We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasting venue”
Review of Middelvlei

Middelvlei
Ranked #50 of 142 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The urban sprawl of Stellenbosch comes to an abrupt halt, in its south-western suburb of Onderpapegaai, when you enter the gates of Middelvlei. Suddenly, before you lies a beautiful vineyard-strewn amphitheatre overlooking the Bottelary Hills and the upper reaches of Devon Valley. This is the home of the Momberg family, who have been wine farmers since 1919.Join in the Boerebraai fun at Middelvlei where our resident braai expert will prepare your chops, boerewors and chicken sosaties to perfection. As if the appetising aromas of roosterkoek and braaibroodjies are not enough, Ben's homemade pâté and Ouma Annie's pumpkin fritters have placed the Middelvlei Braai in a league of its own.
Reviewed 22 May 2016

This wineries tasting room is in the old stable, which has been done up very nicely to be different from most other wine farm visits you will do. This wine estate has much to offer with regards the varietals on offer. There Shiraz and Pinotage is one of the best in Stellenbosch. They also do a Chardonnay, Cabernet and a few Red blends. The staff are knowledgeable about the product they are selling. There is nothing else really to do here, except taste and buying of there wines, so your visit wont be too long, depending on the size of the friends you are with.

Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thank you very much for your visit and kind word about our wines. Next time you visit you can enjoy our Boerebraai Tapas wine pairing or even try your hand at our wine blending experience. If you follow us on social media you will soon find out about our brand new activity. Watch the space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Middelvlei
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

At first it seems unimpressive, but one needs to understand that this is not the typical Cape Dutch wine estate that is typical to the region. This is more a traditional Afrikaans "Boere" setting with traditional Afrikaner cuisine. Hence the title of this review...

We came for the Boere Tapas wine tasting and the Kids wine tasting.

The Kids Wine tasting was a really innovative take on what the "big people" were doing... Our eldest daughter really enjoyed it!!

Ben was very helpful and brought me some Shiraz and Cab Sav to try even though it wasn't technically part of the wine pairing. He went above and beyond and it was much appreciated.

We can't wait to come back for the full Boerebraai with the all the traditional Afrikaans delicacies!!

Thanks!

Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

At Middelvlei we try to keep our offering as real and unpretentious as possible. Thanks for your appreciation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed this family birthday, nothing to complain about. Just a nice and relaxing atmosphere with excellent food, service and wine!

Thank Martie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

We want our guests to experience Middelvlei as home away from home. Hope to soon have you back again for more...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

Beautiful wine, food and company, we were treated as family. Highly recommended!! Please try the wine blending and boere braai but book in advance to avoid disappointment!! Best stop ever!!

Thank Eddie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thank you so much for your review and your very kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

We'd booked the boerebraai for Sunday lunch with friends visiting from Gauteng - I had checked out several reviews and it looked good. We were made to feel very welcome as we arrived, and we were seated under an umbrella in the garden - there's a lot of bird life in the fields which we enjoyed watching while our waitress (Hilary) started bringing the courses. The starter was a freshly baked boere bun, served with butter, olive tapenade and/or snoek pate (absolutely delicious).

We'd ordered their Sauvignon Blanc to begin with, but when our guests said they'd like red wine with the meat, Hilary kindly offered tasting portions of the three reds on offer, before we ordered a bottle of the favourite (Momberg). The main course was a typical SA boerebraai - lamb chops, boerewors, potato salad, a green salad and pumpkin fritters. A great added extra was the braai toasted sandwiches filled with cheese, tomato and onion. Everything was well cooked and beautifully presented, with a delightful attention to detail. Malva pudding with ice-cream for dessert (yum) and coffee was available by the fire.

All in all, a great way to enjoy lunch - made all the more pleasant by a knowledgeable, friendly waitress. It's not fine dining, but Midddelvlei certainly delivers exactly what they promise and we'll definitely recommend it to friends.

Thank Ethnee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

It is always good to hear that our guests have a good time at Middelvlei. We put a lot of effort into staff training and I am delighted to hear that it is paying off! Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Middelvlei also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Middelvlei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing