We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, depressing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel & Suites
Ranked #343 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great service, depressing hotel”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

The extremely friendly staff and central location could not redeem this hotel. Hallways smell like smoke, rooms are musty, and and the wallpaper hasn't been replaced since 1981.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank platy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    70
    78
    24
    20
See reviews for
75
75
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2010

The room is terrible, dirty, a lot of mosquitos, noisy air conditioner.
Location also is not good, very noisy.
I was very disapointed. Its not a 4 stars. Should be 0 stars

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juditeUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

San Fernando Valley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

This hotel was booked by a family member and we decided to go with it based on the reviews. I don't know how people could give this place good reviews. the pictures make it look descent but it isn't. The rooms are spacious but the cleanliness is questionable. Everything is really worn. the bathroom has an open drain that smelled horrific randomly throughout the day and night. I couldn't wait to get out of there. I am not picky when it comes to a hotel, the only thing I ask for is cleanliness but with the unbearable smell and run down conditions of the room I couldn't stand it. I will never stay there again nor recommend it to anyone. Keep looking there has to be something better. The only thing that was good was the location and the staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellover015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed at the Art Deco at the beginning of January, and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. We'd read the reviews mentioning the street noise, so we requested a room on the "quiet" side of the hotel, and this was accomodated. Our view was only of a rooftop, but we had no problems sleeping at night. The property had everything we wanted, including wi-fi in the room. This is an older hotel, in need of some freshening up, but it's comfortable and very clean. There was plenty of water pressure in the bathroom, and very good housekeeping service. The front desk staff were always helpful in their recommendations and advice, and made our stay very pleasant. The breakfast is very good, with a variety of breads and rolls, ham, cheese, yogurt, cereal, juice, fresh fruits and fruit salad and, naturally, hot milk and excellent coffee. Everything you need to get you out the door in the morning.

The location of the hotel is one of its best features. It's just a half block off of Corrientes, a major thoroughfare that leads directly to the Obelisk, about a block away. Two metro stations are nearby, Uruguay and Tribunales (different lines). We were close by to either where we wanted to go or to transportation to where we wanted to go.

It's off-topic as far as the hotel review is concerned, but two recommendations:

First, seek out Line "A" of the Metro system, and ride the wooden cars (they're only on Line A). They're like rolling museum pieces, and have beautiful and immaculate interiors. They've been in use since 1913, and are quite spectacular.

Second, avoid at all costs (about 50 pesos), the yellow, double-decker city tour buses. There were many complaints about the English commentary not functioning, and this was the case for us. The staff appeared fully aware of this, but seemed not to care. They also exercise a rather strange adherence to schedules, denying boarding until the time indicated on your ticket, not matter how empty the bus leaves. You can visit most of the places the tour bus goes by taking city bus #29 on Corrientes, and for only just over 1 peso per trip/boarding. Just make sure you have coins because the machines won't take bills (though they do make change).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talquinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We had a room at the back of the hotel so although we had only a view of the neighbours roof we didn't get alot of street noise. Comfortable, big room. Large bathroom which was great. Really good pressure in the shower!! Great location. We walked to the Obelisk (a block or so away). Across the Av 9 de Julio and a few blocks across is 2 large pedestrian shopping arcades. These were great. Staff were friendly. We didn't find the breakfast that great but were only there for one breakfast so I don't know if it changed at all. Would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel de la Paix
Gran Hotel de la Paix
#388 of 447 in Buenos Aires
310 reviews
San Nicolas
Reconquista Plaza
Reconquista Plaza
#266 of 447 in Buenos Aires
339 reviews
Retiro
Hotel Sheltown
Hotel Sheltown
#268 of 447 in Buenos Aires
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Broadway Hotel & Suites
Broadway Hotel & Suites
#85 of 447 in Buenos Aires
994 reviews
San Nicolas
America Plaza Hotel
America Plaza Hotel
#276 of 447 in Buenos Aires
242 reviews
San Nicolas
Duomi Plaza Hotel
Duomi Plaza Hotel
#167 of 447 in Buenos Aires
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel & Suites

Property: Art Deco Hotel & Suites
Address: Calle Libertad 446 | Caba, Buenos Aires C1012AAJ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Deco Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Buenos Aires City, Art Deco Hotel & Suites is within walking distance of Corrientes, the famous avenue known as the street that “never sleeps”, Where you could meet the wonderful night life with book shops, tango dancing, fashionable restaurants with famous Argentinean beef, antique shops, as well as jewelers, great theatres, such as, Colon Theatre (one of the largest and most important Opera Houses in the world), and just around the corner the Obelisco, the symbol of Buenos Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Art Deco Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Hotel And Suites
Art Deco Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing