We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel, helpful host”

B&B Tango & Bandoneon
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Tango & Bandoneon
Ranked #49 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
oxford
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely hostel, helpful host”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is a converted town house in heart of Buenos Aires, within easy walking distance of many of the sights, and near some good cheap(ish) restaurants. All the rooms (we stayed in 2 different rooms) have been tastefully decorated, with little design touches which make it feel more like a B&B than a hostel. The bed was really comfortable, the room was spacious, and it was cleaned every day. As the rooms open onto the courtyard, it can be noisy when they are setting up breakfast, but as breakfast isn't served until 9am that's not really a problem! The breakfast was good, but heavy on the bread!
Natalia is really helpful as everyone says. She is always there at breakfast to see how she can help and give advice on how to get to anywhere you want in BA. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it as a place to stay in BA. The only thing that can be a pain is that you need to ring the bell to get in and ask for someone to let you out all the time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    23
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
39
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

First, let's make it clear that what TripAdvisor lists as B&B's in Argentina, are primarily guest houses or hostels, depending where you come from I guess. My family stayed in a four person en suite room on the first floor, adjacent to the dining/common area. The room and guest house were very clean. Natalia greeted us upon our arrival and pointed out where everything in the neighborhood and city was. She was also wonderfully gracious to allow us to store a suitcase with her while we travelled about the country for over a week.
While the weather was hot (February), we had evidently just missed some awful days and were able to sleep at night. As other reviewers pointed out, that may have not been easy if the temperatures were much higher. As I indicated, our room opened onto the dining area, and the thin glass doors did little to stop the noise of set-up for the breakfast crowd, or of the guests eating, so sleeping in was/is not an option unless you where ear plugs, which I opted for after the first night. While smoking is not permitted in the guest bedrooms, it is permitted in the common areas, and I could notice some incursion into our room. This is not atypical based on my limited experiences in other guest houses within Argentina.
Breakfast was typical Argentine - rolls and coffee, and was fine. The location was okay, but there are limited restaurants in the area, and we tried most of them. Of what is available, the only one I would highly recommend is Lo Rafael.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Good: Incredible staff (especially Natalia...there to make sure you're stay is superb!). Loads of character in this place. Showers hot, kitchen stocked enough (oven, stove, microwave, and fridge....minimal pots/pans, but never had an issue getting what I needed) and wifi always strong.

In areas of improvement: Only three small issues. The first is that there is no keys to the location, and in order to leave you must find a worker to let you out and to enter you must press the bell and wait for somebody to let you in. Not an issue, but I always felt guilty bothering somebody when I wanted to leave (especially early in the morning) or when I came in late. Secondly, there is no A/C...I was in a 4 person dorm, and it was so hot I wasn't able to sleep (here in February so in the summer). There is a ceiling fan, but the room is so big the fan has no impact (no windows in the room). The last is the bathrooms for the dorm requires you to walk through an outside courtyard, which most days is no issue...but when it is pouring down rain you can't go to the bathroom or use the kitchen without getting soaked =(

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed in the shared dorm in this hostel from the 2nd to the 7th February. The hostel is kept very clean and the rooms and bathrooms are cleaned each day. The hostel is nice and relaxed and not noisy at all. Wi-fi access in all the rooms and shared computers to use as well.

What makes the hostel is the owner Natalia though, as soon as i arrived she supplied me with a map, pointing out the local attractions and where to go. She was always willing to answer questions and give tips on good places to go.

A great hostel at a bargain price!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights over New Year, 4 nights in an en-suite room and 2 nights in a shared bathroom room on the very top floor.
The hostess makes this hostel for me, she is so lovely and genuine and eager to help with anything.
The en-suite room was comfortable and we slept well, the only issue was that it was a little stuffy as there was no outside window, so we generally left the door open when we were in the room.
The shared bathroom room was half the price of the en-suite room and very comfortable as well, we liked this room as it opened up onto the roof and so we had a good view and a nice breeze.
Breakfast filled us (bread based) up and was better than other breakfasts we have experienced in Argentina.
The hostel is secure as the staff let us in and out with their key.
A great lace to stay in BA.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missserenarec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We spent great few days in this b&b. The hosts nathalia and gustavo are very nice and helpful and provide you with map and things to see in BA.
The rooms are clean, some of them a little dark which is great to sleep in the morning though. The door bell is heard throughout the hotel and as everybody has to ring to come inside, you hear it quite often.

Breakfast is typical argentinian style with sweet medialuna croissants, bread, butter and peach jam.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunfun555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

First impressions were how clean this place was. Second how lovely and helpful Natalia is.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back. Whilst it is not right in the centre it is only a 10 min walk to the metro and if your up for it a stroll done to the port.
Great place.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thumben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Hotel Metropolitano Supara
Hotel Metropolitano Supara
#16 of 256 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Montserrat
Las Cepas Hotel de Cata y Relax
Las Cepas Hotel de Cata y Relax
#174 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#59 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Palermo
Palermitano Hotel
Palermitano Hotel
#102 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Recoleta
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
#74 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tango & Bandoneon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tango & Bandoneon

Property: B&B Tango & Bandoneon
Address: San Jose 574, Barrio San Telmo,, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango & Bandoneon is a quiet, relaxing and friendly place where you can meet people from all around the world and even more important for us it’s a place where you will really feel at home. It’s family run in order to make your stay in Buenos Aires a very special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Tango & Bandoneon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing