We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$173
View deal
Agoda.com
US$192
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-29
Hotels.com
PricelineUS$173
HurbUS$192
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,248)
Filter reviews
4,248 results
Traveller rating
2,469
1,316
346
65
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,469
1,316
346
65
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ria formosa village view lovely hotel fishing town star hotel fish market indoor pool relaxing break faro airport half board short break reception staff restaurants and bars sun loungers self catering yogurt farol
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 4,248 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2020 via mobile

Was here for two nights mini break half board, the breakfast was great however dinner wasn’t good at all I had a really bad stomach bug after having their steak in the restaurant and it was the worst food my partner & I ever had presentations was great though. Rooms are great everything there except box of tissues & a kettle. Special thanks to Thanu, Veronica & George in the restaurant they were great but sorry to say the food let us down . The spa & reception staff was great. Dinner on the both nights were tasteless & awful. Even paid for breakfast & dinner most of the stuff in the menu we have to pay additional €7.50 which was not what I expected from a 5 star hotel.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Liyan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diretor Geral, Gerente geral at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your constructive comments and review.
We sincerely regret that you do not feel satisfied with our dinner service.
We try to attend to as many different tastes and expectations as possible, but we have to admit that it is challenging when it comes to food.
Rest assured that our F&B team does everything to provide a great service with health and safety since our hotel respects all the HACCP requirements.
Your comment will be carefully analyzed and we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can.
We hope your next stay with us will be more enjoyable.
Best regards,
Sílvia Cruz
Hotel Manager
Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2020

Just returned from 10 days at this hotel. Got to say a huge well done to the team at the hotel. The hotel was so clean and the staff really did look after us. Breakfast was excelllent and the pool bar staff and food where excellent. Have stayed here many times already and will stay many times more. Thank you for a great stay. Take care and see you soon.

Room tip: Sea view room is best for a great view over the marina
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diretor Geral, Gerente geral at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2020

Dear Guest,
It is really gratifying to know how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service quality.
Thank you for all your compliments to our staff.
We will make sure that all of your comments are transmitted to our team. They will be delighted.
Thank you so much for leaving us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, at the Real Marina Hotel & Spa.
Kind regards,
Sílvia Cruz
Hotel Manager
Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2020

With all the madness going on in the world it was nice to find a clean hotel with all staff doing all they could to make you feel safe at this time WELL DONE. Also the quality and choice for breakfast was very good (little tip if you want an omlette or poached eggs just ask your server when seated )

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 747richardg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diretor Geral, Gerente geral at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the comment and for leaving us your great opinion of our Hotel.
It’s very special for us to learn that your experience was great and that you had such a pleasant stay with us.
It's for comments like yours that our team works daily.
We look forward to welcoming you again hopefully soon.
Kind Regards,
Sílvia Cruz
Hotel Manager
Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2020

This was our 2nd visit in 16 months – delayed due to C-19. Very pleasantly surprised and reassured by all the measures in place to keep guests and staff safe. Sanitisers at all doors and lift entrances, masks obligatory, tables in the restaurant were wiped down after use and then again as a new couple were shown to their tables. For the breakfast buffet, guests were asked to wear clear plastic gloves and follow a 1-way system around the dining area. 99% of guests complied; those that did not were men in suits! Breakfast offered the full range of foods to suit most nationalities and omelettes / poached eggs could be ordered on demand. Staff seemed only too happy to oblige as they often outnumbered the early diners at breakfast, which was split into 2 sittings to ease numbers and provide spacing.
We chose a suite this year and it was vast with 2 balconies on the 2 corners of the building. We reckoned we could place 14 sun loungers top to toe along the combined length but it was a bit breezy to sit out and so we used the pool area most times. We declined housekeeping and chose to put out our bins each morning for the maid to empty. We requested new bed linen halfway through our stay. Maids were in full gloves, masks and hairnets and worked hard. After a room is vacated and cleaned, it is then left for 24 hours before being open for a new guest. Our suite offered 2 shower rooms, one of which also included a bath. Good quality toiletries were provided in vertical tubes that one squeezed to get the product. The curtains were black-out but also offered an inner net curtain to that the view to the Ria area. Pleasant when the tide was in but more unsightly when the tide was out exposing wet mud flats – but then it offered the added interest of watching people dig for clams in the mud and views across to the islands of Culatra, Farol, Ilha Deserta and sights of the salt piles from the nearby salt-pans. The only adverse comment I would make is that the sheets for the huge bed in the suite do not fit; they are too small and so will not tuck in and become wrinkled during the night. Guess the bed is Emperor size – certainly larger than a Super King Size; this needs to be addressed.
The outdoor pool area was in use and had a traffic light system to advise guests of demand and also an IN/ OUT system too. All loungers were sprayed down at the end of the evening. Staff are on hand to mount the parasols, if required but the umbrellas are on wheels which make it easy. Loungers were well spaced out but we were told that during our September visit the hotel was operating at 40% capacity. There is shower spray which few guests used before entering the pool. The indoor pool and spa area was open and subject to booking. Swim hats were obligatory but I found the water very cool indeed, more so in the jacuzzi and did not spend much time there. I chose to have a short massage and all was in order, with only 2 people being allowed in the changing room at any one time. Masks to be worn by both parties.
We had been warned about some building works in the local area but I have to say that, at the village end, there was little interruption at all. In fact a building we saw started in May 2019 had not much progressed. We used the Ria bar for morning coffees, drinks and the occasional sandwich and Happy Hour was at 1800, but for a limited range of drinks. We chose to eat out in the local area and found 10 excellent places to go and it allowed us to explore more of Olhão. We did however see some guests who chose to eat at the hotel.
We were made very welcome by the hotel staff and by folk in the village and the market. The measures in place are top rate and we felt safer in the Algarve than in parts of the UK. Well done to the whole team for making our visit so comfortable and secure; we shall return.

Room tip: Front views to the Ria are best. Village is flats to the rear and city is to the old town. Corner suites at upper levels can can be windy.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lisboeta56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diretor Geral, Gerente geral at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. They were very kind and we absolutely loved them.
We always look after the small details to make a big difference in our Guests' experiences.
We're very glad to learn from your review that our Covid - safe measures made you feel comfortable and safe.
It is really gratifying for us to learn how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff.
We would also like to thank you for your detailed description of our services and facilities, our location as well as the services closer to us. We are sure that these will be greatly appreciated and very helpful for future guests.
Thank you so much for leaving us your feedback about our Hotel and we hope that we will have you again for another great time.
Kind regards,
Sílvia Cruz
Hotel Manager
Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2020

Lovely relaxing stay here again ( this is our 6th time). This was made all the more relaxing by the rigorous implementation of hygiene measures by the staff. Would thoroughly recommend as felt far sager here than in the UK. Things were not as varied at breakfast due to COVID, so , for example tinned fruit used in fruit salad, but all in all lovely and the room cleanliness was impeccable.

Room tip: Ria view essential
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Annie1Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diretor Geral, Gerente geral at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. They were very kind and we absolutely loved them.
We always look after the small details to make a big difference in our Guests' experiences and our main objective is that all of our Guests feel safe and relaxed in these times especially. We're very glad to learn from your review that we accomplished that.
It is really gratifying for us to learn how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff.
Thank you so much for leaving us your feedback about our Hotel and we hope that we will have you again for another great 7th time.
Kind regards,
Sílvia Cruz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews