We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of serious privacy issues!”
Review of Palermitano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palermitano Hotel
Ranked #112 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I'll have to agree with the previous reviews in that the staff was very nice, the location is good and the rooms are very beautiful and clean. HOWEVER there's something that none of the reviews before mention: the hotel would be perfect but for the fact that at least half the rooms on each floor either face the bar downstairs or they face each other and the common area corridor. All the rooms have a glass wall so if you don't want your room to be on full display to the people in the opposite room (or the guests at the bar) you have to draw the blackout blinds and turn on the light even during daytime. Not to mention that the first room we were given was facing the bar area, which allowed us not only to have a direct view to the people enjoying a drink downstairs but also to hear all the noise. When we called the front desk to complain, we were told not to worry, that the bar closes at 3 o'clock in the morning.....

So unless you ensure prior to arrival that you will be given one of the rooms facing the street, I would strongly recommend you don't stay at the Palermitano!

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPAnizza, Gerente at Palermitano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment and taking the time to review the hotel. However it came to my attention that yu say that there is a privacy isssue at the hotel that I disagree.
It is true that half of the rooms are facing the grden of the hotel and that there is a floor to celing windows . But all rooms have ligth brown thick blinds that when closed, noone can see throu. Not even when the ligths are on inside the rooms. Therefore,the only way for someone elses to be able to see in the room is if the guest leaves everything open! ( and we cannot do nothign about it if everything is open!!!
If you close the blinds, noone will see thru, and you will still have natural ligth coming to the windows.
There is no need to be on the dark, using the black out, because as I mentioned beofre, the ligth brown blinds that the rooms have will not permit anyone to see thru.

I hope I explain the situation well, and to see you soon.
Best
Luciano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

Palermitano was a great hotel to stay in during our visit to BA! The Palermo area is the perfect place to stay in, walking distance to anything you need. The staff was incredibly friendly and overly helpful whenever we needed any advice on where to go or what to do. We loved to sit at the bar and talk with the very sweet woman who was bartending every day during our stay. The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable…however, my only complaint is that it can get loud if you are above the restaurant (which we were). Thankfully, I bring ear plugs on every vacation so this was not an issue for us. I recommend this to everyone on every vacation! The restaurant itself had some of the best sushi we have had. We had a fantastic time and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: If possible, request a room far from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melttu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Great location. Beautiful architecture. Bar staff need a bit of 'urgency training'. Other than that largely faultless.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BatterseaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We traveled cross 4 countries on our recent trip and the Palermitano Hotel was 1,000% our favorite. What resonates the most was the thoughtful, creative, fun, and fabulous service. They left notes and chocolates in our room several times, and even brought us champagne on Christmas. They recommended a fabulous market, Defensa Street, where we bought a gorgeous piece of art, would not have happened without them. To add to this fabulous experience, they are located one block from the fun center of Palmero Soho where all the great restaurants, nightlife, and day markets burst with people and fun. If you want to guarantee an awesome trip, book with the Palermitano! Worth every dollar!!

Room Tip: We chose to have an enormous room with massive windows which let in loads of sunlight all day, altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chalene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

like other travelers in this forum i experienced the reservation manipulation game played by these jerks. it basically goes like this: prepay for a room (in my case using hotels.com) and they will play you like a cold card in a poker game. as soon as they have a customer paying more they will outright "lose" your reservation or downgrade you telling you that all of the rooms in your class are experiencing a "problem with the pipes". if you don't like it they have other hotels they can suggest.

the rooms themselves offer are equally kafkaesue experience, windows face opposite rooms, separated only by a 10 meter courtyard. no doubt palermo is a hipster spot not known for its warmth yet i've stayed at other hotels in the area and experienced terrific hospitality; there really is no reason to stay here.

Room Tip: don't prepay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fredbuddemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPAnizza, Gerente at Palermitano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear Guest,
We are extremely sorry about your experience, however, we are a little confused since you treat the staff as dishonest and disrespecful but at the time you are the one that treat the staff as "jerks"!
Also you treat us as dishonest syaing that we decided not to have at the hotel, beacuse there was another guest that paid more money? I would like know how you came to that conclusion. It is really hard what you say with no arguments!

We did have in fact problems with the pipe, and we also looked to give the guest an upgrasde but we had all the Suite Rooms booked, that is why the only option we had was to give the guest a Standard Room.
We are known to give free upgrades and free late check out, this time we really couldnt do it.

Again we are very sorry that you had a bad experience with us, but again we think that your comments have no argument and it disrespectulf to treats us as Jerks and Dishonets when there is no argument

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I came to Buenos Aires for the second time with two of my best girlfriends. The location is prime - walking distance to restaurants like La Cabrera, and in the middle of the shopping, drinking and dining hub of Palermo (which, in my opinion, is the only place to stay if you're in Buenos Aires). I'm sure there are other boutique hotels that will offer excellent experiences, but what made Palermitano an excellent experience was the staff, who were always extremely helpful and spoke excellent English. We were on a first-name basis with them and they were very eager to assist us in giving recommendations, tips, tricks, and strategies.

Free Wi-Fi was a major plus. Sometimes it went in and out, but can't complain too much because it's free.

Rooms were large - we were 3 girls staying in a 2-person room and there was more than enough space to maneuver without us crawling all over each other.

The rooftop pool is smallish, but quite cute and very refreshing at the end of the day.

The beds are soft, and while there is no bathtub the shower is a "rainforest" type, and the toiletries are all very high end. The only annoyance was that the bathroom door was a bit hard to close sometimes, but that's a very small glitch in what's otherwise a stellar hotel.

I'd much rather stay in a boutique hotel with personality located smack-dab in the middle of Palermo than some soulless chain in the Centro/Obelisk area.

Oh, and Norman at the bar makes excellent Pisco sours. The bar/restaurant is under separate management from the hotel (and sometimes the restaurant service suffers but that's a complaint for the restaurant, not the hotel). We had one bad experience with service when we had dinner at Sipan, the restaurant, but whenever we got drinks at the bar, or ceviche at the bar, the bartenders were always friendly and the service was prompt. Just avoid Sipan on a busy night, or be very patient.

Room Tip: A room by the courtyard and not on the street will be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexisl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Great location, friendly staff, good food, high quality fittings and furnishings in the bed room and bathroom. However the bathrooms are rather small

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#5 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,886 reviews
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#119 of 443 in Buenos Aires
894 reviews
Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
#25 of 443 in Buenos Aires
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
#80 of 443 in Buenos Aires
685 reviews
Recoleta
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
San Nicolas
474 BUENOS AIRES HOTEL
474 BUENOS AIRES HOTEL
#51 of 443 in Buenos Aires
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palermitano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palermitano Hotel

Address: Uriarte 1648, Buenos Aires C1414DAR, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $96 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palermitano Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel designed by David Collins with a unique concept in design. Located in Palermo Soho, four blocks from Plaza Serrano and eigth block from the metro.The hotel features 16 stylish and unique guestrooms: 2 Suites, 6 Superior rooms and 8 Standard rooms. Private balcony in 4 rooms. Pool on the 4th floor, Free WI FI, LDC, minibar, safe, Air / Heating Conditioner, smoke detector, Carrara Marble and organic amenities in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Palermitano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing