We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise.....”
Review of Nilaya Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nilaya Hermitage
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Arpora
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise.....”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The real boutique hotel.....overlooking the wonderful beaches of Goa the Nilaya is a place visited by those stars (like Giorgio Armani for instance) who wants to stay in a secluded and yet luxurious place...amazing massages...lovely beach...lovely ambience...go there...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    9
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Great hospitality. The rooms are exquisite. Its a close bind to the nature. The staff were very courteous and ready to help us out at all times. The owner, well a great chap to have a conversation with, and his token of appreciation were some good fine Cuban cigars..... From check in to the last day, the staff kept a good rapport with us. A completely different Goan getaway, for people who want to relax and enjoy the nature.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My self and a friend were travelling in Goa, only a short trip.
We had seen in a magazine back in England, an article on fabulous hotels in India.
We decided to go there for the the day and then supper only.

We spent the day lounging in the spa pool, having been shown around by Hari and Claudia.
Supper was delicious, Italian mozza rella basil olive oil not quite what we were expecting.

Then, as we had a driver waiting for us we decided to leave. The owners invited us to stay and have drinks and then be their guests.

The room was stunning the bed was huge and the party was long.

We had breakfast and left after a very magical evening with the owners.

Just thought I would say........

Supper was suprisingl

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abendigolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Nilaya this past winter. At rates of 500 Euros a night, we were expecting excellent service and an equally excellent room. Unfortunately we received neither. Apart from having someone check us in, we NEVER saw another staff member through our entire stay. Of course we saw them when we went to the restaurant, but otherwise not a soul. This could be nice, if you wanted privacy, but given there was no phone in the room, we had to trudge up to the front desk and hope someone was sitting behind it each time we wanted something, be it a bottle of water or an extra towel or a cup of tea...ANYTHING. Also, once we walked to the desk, finally found a staff member and ordered something, it would often be several hours before the item was delivered to the room. Additionally, there is an "open bathroom" floorplan in the rooms, which I hate. The toilet is completely open to the rest of the room - no door, no privacy. Additionally, our deck looked over the walkway the staff used, thus there was no privacy on the deck either...in addition to the loud noise early in the morning. Another disconcerting point was the number of frogs in the pool. We never set foot in it due to this. Overall, I would say this is the type of hotel you would expect to pay about $100 USD a night. At 500 Euros, there are a million other places in Goa which will give you a million times better experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank K2P2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
277 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

In total spent around 10 days there over Christmas and at start of new year. Claudia and Harry (the owners and hosts) are incredible - more like a private house party than hotel. The pool and setting are near perfect. Food is excellent, if quite heavily European, rather than Indian. Rooms are each uniquely and cleverly designed. Staff have been there many years and loyal to place and guests. I will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We visited Nilaya - to check out the place and to have a drink. We were 8 adults and 4 kids. I called ahead to confirm our time of visit (bar shuts at 10 pm they said) and whether they are ok with kids.

The place is gorgeous! They have 11 rooms only and always full. As we were being shown around, the owner - Hari Ajwani - came over to us and asked us to leave. He was quote drunk and said this was not the time to come and that he was not running a kindergarten! We kept trying to tell him that we had specifically called ahead to confirm are arrival time and that we were travelling with kids.

I really dont have an issue with hotels etc not catering to kids but I dont understand why they did not clarify that upfront. And of course nothing gives an owner the right to abuse and humiliate people especially since he is in the hospitality industry.

We gathered that this hotel caters to white people and celebrities. IF you are none of the above, then DO NOT VISIT!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank AnubhavAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Nilaya was lovely ! The food & quiet location make it a perfect weekend getaway for Bombayites !

  • Liked — Quiet Location!
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ManishaK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
1.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
1.7 km away
Resort Rio
Resort Rio
#1 of 15 in Arpora
1,583 reviews
39.9 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
2,181 reviews
5.7 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
924 reviews
33.1 km away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 38 in Salcette
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilaya Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilaya Hermitage

Property: Nilaya Hermitage
Address: Arpora Bhati | Near St Josephs English School Arpora, Arpora 403518, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
#3 Spa Hotel in Arpora
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arpora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nilaya Hermitage 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nilaya Hermitage is located on the hill tops of Arpora, North Goa with a stunning view of the Arabian Sea and the Arpora Valley. The 33 meter swimming pool rises out like a blue lagoon amongst an award winning Moorish architecture. The Boutique resort naturally blends into the landscaped gardens and the surrounding forest that gives a surreal effect of being away in a different world where quietness is what you breath. The food is predominantly continental and is prepared lovingly by our master chef with more than 15 years of hosting the discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Nilaya Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilaya Hermitage Arpora
Nilaya Hermitage Hotel Arpora
Nilaya Hermitage Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing