We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nilaya Hermitage
Nearby Hotels
Maitri Sweet Living(Arpora)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resorte Marinha Dourada(Arpora)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bounty Yatra Guest House(Arpora)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple House(Arpora)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Resort Rio(Arpora)
US$77
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Resort Lagoa Azul(Arpora)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Treebo Rainforest Enclave(Arpora)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Sunila Suites(Arpora)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
49
11
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
11
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roombeautiful boutique hotellovely swimming poolindian breakfastgoagymluxuryprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 69 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We visited Nilaya - to check out the place and to have a drink. We were 8 adults and 4 kids. I called ahead to confirm our time of visit (bar shuts at 10 pm they said) and whether they are ok with kids.

The place is gorgeous! They have 11 rooms only and always full. As we were being shown around, the owner - Hari Ajwani - came over to us and asked us to leave. He was quote drunk and said this was not the time to come and that he was not running a kindergarten! We kept trying to tell him that we had specifically called ahead to confirm are arrival time and that we were travelling with kids.

I really dont have an issue with hotels etc not catering to kids but I dont understand why they did not clarify that upfront. And of course nothing gives an owner the right to abuse and humiliate people especially since he is in the hospitality industry.

We gathered that this hotel caters to white people and celebrities. IF you are none of the above, then DO NOT VISIT!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank AnubhavAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Nilaya was lovely ! The food & quiet location make it a perfect weekend getaway for Bombayites !

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ManishaK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2009

After we' ve seen some of your earlier reviews, i must say that this is one of the most beautiful and comfortable and chic places i' ve seen in quite a while.
The view and the location is just stunning, the service excellent not to talk about, the stylish rooms and the amazing and fresh pool.
We loved the friendly people of this place who took great care of us in a very personal way.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibizanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2007

I must start by addressing looby loo of Cambridge's comments about their wedding and communications with Nilaya. LoobyLoo is a friend of mine, and we travelled to india to attend her wedding, and ended up staying at Nilaya - thank heaven we did. For those of you who read loobyloo's comments, I can only say that having met the people at Nilaya, and knowing my friends side of the story, there has been a communication problem. Read my review below with an open mind to see whether Nilaya could be the place for you....

My fiancee and I stayed at Nilaya for a week at the end of November. We both travel extensively and have never stayed at a better hotel. The place took 3 years to build and only has 11 rooms so you can imagine that they are beautifully appointed. The staff who run the place are the same staff who built it - some having been with the owners for 14 years or more. They are proud of the hotel, and rightly so, but more proud of their relationships with people who come back to their fabulous hospitality year upon year. The architecture is organic, and gaudi like - the owner has been in Goa for 30 years having worked her way up from a shack on the beach to one of the finest hotels in Goa, with a team of more than 80 who are employed year round by her (most only get work for the tourist season).

This is honestly a wonderful place - I've stayed in places more expensive and much more disappointing. The food is wonderful, the care is inspiring and if there wasn't the rest of the world to see, I would go back. If only more hotels were like this.....it's honest.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JMtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2007

We have just returned from spending 4 days at the Nilaya. It was unusually quiet whilst we were there - only 3 or 4 rooms were occupied. With staff of 80, we were waited on hand and foot!!!
The rooms are fantastic. We changed our first room 'star' as the bed (4 poster) was too short for my 6'3" husband. We were given a tour of the unoccupied rooms to choose which one we wanted...we choose 'fire'...The bed is 10ft wide!!!!...and has a fab balcony up in the trees. Early one morning we watched the wild monkeys jumping from branch to branch. The food was really good...mainly fish and seafood...tiger prawns/lobster. You could also, it you wanted, choose more traditional indian food.
The only downside was the fact that they charge for things, which they should just adsorb.......if you want an egg for breakfast it's an extra charge, although water is supplied free in your room, at dinner they charge you for it, they charged me for posting my postcard!!!
But overall we really enjoyed it and would return given the chance.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Limehouse6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews