We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pretty Average, but worth staying” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resorte Marinha Dourada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Resorte Marinha Dourada
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Arpora
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty Average, but worth staying”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is the first time we have stayed in this hotel, usually staying at another just up the road. We found it quiet and peaceful (except Saturday nights with Mackies market, but the entertainment was turned down fairly early between 10.30 & 11 pm). As has previously been said the breakfast was basic and good if you liked eggs, as for the rest of the food, we didn't try it, prefering to eat at the many local restaurants. Apparently there was entertainment - in the restaurant which never seemed to have many residents in. The rooms were a good size, but if you read the reviews and ask for an annex room it can be quite a walk, and if they are the nicer ones I would hate to think what the others are like. There wasn;t a problem with the room except they could do with a better cleaner. The outside of the sink was dirty when we arrived and still dirty when we left. The wonderful bar staff that many have raved about are wonderful if you are a young person, preferably female other than that they are okay. As we are middle aged we weren't worried about it and found the hotel to be fine for us, especially as all we did was sleep and bathe there. If you want my opinion though don't use the taxis outside the hotel unless you can barter them for a better deal. They quoted 1,800 IRS for the day for a taxi (about £24) - if you go around the corner to the Sun Village they will charge 800 - 1000 IRS (£11 - £13) for the day. Quite a difference if you are on a budget. I know that this is not expensive, but by Goan standards it is. We had a lovely fillet steak at Nic n Nats, but hubby left still feeling peckish, they count on quality without quantity. The other place where we really enjoyed for a fillet steak was Jamies. In both cases the steaks were cooked to perfection. But in Jamies don't order a starter each and extra veg, Carasids sell fabolous cakes and deserts. But don't bother with Brittos. We went after being recomended to it, I think you have to time your night and go at the right time and on the right day. The meal we ordered came cold, service was slow and the waiters struggled to even get the drinks order right - what was so difficult about a lime soda and a kingfisher? The Marinha Dourada is a lovely hotel, close enough to all amenities and everywhere you want to go without being in the thick of it. JUst try not to go with any travel company using Monarch Airlines. MOnarch are using Airbus A300, which is a short haul plane and as well as having to stop to refuel, there is no legroom, seats are narrow and shorter. Many people who paid for premium were bumped down to extra legroom and those who paid for extra legroom bumped down into normal seats. On a plane, we have first class, business class, premium, economy, cattle class and then Monarch. The hotel is average in all aspects, but is suitable for most people. We will return to it.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty in walking ask for a room before the bridge. The bridge over the lake is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalot80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    270
    103
    51
    30
See reviews for
157
356
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

having stayed here many times over the last 15 years it is good that the hotel is still as well run now as when we started going .the only thing we would say is that the bathrooms are ready for a re/furb the other changes outside the gates are that the taxis are now getting very greedy which never used to be a problem suggested that the hotel should have a tarriff up outside showing fares the Indian gov did its best to help us enjoy ourselves by stopping the sale of drink after 11 o clock at night and the police helped by removing most of the sun beds from baga beach but hey ho that is India it does make you scratch your head though and wonder do they want tourism never the less still enjoyed it

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harry209968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is the second time we have stayed in this resort. This hotel has the biggest lakes inside their property and i think its the only hotel with lakes in baga,anjuna area. We enjoyed staying in this hotel and we will highly recommend this hotel specially for couples on romantic trip.

Rooms:
Rooms in this hotel are large and every room has its own balcony with amazing lake view. Room was kept clean and bed was comfortable. They now have reliance settlite tv with 26" LCD tv in room. Reliance digital service had some problem with smart card registration which keep appearing every 15 minutes but was gone when you press button on remote, not a big deal.

Every room has its own fridge filled with beers and bacardi breezers and water. Liqueur and water was priced very reasonable, water at rs.15 and beer at rs.65 for 650ml + 20% service tax.

The only problem we had was glasses was not properly cleaned and room air conditioner had no remote.

Breakfast:
They provide complementary continental break fast in the morning in their food court area till 10:00am and serve tea + coffee. Break fast in my opinion was good and service was quick.

Customer Service and resort experience:
There is taxi and bike stand just outside hotel guest which is very useful in case you want to higher taxi or rent a bike. Its priced very reasonably but if you rent bike they will ask you to deposit government id with them, which in my opinion is little bit too much to ask, I did not gave them my id instead i gave them xerox of my driving license and asked them to confirm booking from my hotel and they complied. Anyway, these people was nice, just scared about their vehicle safety.

Marinha Dourada has the biggest lakes, garden and jogging tracks in area. The resort was well maintained and cleaned properly. You can also do fishing in the lake. This resort have 2 large pool which is usually only occupied by foreign guests taking sun for tanning. They also have dinner themes in the evening almost every day, during over stay there was Indian traditional dance event which was being enjoyed allot by hotel guests, they also have kebab night, lobster night etc.

This hotel also have very huge jogging track and it will take you about 10 minutes of jogging to cover up this track. They also have huge lawn for parties and marriages.

They also have spa, jacuzzi and steam room which seems to be well maintained and was properly staffed. They also have mini jym which was not really well equipped but is okay if you want to do some sets. Also, there is really big chess board where family can play chess.

Hotel staff was very friendly and nice. We decided to extend our stay for 2 more nights and staff at reception was very helpful in providing us room for 2 more nights. However, later in evening we decided to only extend for 1 night and they had no problems with that. We felt very good about this and felt like at home.

Only thing bothered us during our stay is lack of remote control for air conditioner. We have to switch air condition on and off during night due to no remote control. Except this we had wonderful stay at Marinna Dourada. Overall, I will recommend this resort.

Room Tip: You may select room at the end because they are very quite however you will have to walk 5 minutes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank max9884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We arrived in Goa on 11 February and stopped for 14 nights, the hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are perfect with just what you need. The minibar was stocked up daily and you pay pennies for the beer and water in there. We had breakfast a few times and what we had was fairly nice. We didnt really eat there as we were out and about most days. The swimming pools are lovely and cleaned regularly. The pool side bar where Tony runs it was great for day time drinking and everyone was so lovely. The staff were so friendly and always helpful. Lakes were lovely to see and you can see all the fishes swimming every morning and night :-)

We ate around the hotel at Nicks Place which sells a variety of english and indian food, we had a lovely sunday dinner there :-) chicken tikka masalla is a must dish there. All spice around the corner sold the best curries, they were so helpful in helping you chose your dish. nic and Nats did the best fillet steak and another nice place where we spent Valentines Day was Raza, they did a wide range of curries.

Taxi's right outside the hotel too which were great and very cheap to get around. We had Sanjay who we must say was the best taxi driver and so very helpful :-)

Certainly going back at Christmas time - cant wait.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayleypage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Tried booking it for May 2012. There are two websites registered: http://www.resortmarinha.com/contact.htm and http://www.madogoa.com/rooms.htm. Not sure why they need two different websites..one site shows online rates as 2100 for May 2012. While speaking to Manager for some details - he was awfully rude - think about it - even before you book, during sales call if this guy is so rude, how dangerous he can be in person...first impression is worst..so I am avoiding it....Good luck Guyz!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_freak_nm74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This was our 6th visit to the Marinha Dourada and once again it did not disappoint. We stay in room 243 with great views over the lake and also with a bit of privacy given by the palm trees. The grounds are immaculate and my husband enjoys fishing in the two lagoons. Sadly he didn't catch anything this year but has more than made up for that in previous years. The rooms are clean and tidy and are kept that way by the room boys. The bathrooms haven't changed in the past 6 years and are now due for a revamp, but there was always hot water available for a refreshing shower when needed. We only made it down to breakfast a couple of times and it was fine. The breakfast area is also due for a revamp. The only problem we had was that on a couple of occasions they ran out of beach towels, but I think that this was due to people taking more than their fair share and using them to reserve more than one bed around the pool - one morning we found a man reserving beds at 6.45am!. We went on several trips this year including the Tiger and Tuskers trip which was fantastic. We booked this through Daytrippers in Candolim. The Saturday night market is right next door to the hotel and we spent a couple of very enjoyable evenings there listening to live music and bartering with the stallholders. We took taxis to Mandrem,Ashvem,Anjuna and Querim beaches and had a great time. The taxi rank is outside the hotel and their prices are very reasonable - always ask the price before you get in. We used a great taxi driver called 'Babycham' (his real name is Sham) who was like a walking encyclopedia and was full of local info. Another brilliant holiday and we can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: We always stay on the top floor. better views and more privacy and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virago750Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed 5th-19th Feb 1st time in Goa. Great hotel all rooms have a balcony with views which is good to know - I have been to a few hotels that claim they promise a balcony and a view to be let down. There are 2 blocks with separate pools. We stopped in the newer block in room G60. The staff are,brilliant and it was great to sit out on the balcony and listen to the distant hustle and bustle of the surrounding nightlife sipping on our beer. We used the bus quite frequently into Baga and caught taxis elsewhere from where we were dropped off. The breakfasts are as grim as they say but is do-able for a couple of days at a time then we would go to Nicks Place for a proper brekkie with Heinz baked beans. Everyone is friendly the rooms are clean. The beds are comfy I slept like a log and the mini bar only came to about 30 pound for 2 weeks. Found a good movie channel around 358 which kept our son occupied whilst he had a spell of dehli belly! I trapped my finger in the sunbed which kept me out the pool for a few days. Make sure you get off to adjust the beds! Had a good couple of nights sat at the Barracuda bar and I miss the place so much already!! Altogether it was amazing and a great start to our Goa experience and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKirby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
3.4 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#10 of 107 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 km away
Resort Rio
Resort Rio
#1 of 14 in Arpora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Resort Lagoa Azul
Resort Lagoa Azul
#8 of 25 in Baga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
13.5 km away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 10 in Dona Paula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.0 km away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorte Marinha Dourada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorte Marinha Dourada

Property: Resorte Marinha Dourada
Address: Tambudki | Anjuna Beach, Arpora 403518, India
Region: India > Goa > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Arpora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Resorte Marinha Dourada 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Resorte Marinha Dourada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorte Marinha Dourada Arpora
Resorte Marinha Dourada Resort Arpora
Marinha Dourada Hotel
Resorte Marinha Dourada Hotel Arpora
Resorte Marinha Dourada Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing