We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location right in the middle of the BA action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires
Ranked #96 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Very good location right in the middle of the BA action”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

No frills place but all you need accommodation of well above average standards. Location very close to the main shopping area Av. Florida and Metro station Plaza Martin. Room was a bit small for our two extremely large trunks but the bed accommodated excellent sleeping. We did get a quiet room on the 6th floor well far from the disco event on the roof! The best part was the staff at reception: they connect well with the type of traveller they are dealing with and give excellent advice - also beyond the main touristic attractions (let them tell you about the book store in an old theater!!). Breakfast was less great both in terms of variety on offer as well as on quality of service staff. Food was good. We also enjoyed last drink occasions after dinner at the bar downstairs where we enjoyed good recommendations on wine and attentive service.
I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraperowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    329
    94
    23
    11
See reviews for
76
305
50
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Pulitzer Buenos Aires. This hotel is relatively new having only been open for just under a year.

The location is excellent, one block from Florida Avenue which sadly is a strip of tacky shops, the exception being the lovely Galeria Pacifica which is a good point to convert currency. That said it is very central and there are plenty of dining choices in this area. A block in the other direction is Plaza San Martin which has a metro station.

The decor of the hotel is really its draw card. Very stylish, funky and minimalist. The rooms are airy and light except for the bathrooms which are covered in black tiles which look great the lighting needs to be stronger. Whilst on the bathrooms. The shower is in the bath and the glass screen is not wide enough to stop water from splashing onto the floor. An obvious design fault. We stayed on level 3 and the windows are sound proofed so that you hear little traffic noise.

A recommendation would be to offer a choice of english speaking TV channels. There are roughly 70 channels and these were mostly spanish, even CNN was the spanish version. Could they not offer the english one too?

The breakfast room is located in the basement and is very pleasantly decorated with a good selection of food.

On the first floor is the lovely bar where you can also get snacks and on level 13 is the Sky Bar which was just great on a warm night. The hotel also has a pool and a deck with sun lounges.

I consider this hotel to be good value for money. We paid USD150.00 plus tax, including breakfast. This rate was offered on the hotels web site.

Lastly I must comment on the staff. They were all lovely and spoke good english. I do not understand how a previous post says otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

It is a nicely decorated novelty hotel. Our room is furnished precisely with all necessities and appropriate lightings. Breakfast room is good. The front desk is very pleasant, all speak excellent English and helpful in all information requests. Superb location for major attractions in thisbig city. One would feel safe to walk in the neighborhood at night, with a little of alertness tho. They have a small sun deck and a swimming pool. Good value for the money. Plenty of choices of bars and restaurants and 20-minute walk to Puerto Madero where one will find nice restaurants at the waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watsui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Couldn't even tell you the last time I felt the need to write a negative review, but I certainly do in this case. After missed flights & a last minute change of plans, we needed a hotel in BA to arrive late & leave early the next morning for new flights. It was a 5 year anniversary that night & I picked Pulitzer so we could enjoy a nice dinner at the hotel on the roof & not have to go anywhere late at night. We arrived and the roof lounge was closed for a private party. No big deal, until the decide to put us on the 12th floor- right under the all night party. It was so loud, music blaring well after midnight & then re-arranging/closing the party afterwards kept us from getting any sleep. We should have immediately asked to switch rooms, but we were so exhausted and shell-shocked from 2 brutal days of travel disaster.

For over $300USD per night, the rooms were small, no wash clothes & most importantly- NO SLEEP! We should have left and gone to the Sheraton or Hilton hotel. The people who checked us in and out spoke very little English and didn't even do well with our Spanish. I can appreciate the charm & decor of the place, but none of that matters if you can't even sleep in the room.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 12th floor since it is near the rooftop lounge and very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoegirlTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed at the Pulitzer of 4 days after a cruise and was very pleased. The hotel has an Art Deco feel, my room was large, clean and very comfortable. I enjoyed the rooftop bar for evening cocktails and snacks and the indoor lounge for lunch. The pool was clean and the lounges comfortable. The staff was helpful and the breakfast items varied and although the hot items could have been hotter, everything I tried was tasty. I really appreciated the high speed internet and there was a reading area with books and magazines.

The location in the Retiro area and close to the the Plaza Libertad and Florida Street, the pedestrian shopping street. It was an easy walk or taxi ride to all the areas I wanted to visit, La Boca, San Telmo, Recoleta, Puerto Madero and Centro.

My only less than perfect experience was at the front desk where one of the many people who were very attentive seemed to feel the computer was more important than the guest and kept me waiting minutes while he completed his data. He was also the only person I encountered that did not smile......ever. Ah well, maybe he was having a bad week or just didn't like women of a certain age.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onthegogirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
164 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Really nice city hotel. Comfortable beds, friendly staff. Nothing above expectations (let alone fantastic rose at the bar), but absolutely nothing below. 100% choice for business hotel in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Hotel Pulitzer is a relatively new kid on the block on the Baires hotel scene, located downtown and conveniently minutes to everything. We stayed overnight on a weekend in January 2012 and my boyfriend popped the question to me there, so I will always have fond memories of the place!

What I liked most about the hotel is the decor. For those for whom such things are important, the hotel is a great choice in the city. It's got a very aesthetically-pleasing artistic sensibility, and you can tell some careful considerations were made as to the type of furniture (mod art deco) to outfit public spaces as well private rooms.

There's a nice open-air pool, too, note huge but enjoyable enough, especially as the hotel wasn't so busy when we were there and we had the pool completely to ourselves one afternoon.

Another good thing about the hotel - the service. Not a country known for providing good service in general (Argentinians have a thing or twenty to learn about good ole' customer service from Americans!) but we found the service to be impressive here (given that we have lived in Baires for the last 6 months, you can trust me when I say that the service is here is better than average). The check-in reception staffers were swift and friendly, the staff regularly said hello when passing in the hallways, and front desk was always on hand to answer the phone whenever we called downstairs with questions.

The only bad thing about the hotel was a pervading smell of sewage that - thankfully - did not affect the guestrooms, just the lobby area. The corridor carpet on the top floor (by the Skybar) also needs to be changed, you can tell that that bar has a very busy Thursday night (as one worker told us), from the look of the carpet...the bar looked very nice though, with a decent skyline view that were it not for the rain we would definitely have enjoyed more of.

We liked the hotel so much that I think we will be back one of the coming Thursdays to check out their DJ-hosted after-work crowd party at the Skybar!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary_So_Contrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
#74 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,257 reviews
Retiro
Dazzler Maipu
Dazzler Maipu
#92 of 447 in Buenos Aires
839 reviews
Retiro
Aspen Towers Hotel
Aspen Towers Hotel
#80 of 447 in Buenos Aires
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Collection Buenos Aires Lancaster
Retiro
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Str...
#121 of 447 in Buenos Aires
604 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
#45 of 447 in Buenos Aires
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires

Property: Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires
Address: C/ Maipu, 907 | (Esquina Paraguay), Buenos Aires C1006ACM, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing