We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service !”
Review of La Brigada

La Brigada
Ranked #69 of 4,793 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: San Telmo
Zurich
Level Contributor
363 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service !”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

La Brigada has been on our list for ages and we really enjoyed our dinner. The food was excellent and together with an Argentinean Malbec it was even better.

We ordered a proveletta cheese, salad and the lomo and were not disappointed. At the end of the dinner we were even allowed to see the wine cellar and were just astonished about the size and the excellent wines there.

Because it is listed in several travel guides you will find a lot of tourists here - however it is also very much appreciated by locals.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bariloche-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,033
    1,104
    377
    163
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, toughest argentinian steak you can find in town”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

On arrival we were very taken with the cost atmosphere... It was quite obviously an expensive restaurant. Our waiter was most pleasant and accommodating for the evening... The wine list was extensive, though wine is not available by the glass.

The food however was, well, disappointing. The steak (3 dishes) including the top of the line lomo, was terrible.. Despite being cooked how we asked, there was lots of gristle and sinews in each cut. We left significant bits of our servings on the plate. Tough meat top price.

If you want lots of chewing!!! Go here!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hputman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great meat but a little too touristic”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

After a long walk in San Telmo (plaza dorrego surrondings) we decided to have a late-lunch in La Brigada. For our surprise,it was full of tourists, despite the presence of some Argentinians. After 30 minutes we got a table.

I had the "bife de chorizo" and my wife the *colita de cuadril". My wife's meat was outstanding and mine was good. We also had a great red wine (la brigada offers a complete wine list).

The atmosphere is soccer-driven and full of details. It is an interesting decoration. If you are looking for a place that serves a good meat but don't mind for being in more touristic enviroment, la brigada is the right choice.

The service was efficient and the price fair even for a touristic restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mnovoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bring a full appetite”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The food here was excellent, especially the beef. Large servings, tender and done to perfection. Ordered side order of fries [one serving enough for two]. Service was top notch. Went with the waiters wine suggestion and glad we did. Popular variety of local wine in Argentina is a red wine, Malbec. We bought a bottle here in the states and liked it, but the one our waiter served us was much better. With a generous tip meal, wine, and desert the bill came to just under $100 dollars. It's not a large place, but the tables were not crowded together. Loved the sports bar motif. It was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank222r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great steak and good wine”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

If you're looking for a great steak then La Brigada serves exactly this, cooked to perfection. Tasty and succulent. If you want something served with your steak then be sure to ask what the options are when you order your steak, otherwise you will be served with a chunk of meat on your plate and nothing else.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scoobydoo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Brigada also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to La Brigada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing