We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel is situated outside of Stellenbosch with amazing views of the surrounding mountains.
I found the executive rooms to be very comfortable and also roomy.
The staff are extremely helpful.
We atteneded a business stratergy session here and found it a most comfrotable venue for these types of events.
Lack of a gym and Spa are the only downside.

Room Tip: get an executive room on the top floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Dave N

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted and proud about your comments. We are looking into converting some space into a Spa.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    194
    48
    24
    7
See reviews for
88
331
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in this hotel in June this year. The food was excellent. The room perfect & a beautiful view. Everyone was so friendly. The staff excellent.
Definitely recommend it & try the wine tasting.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMCKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear MMCKR

Many thanks for your review. We are proud of our team and delighted you enjoyed your stay! We hope you will visit again.

kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I spent a week here on business and loved the hotel. The bedroom was large, comfortable and characterful. The venue staff were very professional and friendly. But the real highlights were the setting, with beautiful grounds and views...and the food and wine. Sitting on the terrace on the first day, drinking a glass of chilled wine and watching the mountains emerge from the clouds was quite magical. The food in the restaurant was excellent. I especially enjoyed the amazing soups. I very much look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cambersberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Cambersberg

Many thanks for your review, see you next year!

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We used this as our base for five days while exploring the wine area of South Africa for the first time. Great location and easy access from Cape Town and to not only Stellenbosch but Franschoek. The gardens are beautiful and great views over the valleys and vineyards. Helpful and friendly service. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSBFET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear HSBET

Many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards


Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We were spoilt with a night at Devon Valley to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We received a very warm welcome and were immediately shown our room, to which many special & personal touches had been added to ensure we had a memorable evening..champagne, treats, rose petals etc. It was so special to get away and savour the peace & quiet of Devon Valley with its breathtaking views and magnificent setting. We enjoyed a pre-meal drink next to the fireplace in the cozy bar which was followed by our evening meal with great service from our waiter. The menu was very appealing and our meals were first class. A thoroughly enjoyable evening ending with a very comfortable sleep....loved the heated bathroom floor! Breakfast at Devon Valley has a buffet that you dream of...a definite must! Thank you to the staff of Devon Valley for creating a memorable celebration we hope to experience again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear WarrenR

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted you had a wonderful anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We spent Friday and Saturday night at Devon Valley this weekend. Welcomed warmly, we had the perfect room for our family that looked out onto wide lawns so the kiddies could work off some energy and romp without disturbing too many guests! We were a bit nervous about our first hotel stay with small children (aged 3 and 4), but the friendly staff put us at ease and the children were thrilled with special Welcome goodie bags and loved their room.

We ordered from room service on Friday night - delicious burger for us and fish fingers for the kids and all licked our fingers afterwards. Saturday breakfast hit all the taste buds - from cooked breakfast to fruits, cereals and continental pastries. After some bike riding around the grounds (thankfully the kids did not run anyone over), we opted to visit the Franschhoek Motor Museum and then Babylonstoren (a large veggie garden - fresh fresh salads) and came home for a nap and tea overlooking the vineyards. There's lots more to see and do in the area as well as some hiking trails on and around the hotel vineyards that we just did not get to (sadly).

The hotel organised a babysitter for Saturday night so we had some couple catch-up time and a wine pairing dinner that was most excellent. The butternut tortellini - mmm. When we had to scoot back to the room after main course (why do kiddies not go to sleep!) the restaurant offered to send our desserts and coffee to the room for us and so we put the kids to bed then turned on the fire in our room, and relaxed and chatted until late. I have to mention the nutty ice cream on home made marshmallow, and the amarula creme brulee. Delicious!

Families have the option of interleading rooms - works really well - the beds, bathrooms and linen were super classy and very comfortable, and the private patio for each room is great. The kettle and tea caddy and even a small bar fridge in our room made it easy to keep little people on track with snacks and drinks.

Thanks to all the staff at Devon Valley Hotel for a wonderful few days, delicious breakfasts and dinners and for making our family feel so at home. Our children really did not want to leave! And neither did we!

Room Tip: Ask for the Vineyard Luxury rooms - we had rooms 37 and 38. Close to the restaurant and bar, but fel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Kerry-Ann

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back with your kids.

Kind regards


Andrew Dietrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife and I, unfortunately, only spent one night here. I say unfortunately, because I would have loved to spend the entire weekend here. We stayed in a Vineyard Luxury Room, which is in a new block - I think it was room 49. Either way, try for a room on either end of this block as these have the added touch in terms of features and size. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully appointed, with a gas fireplace, and large freestanding tub and walk-in shower. All the 5-star amenities are there, flat screen TV, tea & coffee (with filter coffee to add a special touch), bath & shower products, robes, etc. The extra-length king-size bed was so comfy, we didn't want to get up the next morning, but instead to lie in and enjoy the view (through the large sliding doors), fresh air and wonderful coffee. Breakfast in bed (which I believe is an option), would have been just perfect.

The staff were magnificent too, from check-in, the wine tasting and bar staff, waiters and waitrons and host(esses), all made sure that our stay was unforgettable. Even the lady attending to the rooms in the block we stayed in was incredibly friendly.

We also had dinner in their restaurant, which was of a VERY high standard.

To compare our room with others, we peak into their 'standard' rooms, which altough are cosy, are similarly of a high standard and would have been equally special. Each of these 'Classic' rooms have a cute little patio under a vine - how appropriate! :)

The hotel is situated on a working boutique wine farm - a stone through from the centre of Stellenbosch. The views, at least from the porch outside the bar as well as our second-story room was magnificent and I think we could see as far as the Strand (a nearby coastal suburb)!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block - I think room 49 which is a luxury vineyard room was awesome (2nd l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Davidlight

We are delighted to read your review. Looking forward to welcome you back for the whole weekend!


Andrew Dietrich

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
8.8 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,800 reviews
5.9 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
5.8 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
864 reviews
5.8 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
792 reviews
8.2 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing