We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointing for a Sheraton” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #123 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a Sheraton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed at the Sheraton for two nights.

Rooms are fine, beds are comfortable and the location is very central. Some of the staff are quite friendly. And for me, thats where the pros ended.

The hotel seems to have the ethos of squeezing every extra dollar out of you they possibly can. What really annoys me is when so called Superior rated hotels charge enough for the room rates and then want to charge you on top of that to use the in-house gym. And it was in the region of US$15 per visit. What a joke. Likewise the 'buffet breakfast'. To me a buffet breakfast is generally a flat rate for whatever is on offer. Not at the Sheraton. Certain items, like omlettes from the omlette station and other certain dishes from the buffet were subject to extra payment. Also no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.

I would definitely not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bebej1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    716
    358
    116
    58
See reviews for
249
403
89
766
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
839 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Rate is at about a 3 1/2.
Located in the San Martin section; close to the ferry buildings.
Great location
Friendly reception, but uncoordinated between staff; had to wait an hour for our room to be ready
Friendly staff, except for bell captain who was flip
Very nice gym with 5 treadmills, 5 elliptical, free weights & great gym staff
Have nice Express Café

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
188 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I've just spent a few days at Sheraton Buenos Aires for a business trip and the standard of this hotel is largely under the expectations you can have from a Sheraton.
Usually Sheraton and Starwood provides a quite high standard of comfort and service but let's say this property doesn't deserve a Starwood label.

If the location is quite good, next to the elegant district of La Recoleta and at a few steps from the commercial street of Florida, there is absolutely no complain about it but apart of the location, nothing has been good during the stay.

The lobby is just OK and it looks like an hotel of the 80'. There is a computer corner right in the middle which is not very elegant and a total refurnishment would be a good idea.
But actually it's better than the rooms. You'll realize quickly when you'll arrive in the corridors the choice of staying in this property is not a good idea. Carpets are dirty, bad smell and very old doors... This is just what you'll have in the rooms cause to be honnest, i've been shocked when i get into my room. If the size was OK, all the other things were not good and first of all a terrible soundproofing. You'll have the impression to be outside and since the room was overlooking a railway and a kind of little harbour, be sure it was very annoying. Moreover, the sound from inside was very annoying as well and when i'm arrived in the morning after a long flight, i wanted to rest but impossible due to some construction somewhere in the hotel...
If we talk about the design if this word can be applicable for this hotel, we can say the room decor was ugly, no style at all and old pieces of furniture... Moreover, all the paintings need to be fully refreshed and i don't talk about the carpets (please don't forget sleepers cause the hotel doesn't even provide this amenity and you'll seriously need it...). Same feeling of a old hotel in the bathroom with very aged bathtub, sink and tap... Everything has to be changed if this Sheraton still want to be an attractive hotel...
At night, i've a funny story cause when i've tried to close the curtain, something was no working properly and consequently i've seen all the curtain falling down. I've been obliged to step on a chair to try to fix it... Terrible.

Regarding the staff, if they're quite nice principally for room service cause at the reception, they're not so courteous, in general they're very slow and it can take more than 40 minutes for a breakfast delivery... Too long when you're in an hurry. Moreover, i needed a UK adaptor and i've been forced to call 4 times to hear finally they didn't provide any UK adaptor and the only way was to go to buy one. In the meantime, my computer was low battery and it has been very annoying when it turned off and especially because i was working on it. Why they didn't say at first they didn't have instead of leaving me waiting for about one hour... Very bad level of service.

Regarding the food, i've tried just the breakfast which was really average and badly presented. Just the palmito was yummy but don't expect a great culinary moment to start your day...

To conclude, i just recommend everyone who want to have a great place to stay in Buenos Aires to avoid this aged property. There are much better choice like Sofitel; Intercontinental or Park Hyatt i took time to visit for any upcoming stay in the Argentian capital...

Room Tip: maybe try the Club rooms cause the classic rooms are really not good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonbuenosaires, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Guest,
We have read your comment and we would like to thank you for taking tinme in letting us know about your experience during your stay with us. Your feedback is a very constructive support to us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

We apologize for the inconvenniences and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

The Hotel Managemet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on Jan 23 and 24, 2012.

Good:
- The lobby is nice
- The staff are friendly

Not so good:
- The rooms are old and need updating
- The location is not great compared to other hotels
- There are very limited options for eating at the hotel

For a business trip this hotel was okay but if I was going to Buenos Aires on vacation, I would definitely pick a better option.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queens93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonbuenosaires, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your comment; it is our objective to work on them in order to continue improving our services.

Cordially,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed the 3 nights late Nov 2011. Hotel is typical Sheraton, good, v clean.Nice size rooms. very good prompt service in perfect location for vacationers as well as business people. Has a nice outdoor pool, which is v nice after the whole day of sightseeing.Good for swimming, not v relaxing due to noise from nearby intersection. Good gym.
We liked the location very much.
2 metro stations few minutes from the hotel, main railway station across the park, nice views all directions. Walking distance to most places one wants to see (Obelisko, Recoleta, Casa Rosada Florida street with all that fantastic shopping,, Plaza St Martin, ect.... Puerto Madero is 10+ min walk with hundreds of fantastic restaurants, but there are many restaurants on nearby streets as well. Pier for Ferries to Uruguay is nearby also. Walking felt very safe any direction from the hotel

Money exchange in the lobby gives very good rates. Not worth to try another places. Front desk efficient though at times waiting time could be long. Wi Fi , rather expensive what is surprising when almost every cafe in BA has it free.
Taxi taken from hotel to the airport ok and within the price.
Taxes are not expensive in BA.

Breakfast had a good selection of foods and plenty of space for everyone.
Good place and we would return

Room Tip: Higher rooms have fantastic relaxing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginaggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonbuenosaires, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to know you enjoy your stay with ud. We want to thank you very for sharing your experience. We hope to see you in the near future.

Regards,

The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

A well run well located hotel. We stayed there twice. Our room was standard Sheraton quality. The bathrooms are coming due for an overhaul - we did not have running cold water from our sink in 1 room. We stayed on the 12th floor the first visit and the 7th the second time. Much quieter higher up as road noise dissipates.

Checked out the pool and gym and looked very nice. Did not use the pool though as it is located on about the second level, almost on the corner of a busy intersection - just did not seem either relaxing, or good for fitness (we didnt want to inhale the pollution!)

Did not eat there, preferring to explore BA. You are within a really short walk of the Florida Street shopping area where there are restaurants galore.

Concierge desk was not too helpful, giving us confusing and incorrect information. (asked how to catch the city bus tour... they should have known that). Hotel ATM was out of money, but there are ATMS just across the street that work well and have clear instructions.

We took 2 taxis from the hotel, one was terrific, quick and reasonable. The second was nearly twice the price for the same trip, under less traffic, kind of crooked with the meter off type. We would have appreciated the hotel being more selective on managing the taxi stand.

There is free internet in the lobby and expensive wifi in the rooms.

We also stayed at the Libertador and would have to say it was quite abit more updated in its rooms. We preferred the Libertador.

Room Tip: A higher floor helps with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonbuenosaires, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are happy to know you spent a great time in Buenos Aires. Your feedback is very important for us because it is our main objetive is to acomplish and exceed the expectations of our clients.

Looking forrward to host you soon,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Sheraton's are generally a good bet for big hotel ambiance, good rooms, and snappy service, but this one is in Argentina, and still delivers for experienced travelers. Having stayed there on the club level several times now, the maid knows me and calls me by name. She remembers the things I like, and after she sees me, she orders the room to my tastes. The breakfasts are as good as any anywhere. It is a great start to one's day, and a good place for quiet breakfast meetings, as well. The Concierge is good, too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonbuenosaires, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this feedback and also for your preference to our brand. We are really happy to know that you felt as at home, all our staff work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you again for your comments.
Regards,

The hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#136 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#36 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Retiro
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
#99 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#63 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#40 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Calle San Martin 1225 1275, Buenos Aires C1104AKC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#63 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#71 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#94 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#96 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel And Convention Center
Buenos Aires Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing