We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leonardo Da Vinci Residence
Ranked #297 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We chose this place for its location because it was closed to where the rest of my family was staying. The apartment we got was not as pictured. It has everything that you need (bed, bathroom, kitchen) but it is not a place where I would want to hang out in as a break from the city. It does its job as a place to sleep but very bare place with no character

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BrysonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017

The hotel management was professional and very friendly and we had very good communication during our stay. The apartment we rented had a very nice and large living room with lots of light. The view from the long balcony is over a large open area, where one can see the roofs of several buildings until the buildings on the other side rises. One cannot see the street scene from the balcony and with the neighbour buildings so far away it felt like having a private area. Sun from 14 o'clock until sunset. There is air conditioning in both the living room and the bedroom. They worked very well for both heating and cooling. The kitchen is extremely small and has no exhaust fan or window. Therefore, we often went out to eat. As there are lots of nice restaurants within all categories in the neighbourhood, we really enjoyed. There are also lots of delicacy stores - so it's easy to buy something nice to enjoy at home. The porter in the building ensured that we always felt safe evening and night. We could notice that the building is not “soundproof”, but apart from some sounds in between, we experienced a quiet and peaceful stay. We enjoyed ourselves very much here and we will gladly return.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank LunitaLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised by how nice and clean the room and entire building was. Beds were very comfortable. we mostly spoke with the security guard due to the times we were there and he was really helpful from giving us the wifi password to booking us taxis.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby_Gamgee-Took
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We read great reviews and looked at photos on the website, so we were pretty excited to find this apart hotel that has a great location and is reasonably priced. We went ahead and reserved an "Economic" room (3 person capacity) for a month.

Even with the knowledge that all the apartments are different and "unique" we were not happy with what we received. It was not what was represented in the pictures, in layout, quality, nor cleanliness.

- The kitchen, which in a poor planning decision was somehow smaller than our bathroom, had dark spots on the counter that look suspiciously like mold.
- Rather than a queen bed, we had two twins that were velcro-ed together.
- VERY dirty bedskirt, stained and faded blanket (I suppose this was supposed to be a "comforter").
- Awkward layout. Upon entering the room, you are in a hallway with a bed in a small recess to the left.
- The bathroom doors needed to be closed with quite a lot of force to fit in the doorways. Even with a good slam, one of the bathroom doors tends to open of its own device (no lock to keep it in place either). This can make it a little awkward with 3 grown adults staying here.
- Had to call and request mattress sheets and pillowcase for the additional bed. It was just a mattress with a blanket covering it and the pillow upon arrival.
- After hanging a towel next to the sink hook, it fell right off the wall.
- For having such ample room in the bathroom, not sure why the toilet was in the corner just inches away from the wall (my husband's knees hit the wall when he sits!).
- Within a minute of the shower running you are standing in a puddle of water that is not draining. Had to periodically turn off the water during a single shower to allow the water to drain.
- Thin walls and lack of sufficient curtains means that we can hear people in other rooms talking at a regular volume, cell phone rings, and more.
- The bedroom is bright as soon as the sun comes out, no curtains for the large top window (if you're sensitive to light when sleeping like I am, you'll have a hard time here)
- There is a small hallway-like patio with a wooden fence separating it from the neighbor's patio. Upon check-in it was pretty dirty, complete with a dead cockroach occupying it. Rain moved the cockroach, so it's not in the pictures.

We arrived on a Saturday for a month-long stay and our "Economic" room wasn't ready due to a hot water issue, so we spent the day after our flight walking and wandering nearby. We thought our disappointment at the room might be due to our exhaustion so we waited until the next day to talk to the staff.

The staff showed us three other rooms in the "Superior" category that had just been vacated (but in need of cleaning and service) to see if we would rather move to another room and pay the difference. Though we appreciated this effort, we were still disappointed in the quality of all the rooms.

With a third guest staying with us we did not find another place to stay until he left. When we tried to settle our tab and dispute the charge for the nights we did not stay there, we were kicked out of the hotel that very same day by the manager.

I just honestly don't understand where any good reviews are coming from. Unless you can handle low-quality rooms, bedding, and terrible management, I would not recommend staying here. As an avid traveler with many types of accommodation experiences (hostels, hotels, you-name-it), I can say with certainty that this was the worst stay and experience I have ever had in my life.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samcrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardo Da Vin... D, Director de Recepción at Leonardo Da Vinci Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016
Google Translation

Buenos días,
Ante todo como ya he expresado personalmente sentimos mucho el sufrimiento que ha tenido que soportar en nuestro establecimiento por una estancia de 10 días.
De haber sabido de vuestra molestia lo hubiéramos solucionado a las 48 hs de su llega y no a su partida.
Como usted bien manifiesta contamos con distintas unidades que abarcan a los diferentes gustos y requerimientos para cada uno de los pasajeros.
Justamente están las fotos para que el cliente pueda expresar cual es de su agrado o lo que espera de nosotros.
También es cierto que le hemos ofrecido otras opciones que no fueron de su agrado y le hubiéramos ofrecidos muchas mas.
Pero entiendo que ya no estaban a gusto y aceptamos las criticas, sabiendo que los gustos son meramente personales y propios de cada uno.
El departamento asignado, entendemos que no fue de su agrado pero se encuentra en perfectas condiciones, ya sea en cuando su limpieza y distribución.
Se le asigno el mismo dado que según lo especificado por usted se trataba de una pareja y un amigo, en este departamento se cuenta con cierta intimidad y división entre las personas que se encuentran.
En cuanto a la suciedad de la cocina no es cierto. No son hongos aunque a usted le haya parecido.
Usamos artículos de desinfección y limpieza especializadas para cada ambiente del departamento.
En cuanto al patio al ser un lugar externo, dado que el mismo se encuentra en la parte interna del edificio, es normal que se encuentren hojas, etc. Pero aceptamos que no sea de su agrado.
Y como ya le hemos mencionado de haberlo sabido, lo hubiéramos solucionado a la llegada.
En cuanto al horario de llegada como dice bien expresado es a partir de las 12 del medio día, y procuramos de realizar el aseo de departamento lo mas rápido posible. y aquí es que si surgió algún olvido en cuanto a los blancos le pedimos disculpas, ya que quisimos entregarle la habitación para que ustedes pudieran descansar.
Lo cual entendemos que estaban cansados por el viaje.
En cuanto a la tercer cama que tuvo que pedir sabanas y fundas no es cierto.
Estaba estipulado realizarlo el día de la llegada de su amigo, que es así, como aquí se organiza.
Por lo que tengo entendido decidieron quedarse como les resultaba cómodo el departamento para 3 personas.
Y en caso de haber optado por otras opciones le aseguro que el precio no seria un problema, dado que nuestro interés es siempre a pos del bien estar del cliente.

Lamentamos que no haya sido así con ustedes y que estas cuestiones no se hayan podido solucionar hasta el día de su egreso.

Aceptamos nuestros posibles error y falencias y debido a esto hemos acordamos mutuamente que no se le aplicaría las condiciones y políticas de cancelación.

Lamentamos que su experiencia no haya sido acorde a sus expectativas.
Atentamente,
Dirección






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

This was the third time staying there and I highly recommend the quaint hotel. It's really in a great neighborhood and easy to walk to most everything. The staff is exceptional and when we needed help or advice and suggestions Flor and Federico were flawless, I wish they worked for me.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank tobydog2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the apartments of Leonardo Da Vinci Residences. Our accommodation was a studio apartment over Easter in 2013. Kitchen was adequate for self catering. Great balcony overlooking the street to eat our meals on. Very clean. Fast wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jds88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2014

Our friends who live in Buenos Aires found this hotel for us, primarily because it was in a safe neighborhood and met our budget constraints. It turned out to be much better than just in a great neighborhood (Recoleta) and VERY reasonably priced. Our room was lovely, big bath, big bedroom with a very comfortable king bed, sweet balcony overlooking the Argentinian FBI building and a tiny kitchen with fridge, microwave, coffee pot, wifi, phone in room. good airconditioning. Clean as a whistle, working elevator, someone in the office all day and a security guy on at night. It was clean, comfortable, very pleasant English speaking staff and extremely affordable. We paid (off season and a long, 11 day stay) about $45 a night. It's small, maybe 30 rooms in two buildings (one of which has a private swimming pool!!), there's a little market next door, a bakery down the block, and we recommend the Café Arenales on the corner. Convenient to the river and lots of museums and restaurants, it's a jewel.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the Avenida Libertad for good light and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank judyr460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Babel Suites
Babel Suites
#278 of 442 in Buenos Aires
319 reviews
Retiro
Unique Executive Chateau
Unique Executive Chateau
#399 of 442 in Buenos Aires
629 reviews
Retiro
Suipacha Suites
Suipacha Suites
#385 of 442 in Buenos Aires
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Hotel Cuatro Reyes
Hotel Cuatro Reyes
#249 of 442 in Buenos Aires
192 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#48 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,510 reviews
Retiro
Argenta Tower Hotel and Suites
Argenta Tower Hotel and Suites
#89 of 442 in Buenos Aires
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Da Vinci Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Da Vinci Residence

Address: Libertad 1224 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $46 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Da Vinci Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leonardo da Vinci Residence is a petit hotel ideally located in the exclusive neighborhood of Recoleta, minutes away from cultural happenings, world-class shopping and historical sites. Our building, an elegant example of XIX century French architecture, is completely remodeled and has all the conditions to offer personalized attention, ideal for long term stays. It is home to, among other boutiques, the Leonardo da Vinci Art Gallery, specialized in European painting, which has been in the market for more than 20 years.Please, contact us for any further information you might need. Our operators will help you in Spanish, English, Italian, Russian and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Leonardo Da Vinci Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Da Vinci Residence Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing