We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
109
47
10
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
47
10
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace shared toilet other guests style hotel no elevator old town place to sleep perfect place to relax comfortable room guest house train station top floor restaurants and shops quiet location pension nissan farol
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 178 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2015

Australian owner Jeff and his wife Leonie were very welcoming when we pitched up at 10.30pm straight from the airport with our two young children. We were immediately shown the charming roof terrace and its twinkling lights looking out over Olhao and introduced to the other guests enjoying an evening drink. Our family room was fairly basic but clean and had everything you required. The children enjoyed climbing the ladder up to the double bed raised up above and the bunk beds, plus a TV to keep them entertained and the fans kept us cool in the evening. In the morning, we sampled breakfast in the cafe beneath (full of locals which is always a good sign) and then headed back up to the wonderful roof terrace to take in the views and to really appreciate our pension location. The whole accommodation was very authentic, clean and incorporated artistic decoration and furnishings. Jeff and Leonie were very welcoming and helpful, recommending a local car hire company and where to go and what to do in the area. This was the perfect pit-stop on route to Armona island and we'd definitely recommend to those who wish to see some of the authentic side of Olhao, based in the old town. The markets, cafes, shops and harbour only being a short walk away. All at a very reasonable price too.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteEM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2015

This is one of the places you feel home while travelling. Actually this is a lie! Because at home we do not have such a beautiful with plants and flowers decorated roofterrace with 360 degree view over Olhao. We also do not have so many handmade old furniture and a huge barbecue on the top, followed by a always clean kitchen. We would move in for ever if anybody tells us how we could make a living in Portugal.
One thing I have forgotten: the owner Leonie and Jeff and their staff who took care for our 8 month old baby while we were brought to hospital because by ambulance because of a aching kidney stone... so if you ask me if we would recommend bicuar pension? well, we would not stay at another place in Olhao for sure!!!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank georg w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2015

Absolutely great, affordable and recommendable for a young couple due to its price and quality. Staff can't be any better, Jeff is so kind and helps anyone feel comfortable and relaxed, always asking for any issue or claim; and giving every hint and information on what to do in Olhao and nearby.

The location is great, even if Olhao is not that big, the Pension is 4 minutes walk to the main market.

We felt so wonderfully treated during our stay, and would definitely recommend to book a room, as we would return anytime.

There's a great barbecue at the terrace top, so anyone can cook and enjoy the fresh fish of the market.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javierluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2015

We were two couples looking for last minute accommodation in high season, so we didn't hold out much hope for the place. The minute we arrived at the front door, we knew we had found a gem of a place.
The owner, Jeff, is very friendly and knowledgable about the area, it's history and wonderful restaurants around us. The pension is situated ideally in the middle of the old town with its wonderful, cobbled, meandering streets and quaint buildings. It is very near the markets and the ferry point for trips to the exquisite island beaches.
The pension itself is spotless, comfortable and there is a shared kitchen for guests to use, plus a wonderful roof terrace with amazing views all round Olhao.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiromanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2015

Loved this place, typical pension, our room had a balcony overlooking the narrow cobble streets, we left the door open at night for any breeze, lovely and quiet but the odd person chattering as they went home at night. We had a shower ensuite, and a shared toilet in the hallway which was not a problem.
Jeff the owner was incredibly helpful. Loaned us a sun umbrella for the beach one day. There is a lovely roof garden for a quiet early evening drink and a kitchen with basic facilities for guests to use as well.
Parking is available free, but a couple of blocks away near the supermarket is the best bet to get one. Everything seems super safe though so no worries.
Liked the Indian restaurant just outside too.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews