We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #81 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My Spanish was horrible at best. Almost all the staff spoke excellent English and very very helpful. The room I had was large and comfortable. The hotel, as most everyone else has mentioned, has a very interesting variety of styles that it somehow manages to fuse together very well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Kevin! Many thanks for your comment, we are really proud of our staff!!! And we hope you can visit us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for Savoy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at Savoy for 3 nights in March. Booked "Delux" room with 1 bed. I've got a room overlooking Domingo Peron av.

Why mix of styles?
Lobby, lounge and corridors and stares are Art deco - very nicely restored.
Rooms, breakfast area, dancing lounge - are modern, clean, simple lines design (with a Danish contemp flavor).

What I liked about the room and hotel in general:
- good size room (#313 in my case);
- hardwood floor (I do not like wall-to-wall never clean carpets in the rooms);
- high ceiling;
- totally sound proof windows, which you can OPEN if you want;
- very quiet air conditioner/heater system;
- usable size safe;
- well designed wardrobe;
- good quality towels and linens;
- mattress was on the the firmer side (I personally prefer it softer);
- housekeeping was all right
- lounge at the bar area is a very convenient to meet clients or hang out with friends;
- breakfast buffet was excellent - I did appreciate one morning the presence of local Cava(bubbly white wine) as part of the breakfast buffet;
- wi-fi was OK - not always up at night;
- I need to give a credit to front desk personnel - VERY helpful. Good job guys!
- location is very good - central, no problem to get taxi, walking distance to many attractions and milongas (if you up to tango dancing)

What could use some improvement:
- wi-fi - should be always up;
- there was a leak on the ceiling in my bathroom - did not bother me at all, but it should not be there;
- marble floor in the shower area of the bathroom is very slippery - some sort of rubber mat would be useful; I just put a towel on the floor while in the shower;
- NO HOT WATER late at night!!! Come on! Yes, not that many people want to take shower at 4 am, but hot water should be there if I want to do so.

In a short - enjoyed staying at Savoy and would definitely come back if travel to BsAs.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a window overlooking the street - do not worry about the noise, windows are so...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vesnaileto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dears, you have made a perfect summary of all the Hotel details! Because of your words, we can see that you really feel involved in the Savoy Hotel history. And we are very proud you could feel the Savoy essence.
We thank you to help us to improve our services with your comment, and We will be glad to receive you again in your next time in Buenos Aires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is well located near to different main streets and close by many attractions within walking distance. The mixt between old building and contemporary decoration works very well. The bar is great. Breakfast is very nice with quite a lot of choice. THe room was quite big and the bed confortable. Attentive service makes this hotel a nice choice in Buenos Aires for reasonnable price

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank X-O75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Many thanks for your comments! Best service and excellent prices are our promise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here as a couple in March 2012 for 6 nights and had an pleasant experience. The pro's: modern rooms, clean, beautiful bar area, extensive buffet selection. Con's: we were first given a 'twin' room which was very small - the receptionist stated we could 'upgrade' to a better class of room but it would be chargeable. We were then moved on the 2nd night to a slightly bigger room, but only after insisting. Overall, good place to base yourself as you can walk to a the majority of the city with 30mins in any direction. The hotel is on a busy, main road on Avenedia de Callo - which has plenty of shops and places to eat/drink. Be a little cautious at night, as there are a number of homeless people towards the Plaza de Congresso - which is a 3/4m walk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank watford-soros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thanks for your warm words! We hope to meet you again in your next stay in Buenos Aires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights and it is a really lovely building which has been renovated in recent years. At some time in the past it has probably been one of BAs top hotels. The interiors are very stylish, having been retained and restored from the original. The location is central being only a short distance from Plaza del Congresso and pretty busy, next time I would probably choose somewhere more laid back like San Telmo.

The rooms are modern and ours was quite large but a turimph of style over function. To demonstrate this, the TV sat behind a dark glass panel on the wall, which looked great, the down side being that when we put the TV on we were barely able to see it through the said black glass panel! There were a few other such examples of this poor design. Another critcism was that the room we stayed in only had a small window and looked into a gloomy light well. However, it was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable.

Breakfast was quite good with a wide selection of choices in a pleasant restaurant area and there was a small very basic gym, but no pool.

Service was a bit rough around the edges, which was contrary to our first impression of the grand surroundings.

There is free wi-fi as well which you obtain through a password from reception.

Overall a decent place to stay, but doesn't quiet live up to expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wapping1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dears, we really appreciate your review because it helps us to improve our service. We always want to offer the best to our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Beautiful hotel, historic, romantic feel. Lovely lobby and bar area, staircase, foyers - loved the red chandelier in the lobby.

Comfortable rooms, if a bit small, with modern conveniences. Large closet, safe, mini bar, flat screen TV, work desk. Small window facing in, but that meant the room was very quiet. I'd guess rooms facing the street are loud.

Bathroom was nice, modern - big tub, great showerhead, bidet, hairdryer. My only complaint about the bathroom was the glass door. Who puts a glass door on the bathroom? Even if it's frosted, that's just weird. Plus, there was a gap between the door and the door-frame, so you could see in. Bathrooms are supposed to be private, period!

Lobby bar was lovely, wine tasty. Complimentary breakfast buffet served in restaurant on main floor, very big variety of hot and cold items, even champagne and mimosas, and cute little cups of cold gazpacho soup. Very sufficient.

Hotel staff was amazing, very helpful with all sorts of requests like tourist info, booking taxis and tango shows, and extra towels/pillows. Staff spoke good English, which was nice considering English isn't widely spoken in Buenos Aires.

Hotel is located in 'business' like area of the city -- not the best area, but not the worst. It's 2 blocks from the Congreso subte (subway) station, but we didn't take subway much since the lines only run east/west, which was inconvenient. We often took cabs, which were easy to get in front of the hotel.

Other than the glass bathroom door, my only other complaint about this hotel was the internet access. There is a complimentary business center on the 2nd floor that guests can use, with 3-4 reliable internet computers. However, if you want to use the hotel's WiFi on your own device, the internet service is much less reliable. I'm not sure if it's because of the construction of the hotel, or because the routers weren't strong enough or positioned correctly, but we could not often get/keep a connection with our laptop and iPads. If we sat in the lobby, we could get a connection, but not if we were in our room - which was very inconvenient. We often had to go sit in the foyer on the landing of our floor just to get and keep a connection. We brought this to the attention of the staff, and they didn't seem to think there was anything that could be done about it.

All in all, this was a lovely hotel and I'd stay there again. The value for price paid was excellent and overall the good aspects outweighed the very few bad aspects.

Room Tip: Rooms facing in are quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BethanieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel in November 2011. Based on the reviews here i took a chance and tried it and booked a suite. Now one would expect that when you book a suite that you cannot go wrong as usually this type of room always has the best kind of accomodation. Well, all i can say it is not true at this hotel. While the room itself was not so bad, this room had absolutely no view. And i mean zero. Two small little windows near the floor that could only being opened a little bit and the big windows were completely opaque.

I complained at the reception but all they could say was sorry, the hotel is completely booked and we have no other room available. Now i am sure they have better suites than the one i got, looking at the photos. It still makes me wonder how they could ever advertise a room like this as a "suite". It ruined my four day stay and felt like a total rip off, for the amount of money i payed for this dark hole.

The hotel certainly has its charms, especially when having a drink at the bar. But that was about it for me, i would never ever come back here again. So if you are considering booking a suite at this hotel, you better think twice or call the hotel in advance to make sure you will get what you pay for and what it shows on the pictures. If not, just donot take the gamble and just donot do it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pancallisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyHotel_10, E-Commerce at Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dears, we apologise because of the inconveniences during your stay. Those days we had a big group in house and was really difficult to change rooms. It was an exception because we always want to give our guests the best.
We would be very glad if you give us a new opportunity in your next stay in Buenos Aires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#52 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,029 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#47 of 443 in Buenos Aires
767 reviews
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#64 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
#44 of 443 in Buenos Aires
903 reviews
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#57 of 443 in Buenos Aires
915 reviews
Montserrat
NH Buenos Aires City
NH Buenos Aires City
#78 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Avenida Callao 181, Buenos Aires C1022AAB, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#57 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#70 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#72 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $86 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L u x u r y a n d a v a n t - g a r d eSavoy Hotel Buenos Aires is one of the landmark hotels of the city of Buenos Aires. Its facade and palace style of stunning neobaroque architecture, is the work of italian architect G. Agostini and shows, like very few buildings do, the hopes and aspirations of of a comfortable and refined lifestyle that reigned at the beginning of the XX th century.It opened its doors in 1910, soon becoming the first luxury hotel built in Downtown Buenos Aires.Maintaining its style and sophistication, currently offers redecorated rooms of absolute modernity and comfort.Personalized attention, gastronomical delights, stories portraits , technological details in all its facilities, art and avant-garde inspiration define the Savoy Hotel Buenos Aires for its excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing