We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,119)
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveller rating
508
454
104
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
454
104
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location underground parking within walking distance middle of town central location restaurants and shops nice breakfast very friendly and helpful staff clean rooms lovely hotel beautiful town business trip pleasant stay south africa cape town apartment stellies
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,119 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel didn’t meet our expectations.
We came to this hotel as part of our honeymoon trip and got a very unpleasant welcoming. We got the smallest room I’ve ever seen, with a strong smell of mold and must. We asked to change to another room and got something even worse. At the end, after threatening to leave they gave us a better, yet small room.
The bottom line- It was too expensive for tiny rooms, medium service and and not very special location.
There are tons of better, less pricey places around here.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Talisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, General Manager at The Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Talisr,

Following your recent stay with us at The Stellenbosch Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

It is due to your feedback that we are able to rectify any shortcomings and constantly improve the service we offer to our guests.

It is with great dismay that I read of your experience while staying at The Stellenbosch Hotel. Please except my most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. I can assure you that this is not the levels of service that we strive to provide to our guests.

I hope, in the future, you will afford us the opportunity to give you the levels of service that you deserve and change your experience at The Stellenbosch Hotel into a positive one.

Please feel free to contact me for any further information.

Kind regards,
Wesley Swartz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is nice with excellent services but wifi services is a big mess. At the rooms you cant have a video call, voice call, the call keeps on terminating because of poor signal. please improve on this.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank emutua09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, General Manager at The Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear emutua09,

Thank you for your review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

Thank you for your lovely comments on the excellent service you received while staying with us.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the Internet.

Your feedback has been discussed and the necessary measures have been put in place to assure this does not happen in future.

We value all our guests' feedback as it assists us greatly in maintaining and improving our product and service offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Wesley Swartz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Small well run hotel in the centre of Stellenbosch which is very central and close to all the amenities. This means that you can park your car and not worry about finding parking elsewhere; drinking and driving etc. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, General Manager at The Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Leanne P,

Thank you for your review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

Thank you for your lovely comments on the well run establishment and the location.

We value all our guests' feedback as it assists us greatly in maintaining and improving our product and service offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Wesley Swartz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow!! The people working at The Stellenbosh Hotel were some of the friendliest Hotel staff I have ever come across!! Patient and helpful and friendly and always there to assist. Centrally located, clean and welcoming - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mhill491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, General Manager at The Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mhill491,

Thank you for your review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

Thank you for your lovely comments on our friendly, patient and helpful that is always willing to assist.

It is also heart warming to read that you felt your stay deserves a "Wow" and that you enjoyed the location and cleanliness of the property.

We value all our guests' feedback as it assists us greatly in maintaining and improving our product and service offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Wesley Swartz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely stay we had at The Stellenbosch Hotel over the past weekend.
The friendliness of the staff was so refreshing! Everyone went out of their way to make our stay memorable.
Breakfast was lovely and the piano player an lovely extra touch.
Parking available on site - although efficient it is a bit of a squeeze.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlize_du_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_and, General Manager at The Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Marlize_de_T,

Thank you for your review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your weekend stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

Thank you for your lovely comments on the friendliness of staff being so refreshing and that everyone went out of their way to ensure you had a memorable stay.

It is also heart warming to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and the pianist at The Stellenbosch Kitchen.

We so appreciate your positive feedback on Stellenbosch Kitchen. Stellenbosch Kitchen is also listed on TripAdvisor and we would be thrilled if you took the time to review the restaurant as well. We would want future guests to have the same positive dining experience in-house.

We value all our guests' feedback as it assists us greatly in maintaining and improving our product and service offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Wesley Swartz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews