We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms but VERY noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #55 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good rooms but VERY noisy”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel/hostel is in a good location in San Telmo. I stayed in a private double with an en suite but I think the dorms are the same, with en suites. The furnishings were basic but fine and the beds were comfy. There was air con which was great and the bathroom was clean. Wifi was only in the lobby, and the music played by staff in the lobby was so loud it was slightly annoying not to be able to use a computer in more peace! Nice little garden area and pool.

Main issue was there were also dorms on our floor and people were crashing in and out until 5.30am on all three nights we were there plus drinking in the hallway which was really echoy so we were woken up despite having earplugs. Staff were just not bothered about this.

If you're after a private room, it's great, but the prices are pretty much cheaper end hotel prices where you will probably get a better breakfast, and less noise but not get the hostel 'atmosphere' if that's what you want. Perhaps not in San Telmo but I have found it elsewhere in central BsAs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    526
    144
    34
    18
See reviews for
159
376
266
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here for a little over a week in a private double ensuite room at the back on the third floor overlooking the pool.

The room itself was basic, clean and spacious with two lockers in. It was cleaned everyday.

What is great about this place is that they also have dorm rooms as well as private rooms so you can have privacy but also enjoy the hostel vibe in the common areas.

There is a metro station nearby and is within a 15 min walking distance of the central area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDays32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed in a private room which was simple but sufficient. The staff were helpful when asked for anything (except I had a very early checkout so asked if I should reserve a taxi to the airport in advance, they said no it will be easy to get one but it wasn't and I had to wait 20min to get one to the airport so it was lucky I had allowed enough time to make my flight). 

I had a room on the 3rd floor and the wifi didn't reach the room but worked fine in the lobby. Its in a really good location near the heart of San Telmo which is a super place to be if you like laneway style bars and restaurants.  Overall it was a good place to stay without being outstanding. 

Maybe ask for a room away from the street as the traffic can get noisy. 

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed here for 4 days with a girlfriend and we shared a double room. Our flight got in during the early morning so we arrived well before the official checkin time but after a couple of hours (we went out sightseeing in the meantime) we were given one of the first rooms available. The only mishap we had was the lightbulb not working in the bathroom but it was replaced quite promptly. The room overlooked the pool and was cleaned thoroughly each day. It was spacious enough for 2 and had a very comfy bed and an airconditioning unit which we could turn on or off as needed. We were on the second floor and weren't disturbed by any noise from the lobby but beware of loud neighbours though because the walls are very thin.
Breakfast is served near the lobby and was pretty good and plentiful, with medialunas and other pastries, toast, dulce de leche, cream cheese, fruit, coffee, milk and several different kinds of tea. I had tacos one night and they were excellent too.
The pool is pretty but quite small. The lobby area has tables and chairs and free computers and could be good for chatting with the other guests. The location is in the middle of San Telmo and felt quite safe. It's only a few blocks to Plaza Dorrego, which is the main square. There's also a supermarket nearby and several kiosks and cafes. The underground/subway stop is about 10 minutes walk away. Don't miss the Sunday market in San Telmo, you can easily spend the best part of the day wandering the streets, browsing and taking photos of the beautiful old buildings.
The staff at the front desk dealt with our requests efficiently and gave us a good rate when we changed money with them upon checkout since their POS terminal wasn't working. We even reserved a car through them to take us back to EZE and got a better rate than the official taxi service out of EZE and a nice driver.
This was my 6th time in Buenos Aires, I'm in love with the city!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool aren't a very good idea in the summer because they face the sun and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This was the first stop on our trip, so we decided to go for a private room in a hostel to ease ourselves in gently. This place is more like a hotel than a hostel. The room had it’s own en-suite bathroom, and was cleaned every day. There were lots of plug sockets for charging things (useful when you have a laptop, 2 cameras and a kindle!)
Downstairs, there’s a fairly large common room with a pool table, large TV showing US cable, lots of sofas and computers which you can use for free. There’s also a bar / restaurant which was very reasonably priced (1 litre of beer for around 20 pesos / $5 – compared to 10 pesos in the supermarket, and 50 in the local bars). There’s a small swimming pool / garden which is great for lounging around, not so good for serious swimming!
Wi fi is supposed to be limited to the common areas downstairs, but we were able to get a weak signal in our room, so some rooms may fare better.
The location is pretty good. San Telmo is a destination in itself (and the Sunday street market is not to be missed). It’s also only around a 15 minute walk to the centre of town. One thing that can get confusing is that the Buenos Aires tourist map is oriented East-West instead of the regular North-South (something we figured out after rotating the map many times in the middle of the pavement!)
The only minor downside to this place is that it can be a little noisy at weekends if your room is on the same side of the hotel as the bar (though this could just be a one off - we were only there for 1 weekend)

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the same side as the bar. It can be a bit loud, and the buses start going p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed here for about 5 days on my way through Argentina. The hostel itself was very nice and extremely clean - which is the most important thing in my book. Another plus was the free wifi in the lobby and occasionally in the room (depending on where you stay). The only drawbacks seemed to be that for a hostel, the staff was not very helpful. This was my first stop in the Country and it seemed hard to get good local advice on the events and sights to see in the area. I am used to a much different experience at these types of places and was slightly disappointed. Also they play music in the lobby 24-7 and for fun crank it up extra loud during the evening hours - it started to drive me a little crazy. Still; for the price and location, probably a good bet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizardious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great location in San Telmo. Easy transport to/from. Friendly, hip reception and bar environment. Aircon! :) Noisy streets. Rooms ok, you get what you need, but nothing extra, hard beds.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andenistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Hotel Rey Buenos Aires
#184 of 447 in Buenos Aires
220 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#143 of 447 in Buenos Aires
536 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#49 of 447 in Buenos Aires
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#93 of 447 in Buenos Aires
457 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#56 of 447 in Buenos Aires
983 reviews
Recoleta
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
#75 of 447 in Buenos Aires
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circus Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circus Hostel & Hotel

Property: Circus Hostel & Hotel
Address: Chacabuco 1020 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1069AAV, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#62 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#73 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#96 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Circus Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally in San Telmo – Buenos Aires, at Circus Hostel & Hotel we combine low prices with a chill atmosphere to create a hostel with the look and feel of a boutique hotel.Our rooms were created for you to be able to rest quietly. From every room you will have an incredible view of the beautiful San Telmo neighborhood.Our breakfast includes croissants, toast, jams, squeezed orange juice, coffee and tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Circus Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hostel And Hotel
Circus Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing