We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olhao is my favorite place. A well kept secret.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensao Bicuar Residential
Ranked #4 of 15 Olhao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Pension Bicuar is absolutely fantastic. The roofterrace is amazing. Every thing is very clean, the rooms are comfortable and the location is quiet but in the heart of the old authentic town. The town is beatifull with all its old houses. Life runs slowly and the every day market with fresh fruit, vegtables and fish is perfect buing every thing you need for a barbeque on the roof terrace. Or just buy a cup of coffee and relax.

Room Tip: All rooms arre comfortable, but don't stay all day in the room. Use the roof terrace as much as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skr055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2015

Australian owner Jeff and his wife Leonie were very welcoming when we pitched up at 10.30pm straight from the airport with our two young children. We were immediately shown the charming roof terrace and its twinkling lights looking out over Olhao and introduced to the other guests enjoying an evening drink. Our family room was fairly basic but clean and had everything you required. The children enjoyed climbing the ladder up to the double bed raised up above and the bunk beds, plus a TV to keep them entertained and the fans kept us cool in the evening. In the morning, we sampled breakfast in the cafe beneath (full of locals which is always a good sign) and then headed back up to the wonderful roof terrace to take in the views and to really appreciate our pension location. The whole accommodation was very authentic, clean and incorporated artistic decoration and furnishings. Jeff and Leonie were very welcoming and helpful, recommending a local car hire company and where to go and what to do in the area. This was the perfect pit-stop on route to Armona island and we'd definitely recommend to those who wish to see some of the authentic side of Olhao, based in the old town. The markets, cafes, shops and harbour only being a short walk away. All at a very reasonable price too.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteEM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

This is one of the places you feel home while travelling. Actually this is a lie! Because at home we do not have such a beautiful with plants and flowers decorated roofterrace with 360 degree view over Olhao. We also do not have so many handmade old furniture and a huge barbecue on the top, followed by a always clean kitchen. We would move in for ever if anybody tells us how we could make a living in Portugal.
One thing I have forgotten: the owner Leonie and Jeff and their staff who took care for our 8 month old baby while we were brought to hospital because by ambulance because of a aching kidney stone... so if you ask me if we would recommend bicuar pension? well, we would not stay at another place in Olhao for sure!!!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank georg w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Absolutely great, affordable and recommendable for a young couple due to its price and quality. Staff can't be any better, Jeff is so kind and helps anyone feel comfortable and relaxed, always asking for any issue or claim; and giving every hint and information on what to do in Olhao and nearby.

The location is great, even if Olhao is not that big, the Pension is 4 minutes walk to the main market.

We felt so wonderfully treated during our stay, and would definitely recommend to book a room, as we would return anytime.

There's a great barbecue at the terrace top, so anyone can cook and enjoy the fresh fish of the market.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javierluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We were two couples looking for last minute accommodation in high season, so we didn't hold out much hope for the place. The minute we arrived at the front door, we knew we had found a gem of a place.
The owner, Jeff, is very friendly and knowledgable about the area, it's history and wonderful restaurants around us. The pension is situated ideally in the middle of the old town with its wonderful, cobbled, meandering streets and quaint buildings. It is very near the markets and the ferry point for trips to the exquisite island beaches.
The pension itself is spotless, comfortable and there is a shared kitchen for guests to use, plus a wonderful roof terrace with amazing views all round Olhao.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiromanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Loved this place, typical pension, our room had a balcony overlooking the narrow cobble streets, we left the door open at night for any breeze, lovely and quiet but the odd person chattering as they went home at night. We had a shower ensuite, and a shared toilet in the hallway which was not a problem.
Jeff the owner was incredibly helpful. Loaned us a sun umbrella for the beach one day. There is a lovely roof garden for a quiet early evening drink and a kitchen with basic facilities for guests to use as well.
Parking is available free, but a couple of blocks away near the supermarket is the best bet to get one. Everything seems super safe though so no worries.
Liked the Indian restaurant just outside too.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Have just returned (today) from yet another wonderful stay at Pension Bicuar. I have never stayed somewhere with such a friendly welcome from the owners Jeff and Leonie and this lasted throughout the stay, how many places do you stay that the owners know you by name. We stayed in a lovely room at the front which had two balconies (room 25) such a lovely quiet room. Pension Bicuar is a very clean accomodation that is only a couple of minutes walk to the centre of Olhao where you have a good choice of restaurants and cafés. One night we purchased some fresh tuna and prawns from the fish market and cooked these on the BBQ on the roof terrace where there are views across Olhao and further afield. We then spent some time on the roof terrace with other guests from Australia, Denmark and Germany. It was lovely to hear about other peoples travel plans. This time we took the ferry over to Farol a couple of times where there is a beautiful beach and a couple of beach restaurants. You also have a choice of two other beaches locally to get the ferry too which are also beautiful.
If you are looking for a break away which is only a short taxi ride away from the airport (20 ish euro's) in a typical Portuguese town, good price clean accommodation then look no further, this is the place to stay. Mixture of age groups, do not be put off by the shared toilets, they are the cleanest toilets you will ever possibly see and you do not end up waiting as there are some on each floor. I have stayed here as a single female and also with my partner, I would not hesitate in booking again and am hoping to go back in a couple of months.
Thanks again Lisa and Steve

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olhao hotels
0.6 km away
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
5.3 km away
Casa Modesta
Casa Modesta
#1 of 7 in Olhao
118 reviews
10.6 km away
Monte dos Avos Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pensao Bela Vista
Pensao Bela Vista
#6 of 7 in Olhao
30 reviews
1.5 km away
Seaview Guesthouse
Seaview Guesthouse
#7 of 15 in Olhao
14 reviews
0.6 km away
Real Marina Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Bicuar Residential? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Bicuar Residential

Address: Rua Vasco da Gama #5, Olhao 8700-522, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Olhao
Price Range: C$44 - C$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensao Bicuar Residential 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality budget accommodation is offered by this friendly guesthouse in Olhão, We offer the following rooms: One X single room (1PP) One dormitory style room (3PP) Seven Double rooms (2PP) Two twin rooms (2PP) One family room (3PP Ensuite) One family room (3PP) One double room (2PP Ensuite) Situated in the heart of the fish & shellfish capital of the Algarve, one blcok from the waterfront markets, restaurants and ferry service. You can enjoy an amazing ride to the wonderful islands just of the coast in the Ria Formosa National Park. At the you will find the most beautiful (wild)beaches of Europe. If you like (sea)food and want to have a relaxing holiday we are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Pensao Bicuar Residential reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Bicuar Residential Olhao, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing