We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met or Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Casa Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Calma Hotel
Ranked #4 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Casa Calma in March 2012. My good impression started even before we booked when is received immediate responses by email to all my inquiries. The staff also assisted us in booking reservations for an estancia outside of buenos aires and booking transport to that estancia and to and from the airport. The room we booked online (nonrefundable due to the better price) was listed as "standard". It had every amenity we would have wanted and more. I wonder how much better the next level of room could be. We had a spacious room (there are only 2 to a floor) and a jetted tub, separate glass enclosed shower, double vessel sinks, and separte toilet room. There was a flat screened tv will a multitude of English language channels, including many movie channels. Only thing missing was English CNN, a staple in most foreign hotels. I guess if there was one thing to change it would be that there is no view from the window. However, the hotel makes the most of the problem by screening the windows with outdoor vines. Not a bad solution. Location was fine although it is apparent that the neighborhood may not be entirely safe as the hotels keep their doors locked at all times and open them when you come to the door. You can walk from the hotel to the subway reasonably quickly (a few blocks). You can easily walk to the downtown through the pedestrian shopping street (Florida). There are restaurants within about 6 blocks, but not many. The hotel, however, has recommendations and will book for you and will call cabs, etc. All in all, it met or exceeded all the expectations that were raised by reading reviews on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtraveling_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

Spent two nights at Casa Calma Hotel following cruise. Room excellent. Loved bath with tub and separate shower. Breakfast was simple but quite satisfying. Outstanding location.
Will recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalifTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The hotel is very well located, making it easy to walk around and hit shops, restaurants, historic places, and so on. From the outside it seems pretty simple, but once inside it´s nice, calm and beautiful. There is a wall covered with plants, and also a winter garden. The breakfast room is cozy and the system very good - honest bar. Not lots of choice, but everything very fresh and tasty. Friendly staff, always being of help. Our flight was very early in the morning and the guy responsible for the night shift went out of his way to offer us some coffee before we left for the airport. That kind of small detail that makes a great place.
The room we booked was excellent. Comfy bed, lots of space, nice wood cabinets, a great jacuzzi to relax after a day walking around the city. A nespresso machine for a late coffee. The idea of being a green enviroment also makes the stay even more rewarding. Amenities were organic also.
The only minor question was that the front door is kept locked at night, and we had to wait outside the door at night on the cold wind waiting for someone to open the door.
Overall, it was a very good experience and will stay again there when returning to Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: Book a Wellness Premium Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ladybug0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

A city hotel u have dreamed about. Excellent location. Very very very friendly and helping staff who got out of his way to arrange for us different reservations some of which were complicated. Beautiful rooms. Great architecture and design indeed calming. good breakfast. Would certainly come again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Idit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Ammazing location, in the middle of everything, but the best thing to stand out about this place is its great service. people that work there are very friendly, they booked us all our restaurant reservations, they looked for shows we could go to, etc, extremely personalized service, places we wouldnt find out on our own .. Worth staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Small boutique hotel in the downtown area convienent to many attractions. Front desk staff helpful with recommendations of several delicious local restaurants (expensive as well as budget). Rooms are very comfortable. Bed, linens and pillows make for a restful night's sleep. Two rooms per floor. One with a sauna in the bathroom the other without. The room closest to the one way street (that's not really loud at all) doesn't have the sauna and is a bit less expensive. Breakfast options included an omelette, fruit, breads, cereals, coffee, tea, and juices. You could chose between room service bringing the breakfast to you (no extra charge) or eating in the breakfast room. There is an honesty bar if you care for a glass of wine or beer in the afternoon. The hotel's common area is small but efficient. The rooms are more than adequate. We had 4 large suitcases and were not cramped in the least.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed only one night, but we wish we would stay longer in this very white, green, stylish, sweet and so friendly small hotel. If you are in BA it is worth to stay here as the location is great for shopping, sights, eating,... and the staff very friendly to direct you to places of your wish. We spend an evening in Danza bar of their recommendations, super for vines and light dinner, a bit posh but very nice.
Rooms are great with jacuzzi, soft bed, large rooms with green balcony.
Breakfast is average, breakfast room is very small.

Stayed: February 2012
Thank wonder5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#5 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,880 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#7 of 443 in Buenos Aires
796 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,347 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#8 of 443 in Buenos Aires
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Calma Hotel

Address: Suipacha 1015, Buenos Aires C1008AAU, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#3 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#3 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#25 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $151 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first hotel in Argentina devoted to the culture of wellness. Well wrapped up in a magnificent vertical garden, it is hidden away from the city in its own world in an exquisite, fresh and healing atmosphere. Located in the very heart of downtown, a block away from bustling Santa Fe Avenue and two blocks away from famous San Martin Square and Florida Street, CasaCalma is an urban oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casacalma Buenos Aires
Casacalma Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing