We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rustic Braai lunch”
Review of Middelvlei

Middelvlei
Ranked #50 of 142 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The urban sprawl of Stellenbosch comes to an abrupt halt, in its south-western suburb of Onderpapegaai, when you enter the gates of Middelvlei. Suddenly, before you lies a beautiful vineyard-strewn amphitheatre overlooking the Bottelary Hills and the upper reaches of Devon Valley. This is the home of the Momberg family, who have been wine farmers since 1919.Join in the Boerebraai fun at Middelvlei where our resident braai expert will prepare your chops, boerewors and chicken sosaties to perfection. As if the appetising aromas of roosterkoek and braaibroodjies are not enough, Ben's homemade pâté and Ouma Annie's pumpkin fritters have placed the Middelvlei Braai in a league of its own.
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

From the lovely farm setting, to the warm welcome, the big, friendly dogs to the absolutely delicious food - it was an unforgettable experience. Will recommend it to anyone who would love to have experience authentic South African welcome.

Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

There is nothing like true South African hospitality! So happy that you could experience that here at Middelvlei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Middelvlei
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2016

This is my wife's favourite wine farm for some very good reasons. The wine is excellent, the service is always good and the staff very welcoming. They also don't skimp on the tastings. It's hidden away and makes for a great afternoon lazing around with friends and some farm food. Worth a visit (or many).

1  Thank kevanstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

As there are such wonderful wine and food experiences in the Winelands it is quite an hounour to be somebody's favourite! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

This wineries tasting room is in the old stable, which has been done up very nicely to be different from most other wine farm visits you will do. This wine estate has much to offer with regards the varietals on offer. There Shiraz and Pinotage is one of the best in Stellenbosch. They also do a Chardonnay, Cabernet and a few Red blends. The staff are knowledgeable about the product they are selling. There is nothing else really to do here, except taste and buying of there wines, so your visit wont be too long, depending on the size of the friends you are with.

Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thank you very much for your visit and kind word about our wines. Next time you visit you can enjoy our Boerebraai Tapas wine pairing or even try your hand at our wine blending experience. If you follow us on social media you will soon find out about our brand new activity. Watch the space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

At first it seems unimpressive, but one needs to understand that this is not the typical Cape Dutch wine estate that is typical to the region. This is more a traditional Afrikaans "Boere" setting with traditional Afrikaner cuisine. Hence the title of this review...

We came for the Boere Tapas wine tasting and the Kids wine tasting.

The Kids Wine tasting was a really innovative take on what the "big people" were doing... Our eldest daughter really enjoyed it!!

Ben was very helpful and brought me some Shiraz and Cab Sav to try even though it wasn't technically part of the wine pairing. He went above and beyond and it was much appreciated.

We can't wait to come back for the full Boerebraai with the all the traditional Afrikaans delicacies!!

Thanks!

Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

At Middelvlei we try to keep our offering as real and unpretentious as possible. Thanks for your appreciation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed this family birthday, nothing to complain about. Just a nice and relaxing atmosphere with excellent food, service and wine!

Thank Martie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

We want our guests to experience Middelvlei as home away from home. Hope to soon have you back again for more...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Middelvlei also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Middelvlei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing