We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not miss this!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoyran Wedre Country Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hoyran Wedre Country Houses
Ranked #1 of 17 Demre (Kale) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Arriving late and exhausted, we had a wonderful Turkish welcome from the owners, who have created a beautifully designed home with fantastic views down to the coast. It is only a short drive to the beach below but with an amazing infinity pool and shady garden, with private verandahs and an open terrace, we did not want to leave. We had wonderful meals and the owners' own spring water. The rooms are spacious and beautifully finished, with everything provided for a relaxing and quiet holiday, although there is loads to see in walking distance! Our stay here made the holiday special and we intend to return for longer. Cannan and Suleyman are very knowledgable about the local area and gave us valuable advice about the Lycian Way walk. The 5 o'clock tea and cakes is a great idea and with everything home made, including preserves, it was hard to leave!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMEadeWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
150
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here recently for two days in September as we were walking some of the Lycian Way. The weather was very hot and we had had a long day walking and were so pleased and delighted to be given such a warm welcome with cold drinks followed by tea and home made cake. This was followed that night by a very good meal on the upstairs balcony overlooking the floodlit pool and garden. Two other walkers joined us for dinner and were also thoroughly enjoying their stay too. The bedroom, although a little on the warm side as ours didn't have AC, was very tastefully furnished and the bathroom of a very high standard. The next day, after a lovely breakfast we swam in the great infinity pool, lazed in the outdoor hammocks, walked around the interesting garden and enjoyed chatting to Suleyman and Canan about their beautiful home. Suleyman took us up to the nearby tombs and gave us a personal tour of the area and the history which was fascinating. He picked some warm figs from his tree for us to sample. We had such a lovely rest and felt fully refreshed to carry on with our walking the following day. Would highly recommend this as a perfect spot to unwind!
Lovely people who put hospitality first!

Room Tip: If it's high summer ask for a room with AC. We could have asked to change rooms but really did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValCart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Hoyran Wedre is an absolute gem. We had an amazing trip to Turkey, and our stay here was the highlight of a great week. The hotel is beautiful and peaceful with fantastic views and very nice rooms. Suleyman and Canan are the best hosts you can imagine. They are incredibly friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and enjoy every aspect of your stay there. Canan is an unbelievable chef, and the meals we had during our stay here were the best meals we had during our whole vacation. There are amazing Lycian and Roman ruins within walking distance of the hotel and Suleyman was nice enough to offer to show us around these ruins. We really fell in love with this place and even cancelled the next leg of our trip in order to stay an extra night here. To anyone that is visiting this area of Turkey, I give Hoyran Wedre the highest possible recommendation. I really hope to be back to this area of Turkey some day, and if I do, I will absolutely be staying at Hoyran Wedre again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milford on sea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

After a challenging walk along the Lycian way we found a haven of beauty, peacefulness and serenity with a fantastic view. A place that had lovingly been put together by its owners. Home- grown vegetables, home made preserves and jams, quite delicious cuisine. The kind and welcoming hospitality of Cannan and Suleyman was second to none. Our stay was one of the highlights of the holiday and one day we shall be back! Jane and Tony

Room Tip: ask for top corner room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

The Horan Werdy is located in beautiful mountainous countryside with postcard perfect views down to the impressive coastline. We spent a week doing outdoor activities such as kayaking and canoeing during the day and relaxing in the peaceful countryside at night. The village location provided the perfect setting to wined down after a hard day in the sun and leave all the stress and strains of city life far behind.

Some people may find the location too remote, for us this was part of the magic. No police cars, no road noise, just us and nature. The nearest town is a 20 minute drive away so expect at 20-40 minutes of travel when going out. The main roads are very good and I managed to get around without any problems. Suleyman made excellent recommendations and gave good directions for the local attractions. The rooms are lovely and finished in an antique style with outstanding views from the balcony.

The food cooked by Canan was delicious, eggs from their chickens and vegetables grown locally. Healthy home cooked Mediterranean style food and traditional Turkish dishes made a lovely evening meal. You can find cheaper alternatives in local restaurants but they are not prepared with the same quality ingredients and tend to be aimed at tourists so you would miss out on tasting real home cooked Turkish food.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday, it was like a second honeymoon. I would highly recommend to anyone that wants a holiday in the countryside to relax and recharge well away from the package holiday tourists.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had a wonderfull stay in the beautiful Hoyran Wedre Country houses! The rooms were excellent and very clean and Canan and Suleyman and very kind and helpful. The food was excellent. The pool and view was great! We really enjoyed our stay and we hope to come back on this wonderfull hotel!

Jeroen & Ebru

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank villaolivio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Part of a tour of Turkeys meditteranian coast, we stayed at the Hotel Hoyran Wedre for 2 nights. İt was the most expensive part of our tour, so expectations were high!!

The hotel is located about 10km out of Demre just off the main D400 highway and very easy to find. İt is very remote, located in a village where life seems to be concentrated on Tomato plants (as is most of the life in the Demre area!!) and little much else.

The hotel is a sprawling mass of hillside that has clearly been lovingly transformed into a small hotel suited for those who like to do very little once inside the hotel walls. The feature point ıs a wonderful infinity pool made from marble that overlooks the sea. İ have to say words cannot describe the beauty of the pool.

The room was excellent, furnished with antique furniture and made from hand carved fittings, even down to the doors. A special mention to the shower which was just about the best İ have ever experienced. The water must have come from the heavens to create so much pressure!!

Now my rating of 3 stars was because at €100 a night İ expect the hotel to be top category in Turkey. Unfortunately my impression was that things were a little too much for the husband and wife team with a cleaner and house boy as support. I was left with a feeling of things being left to the elements, the gardens although once clearly beautiful are now a barren scar, void of life giving water. Although there was no A\C, a fan in the room or perhaps a plug in bug zapper would have made the nights sleep more manageable. The mozzies plagued me.

The food has been praised in other reviews so given there is little other choice given the hotels location we had high hopes, but İ am afraid for €20 each we expected more than we had. The food was good but İ did expect something more than 4 chicken wings for a main course. Food we had at other hotels during our stay was better and at half the price. if this is traditional Turkish food then İ have never come across i before.

To summarise, for €100 a night B&B we had higher hopes, hence we have given the hotel an average rating. A general feeling was left of cutting corners, sad because this at a hotel that could have been amongst the best we have ever stayed in.

Please feel free to contact me
Lee

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Suggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Demre (Kale)
5.1 km away
Kale Pansiyon
Kale Pansiyon
#3 of 4 in Demre (Kale)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
29.1 km away
Presa di Finica Hotel & Suites
26.0 km away
Lukka Hotel
Lukka Hotel
#2 of 44 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 km away
Hideaway Hotel
Hideaway Hotel
#3 of 44 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
5.3 km away
Mehtap Pension
Mehtap Pension
#2 of 17 in Demre (Kale)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
15.7 km away
Beymelek Tas Evler
Beymelek Tas Evler
#6 of 17 in Demre (Kale)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoyran Wedre Country Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyran Wedre Country Houses

Property: Hoyran Wedre Country Houses
Address: Kapakli Mahallesi Hoyran Mevkii. No:25, Demre (Kale) 07570, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Demre (Kale)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Demre (Kale)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoyran Wedre Country Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoyran Wedre is a country style hotel built of stone and wooden in the antique Lycian village Hoyran, that is on the Toros Mountain at the south coast of Turkey. The hotel has 2 suites and 9 double rooms all decorated in different styles. Each room has a functional fireplace. The life in Hoyran is far away from the stress and noise of the big cities. All you can hear here is the voice of the nature and the spellbinding silence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hoyran Wedre Country Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyran Wedre Hotel Demre (Kale)
Hoyran Wedre Kale Demre
Hoyran Wedre Country Houses Turkey/Demre (Kale)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing