We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #57 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good vibe”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed here in 2011, i had good experience here as it is a mix between hotel and hostel without the bedbugs!
Service wasnt too bad but could be better..overall if u ignore that, the downstairs common area and pool area are a great way to meet people and experience this wonderful city!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    526
    144
    34
    18
See reviews for
159
376
264
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The facilities are modern and stylish, very relaxing vibe, practical common areas such as the pool and TV area. WIFI did work while we were there but mainly around the common areas. Staff was helpful thought needs to get a bit more informed about the city and things to do.

Rooms are simple, but really clean. Bathrooms are also clean, we had our own private bathroom as I understand all rooms have.

The breakfast was more than I expected, similar to a continental breakfast.

Definitively a place to go back to.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I have stayed here a few times. The staff are great, the food is awesome, the air-conditioning is just right and the pool really helps to beat the summer heat. the living room with a nice big t.v. and internet is very comfortable and the beds are really comfy and have nice white linen. Careful though, remember it is still a hostel. You will hear some of the noise and the guests are younger and stay up later, but you can't beat it for the price. Great restaurants and pubs nearby too if you want to get out.......Hopefully they can maintain their customer service level....

Room Tip: Pay the few dollars extra for the private room if you are a couple.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canucktravelbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

As most travellers have noted, this isn't the place to stay if you want five star or even three star comforts. This is a hostel at the end of the day.

The facilities they have means they can very easily convert it to a three star hotel with not much further investment, but they prefer to run it as a hostel. As a consequence the customer service and the atmosphere can leave a bit to be desired at the time, but for the price we paid for a double room with en-suite and breakfast, we don't have any real complaints.

Plus the location is very good and quite central in San Telmo.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbest7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Noisy unclean hostel. I was overcharged by the rude reception staff and then they refused to refund the difference. When i challanged the bill (once they had billed my credit card)They claimed some other people we had been hanging out with in the hostel hadn't paid their bill and we had to pay it because we had been associating with them. A ridiculous situation, why didn't they make us pay for everyone in the entire hostel because we had been in the same city as them? Totally unacceptable in my opinion. The manager on duty fufused to engage with our compliant and ignored us. I'm sorry but it was outright theft. The Only reason we let them get away with such a rip off was because we had to make an international flight.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaituna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I went here based on reviews on Tripadvisor for reasonable price hotel in San Telmo. I was a bit disappointed I had to sit around for nearly 3 hours, till after 3 pm, to check in, but maybe this is normal? No TV or phone in the room, which was small. And noisy, yo ucan hear the next rooms quite easily. Very clean though, and the staff were friendly and helpful. I think there must be somewhere else better for USD70 (for Saturday, normally USD60), but maybe this is the best you can get in BA for that price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelvinPassfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamcar Bei
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This place is great. There is a pool, a pool table and a bar. Staff during my week-long stay was great (although those staff members were temporal). It's located in San Telmo, a place were not many other hostels are located. However, it's a great area to explore. Non touristic, many wine bars and restaurants on almost every corner. 10 min walk from Puente de la Mujer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Hotel Rey Buenos Aires
#179 of 447 in Buenos Aires
220 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#140 of 447 in Buenos Aires
532 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#50 of 447 in Buenos Aires
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#95 of 447 in Buenos Aires
457 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#55 of 447 in Buenos Aires
982 reviews
Recoleta
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
#77 of 447 in Buenos Aires
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circus Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circus Hostel & Hotel

Property: Circus Hostel & Hotel
Address: Chacabuco 1020 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1069AAV, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#62 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#73 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#96 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Circus Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally in San Telmo – Buenos Aires, at Circus Hostel & Hotel we combine low prices with a chill atmosphere to create a hostel with the look and feel of a boutique hotel.Our rooms were created for you to be able to rest quietly. From every room you will have an incredible view of the beautiful San Telmo neighborhood.Our breakfast includes croissants, toast, jams, squeezed orange juice, coffee and tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Circus Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hostel And Hotel
Circus Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing