luvoyo, was really wonderful but other than that, and the picturesque view, the rest of the stay was distinctly average. The property is looking very tired and run down and the staff need a wake up call if you ask me...they all look bored to tears (except for Erin and Luvoyo) and very tired. The lady with red hair who checked us out just gave us our bill, didn't even say thank you OR even ask us if we enjoyed our stay. Very poor customer service. The room itself was okay but not outstanding. Other properties in the area are head and shoulders above this one. I must say that the pizzas were delicious but everything else looked tired and was sub standard. We would not return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umlani09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews