We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Very nice hotel with very nice rooms which are well decorated and clean. Restaurant staff a bit on the slow side, but the food was good. Live music was appreciated, not too loud and well performed.
WiFi however was to be paid for and this should be standard complementary (!)
If you look for a relaxing place this is the one you'd want to be.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veldhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the compliments.
We will review the cost for WiFi soon and take corrective measure in the near future.
Hope to see you soon at Rama Candidasa Resort.
Warm Regards
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

the hotel was nice but when we got there they took us to a room with two twin beds and we had to complain to get the room we paid for . the spa was great the pool was nice but the man made beech was a joke . the rooms would fill with methane gas from the drains at night time. that is really hard to ignore .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you your comments.
We will review them and take measure to improve our short coming.

Warm regards
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I landed up in RAMA via RCI Exchange.

The rooms are big with nice decor. The staff is very attentive. The pool side , restaurant , lobby is all lovely and well kept. Candidasa is bit far from most popular tourist hot-spots in Bali. But if you are looking for a relaxing holiday .. this is the place to stay:)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krishnarungta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Mr Krishnarungta,
Big thank you for the compliments.
It was our pleasure to serve you.
Hope to see you soon back at Rama Candidasa.Resort.
Warm Regards
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed in a regular room on the ground floor looking out over the garden. The resort is quite and relaxing. Many guests are Europeans. The staff is very attentive. The grounds are lovely. The resort has a restaurant with ocean view and a pool next to the ocean. It is all nicely decorated. Our room was simple, in style but with modern amenities like good airco and a nice bathroom. There was supposed to be satellite tv but the reception of the channels was very poor and the Dutch tv channel was not working at all.
The spa was great. We enjoyed some special offers and discounts. The massage was really good.
The restaurant looks nice and so do the dishes. However the dishes were not consistent and not as spicy and flavourful as we are used to in Indonesia. One day we had good food but the next day the same dish could taste totally different. It looked like there were two chiefs in the kitchen. The Ayam Goreng was good the first time, the second time it tasted just like an Italian dish: baked chicken with rosemary! The Beef Rendang was good the first time, the second time it was Beef Opor! The specials were quite expensive, like the pasta evening. The breakfast was a bit expensive as well and as a buffet not very interesting.
One night a middle aged couple, who probably had a drink too many, decided to enter the restaurant in their wet bathing suits, on bare feet, the lady covered her bathing suit with a towel. They ordered only beer. It was very weird, since the other guests were all dressed up for the evening and were having diner and there was a singer/guitarist performing. The staff was too nice or too shy to ask the guests to change first!
We are familiar with the area and took several day trips with our rental car. There are nice restaurants in Manggis and Candidasa. The road leading to the resort is not very good and doesn't do justice to the resort!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Margariet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the compliments.
I have reviewed your comments with our kitchen staff and taken action to improve the consistency at the kitchen.
Hope to see you soon back at our Resort.
Warm Regards
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed in a romantic cottage, complete with mosquito netting and air con. Large infinity pool next to a large zen garden, then the ocean. Restaurant is open walled off the ocean with very good food and friendly staff. Tasteful decor and gorgeous flora everywhere.

There is little to do in Candidasa, but drivable to nearby activities.
Very affordable chunk of paradise!

Room Tip: Our garden view cottage was a pleasure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennybuttah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your compliments.
Our staff were very pleased to read them.
Hope to see you soon back at Rama Candidasa Resort.
Warm Regards
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My name is Yevgeni Vainshtein
I came to Bali on 26.11.11 with Singapore Airlines (probably the best experience of the trip).
We stayed in Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa.
During arrival to the hotel we were accompanied by hotel staff member Mr. Subagia to our room.
I was shocked to see that instead of the Bungalo that I ordered we were taken to the main old building from probably 70ties, to a regular room, room number 317
After my complaints Mr. Subagia said that actually they made us a favor and that the room is bigger than the bungalo.
Of course I wasn't convinced so we spoke to another hotel staff member Mr. Ariawan who took those filthy lies even further and said that all RCI members should stay in the main building and if we wish to upgrade the room to the bungalo it will cost us additional 50USD per night.
At the end of our stay at the hotel on the 09.12.11 I found out the exact bungalow number that I ordered from RCI, which was bungalow number 231, only then the front desk hotel manager Mr. Adi apologized for the inconvenience and tried to compensate us at 16:00 on 09.12.11 with one night stay at the Junior Suite, while we were about to depart from Bali on the 10.12.11 at 05:00 in the morning.
I of course refused this kind of compensation, and will be demanding a complete reimbursement on cost difference between the room in the main building and cost of bungalow.
If you will go to any booking website you will see that the price difference between the regular room to a bungalow is about 25 USD per night, so basically hotel put in his pocket directly sum of 350USD on my own expence.
More over I can clearly state that this is the first time that I was downgraded at my own expense, which happened to me first time in my life. Normally there is a clear hospitality law, that states if the hotel can’t provide the room type which was ordered by client, the hotel must upgrade the client free of charge to a superior room.
Also I would like to highlight that while I was discussing the reimbursement issue with Mr. Adi, I proposed to him some very small way to reimburse us, but he said that the hotel anyway will loose on us 150USD per night if they will give us the Junior suite for one night, and they wont make any further steps to fix this situation.
This only shows complete lack of any service or hospitality levels by Rama Candidasa hotel.

The hotel overall is more or less, but it of course don't reserve 4 star rating but rather maximum 3 stars.
Hotel is very unclean, we have several lizards living in our room.
There is a passage way from the main road directly to the hotel which has no road concrete and it’s terrible to drive. More over you can see real favelas on this passage way to the hotel, homeless dirty dogs in dozens - and this is while most of Bali is covered with billboards that say "Beware Rabies dogs" and of course the garbage and the filth is just so disturbing for the eyes. A small investment to fix the passage way of 200-300 meters to the hotel and putting the dogs to shelter or something would had fixed all of this but probably the hotel owners are getting too much profit to take care about anything.
The prices in the hotel restaurant are completely ridiculous, they are at least twice higher than in any other good restaurant in Bali.
The breakfast is so boring, every day compete same menu, also everything is very unclean, most of the main plates with sweets etc... have ants aground them.
I would like to add as well, that there is a renovation taking place both in the old building and in bungalos, which is not mentioned not on the hotel website or anywhere else.
Several time while relaxing on the hotel pool I was highly disturbed by the noise from chainsaw or something like that, I had communicated this nuisance to the hotel staff on several occasions without receiving real solution for this matter.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank feranicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Mr Vainshtein,
Thank you for the information.
We will revert.
Regards,
Peer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Fantastic hotel with amazing grounds, perfect for a relaxing getaway as part of our honeymoon. The room was amazing, huge comfy bed, huge bathroom with rain shower, big fridge, plasma TV, safe, couch and nice outdoor lounge area. The grounds are beautiful, immaculate Balinese gardens, with great pool (with shallow area for kids), good restaurant, a chilled out garden area at the back, and shaded hanging beds which are perfect for watching the sunset or reading a book. The hotel has WIFI, but you only get the 1st hour for free and then it's $1.50 an hour afterwards, which we found kind of cheeky after traveling for 3 months and WIFI was free for guests everywhere else we went, even very remote places in Vietnam, Thailand, Philippines and Laos, and none of the places were as plush as this hotel. The hotel is about 10mins walk from the small town of Candidasa, but you may want to get a taxi the short distance, as the road, albeit beautiful, isn't really built with pedestrians in mind. One thing to note, there are no real beaches in this area. When they started building all the resorts in the area, they used the coral reefs in the construction, and as such the beaches have been eroded away. Nonetheless, it's still beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the compliments.
I have shared them with our staffs and they are very pleased.
With the road, we are waiting approval from the local authorities and we will be fixing it within the next one or 2 months.
Again thank you.
Warm Regards
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
0.5 km away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
858 reviews
2.5 km away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
609 reviews
0.5 km away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#12 of 20 in Candidasa
134 reviews
0.1 km away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
304 reviews
1.5 km away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#6 of 20 in Candidasa
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa

Address: Jl Raya Sengkidu, Candidasa Beach | PO Box 120, Candidasa, Karangasem 80801, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
#3 Family Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range: $99 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa is located in the east of Bali, in the heart of the Candidasa district. With private beach frontage and a beach terrace above, the resort offers tranquility, ocean breezes, and a romantic atmosphere for nature lovers. Accommodations are artistically furnished and decorated with contemporary Balinese décor and modern facilities, and secluded balconies offering views over the ocean, pool, or garden.The natural serenity of being set amongst, mountains, rice fields and ocean, that offers the ultimate peace and tranquility. Whether you want shopping, activity ; such as diving, snorkeling and yoga, or just relaxing and daydreaming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Candidasa Resort And Spa
Rama Candidasa Hotel Candidasa
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing