We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro but with style.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alvear Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Seems to make an jump in the past. Elegance with style, superb service, quality. The opposite of the modern american hotel chains. Try the experience of 1 night stay. Hotel area has also many shops if you have no problem to spend money....

Stayed: October 2017
Thank WorldSten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nsalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Alvear Palace Hotel.

We are very grateful for your opinion. Thank you again for sharing your opinion, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Warm regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

I went to this hotel thinking it was old and not so good. I really changed my mind. Simply fantastic. I had an upgrading to a suite because we wanted separeted beds, fantastic food and a very good spa and fitness center. Fantastic breakfast and amazing people that work there!! Really highly recomemded

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Italianosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nsalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Italianosp:


Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Alvear Palace Hotel. We are very grateful that you has filled out our survey which I have personally read.

We are convinced that our guests´ satisfaction is our most important value; we continuously strive to make their stay at The Alvear Palace Hotel an unforgettable Experience.

The Alvear Palace Hotel feels very grateful for your opinion and our staff is looking forward to welcome you once more as our guest many other times in the future.

Sincerely,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very classic and elegant. It is by no means modern. The staff is very friendly, professional and well trained. My room was very large with a desk alcove very large bathroom but consistent with the decor and style of the hotel. If you are looking to step back in time to a more grand period of hotelier history you will like the hotel. I was a bit frustrated with the lack of universal power outlets and the shower head that didn’t work. The breakfast is excellent.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Global-EXEC-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nsalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Global-Exec-Travel,

Thank you for taking time out to share your Alvear Palace Hotel experience and review.

We are delighted that you had pleasant stay.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

If you want to go chick on your trip to Buenos Aires don't miss one night in alvear!!! We stayed in alvear on our way back from Ushuaia and before going back home! Strongly recommend! Old fashion design with lots of history! Spacious rooms with good service in every aspect! Breakfast not to be missed in lovely winter garden l orangine!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nsalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Susana M,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Alvear Palace Hotel.

We are very grateful for your opinion and our staff is looking forward to welcome you once more as our guest many other times in the future.

Warm regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This is a very fine hotel. First rate service. Lovely dining at La Bourgogne. Top quality. We were treated so well. The Concierge was wonderful getting reservations. You can't do better in BA. Try the little attached patisserie affiliated with the Chef from La Bourgogne. Fabulous pastries.

Room Tip: The higher levels have views of the Rio de la Plata and Recoleta. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DonCornutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nsalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear DonCornutt,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Alvear Palace Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

This is a classic luxury hotel with a grand lobby and all the amenities. The service from the door men, bell men, front desk staff, concierge, waiters and waitresses, were all first class without being pretentious. Our room was beautiful with a spectacularly comfortable bed, big shower, and a deep whirlpool tub with a TV at one end!! The A/C worked great. We had the hotel do some laundry for us and even that came back packaged like beautiful holiday presents. Would definitely choose this hotel for a future return trip.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nsalvagno, Assiatnt to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Larry S,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Alvear Palace Hotel.

We are convinced that our guests´ satisfaction is our most important value; we continuously strive to make their stay at The Alvear Palace Hotel an unforgettable Experience.

The Alvear Palace Hotel feels very grateful for your opinion and our staff is looking forward to welcome you once more as our guest many other times in the future.

Sincerely,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

If there are really eight better hotels in Buenos Aire than this one (it is currently number 9 on Trip Advisor) the Argentinians are fortunate. Others have touched on the quality of the accommodation (which is superb) and the ability of the Alvear Palace to marry the traditional with the modern. I have rarely felt so comfortable. Okay, it is at a price, but sometimes the price is well worth paying and for anyone looking for a special hotel, perhaps for a special occasion, I wouldn't look much further.

What I would like to highlight particularly however is the quality of the staff and the extraordinarily high level of service offered. We faced a number of problems during our trip, including an assault and robbery whilst in the city; the hotel were not responsible for these problems but dealt with them calmly, helpfully, and positively. Equally, a late cancellation of our onwards flight was met by a willingness to be flexible. We were simply given the room for the rest of the day, without charge. I was astonished by how far the desk were prepared to go to help us.

The hotel is not perfect; I could be a little critical of some of the food; I am not sure the legendary brunch is as good as it once was (we have two previous experience to go on) and breakfasts, whilst lavish, seemed hit and miss in terms of service: getting a coffee proved impossible one day and staff attitudes to us varied.

The roof bar is a good addition but noisy, especially when a large group is there, and the choice of music was pretty awful to my ears. But on the right evening, with a bottle of good fizz, it worked. In any case, these are niggles, because overall I have only positive memories of a great room and great people who care for their guests.

A marvellous hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MontrachetJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nsalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear MontrachetJ,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Alvear Palace Hotel. We are very grateful that you has filled out our survey which I have personally read.

We are convinced that our guests´ satisfaction is our most important goal; we continuously strive to make their stay at The Alvear Palace Hotel an unforgettable Experience.

We are taking note of your observations and we regret about Food and Beverage service.

The Alvear Palace Hotel feels very grateful for your opinion and our staff is looking forward to welcome you once more as our guest many other times in the future.

Sincerely,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#6 of 444 in Buenos Aires
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,702 reviews
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#23 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,214 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#47 of 444 in Buenos Aires
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvear Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Palace Hotel

Address: 1891 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $457 - $952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvear Palace Hotel is situated in the most elegant neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta. It is an area of extensive parks, wide avenues, and luxurious architecture in a classical style, where the best restaurants, cafes, antique shops and boutiques of Buenos Aires, are to be found. Some of the main museums and cultural centres are close by, and the financial area is only five minutes away.A symbol of elegance is bornOriginally built as a luxury hotel to accommodate the increasing amount of European visitors arriving in Buenos Aires at the time, the Alvear Palace was transformed in 1932 into a model of the highest expression of refinement. The majestic rooms and suites, as well as the lobby and public areas, are reminiscent of the Louis XV and Louis XVI styles, which are evident in the furniture, the crystal chandeliers, walls decorated with gold leaf and works of art of famous artists.The eleven-floor luxurious building with five basement levels stands as an undisputed symbol of the city, on the corner of Alvear Avenue and Ayacucho Street.The second foundationContinuous work and dedication, guided by the maximum standards of international excellence, led to the designation of the Alvear Palace Hotel as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World in 1993, an organization that recognizes the best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alvear Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvear Palace Buenos Aires
Hotel Alvear Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing