We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great location, good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Buenos Aires
Ranked #64 of 452 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

Worth the money. Recomend it fully.
Very large rooms

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank luizclaudiotp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    773
    196
    41
    8
See reviews for
288
730
85
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had 3 nights in this fairly basic 4 star hotel in a well situated area. We had the unfortunate luck to be at the hotel on Friday 16th and Saturday 17th March when the narrow street was used for St Patrick's day celebrations until 6am the next morning on each occasion. We were warned about the celebrations upon our arrival and asked for a back room which wasn't forthcoming. There are Irish Pubs and Bars in that area so you can imagine what the noise was like. Obviously, we slept badly. I would suggest that it would probably be noisy on normal Friday and Saturday nights as well but maybe not as bad. Service in the restaurant was adequate but no great shakes. Breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Try to get a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

A few days ago I stayed in the Melia in Reconquista for the second time (first time was in August 2008). It is a very nice hotel with great service. Reconquista is now a pedestrian walk way, with bars and restaurants along it.

The decor is a bit dated, but kept very clean. Their service is impeccable.

Their gym/spa is quite nice, too.

The only inconvenience I had in this trip was that they were overbooked and I was given a smoking room -- I spent a horrible night, but was able to change room the next day.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify your smoking preference. One of the floors (#7) is for smoking rooms and it ree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perieka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our second stay at the Melia although the two stays were several years apart. We returned because we had previously enjoyed the hotel itself and the location. It did not disappoint. The street in which the hotel is located has now been made a pedestrian area with many bars and restaurants and it is just round the corner from El Establo our favorite restaurant in BA. The hotel's rooms are spacious and pleasantly furnished, the staff always obliging, and the buffet breakfasts more than adequate. We'll definitely use the Melia again should we return to BA in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roddygateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a typical four-star hotel just like many others in the administrative city center of Buenos Aires. It's all ok and pretty standard, but there is nothing outstanding at all. My room was spacious, but clearly a bit tired, just like the bathroom. One of the elevators was next to my room and could be heard throughout the night. The breakfast was average, but the coffee served was pretty horrible. All OK, but I paid almost 300 USD for my room/night. Clearly overpriced for a hotel that doesn't deserve the luxury status it proudly claims for itself.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunichMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice for business. My company has an office about 5 blocks away from this hotel, and although there are many other hotels closer to our office, I'm glad that my company has selected this hotel as the main hotel for us to stay at when we visit this office. The hotel is in a great location, just a couple of blocks from Florida street, and close to many good restaurants. It's also just a short walk to Puerto Madero, which has many good restaurants, although they are a little pricier. Puerto Madero is also a great place to walk around, to go for a run - I ran many times on this trip, almost exclusively around Puerto Madero.

The hotel has great service - they really make you feel like they care about you as a guest. The buffet breakfast that is included in the rate is very good. The doormen open the door for you every time you leave or return. I think I may have touched the main front door handle about 3 times during a two week stay. The Azorin restaurant is good - great service, good food, and a nice selection of wine to choose from.

The rooms are very clean and well kept, with comfortable beds, a desk, chair, flat screen TV, and there's a minibar as well. There's a well equipped fitness center with a pool and jacuzzi. The pool is small - not well suited for a swim workout, but nice for a relaxing swim.

Overall, I've been very happy with both stays. If I try really hard, about the only thing I could complain about is pretty petty - the housekeeping staff almost always removed the comforter from my bed and stuck it behind the chair. I like heavier covers when I sleep, so I always put it back. Towards the end of my stay though they stopped removing it, which was nice. And shows how they try to adjust things to keep you happy.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 9th floor have balconies - very nice. I just happened to get one on the 9th floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougb628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I spent 2 nights there. It is a really nice hotel. The room was very clean& modern and the bathroom was really large. WLAN is not free, you pay around 55pesos (EUR 9.50) for 1 day.The staff was pretty helpful and friendly, I was even able to check-in earlier. The breakfast was good, fresh fruits and croissants. Good location. You have many shops and bars in walking distance. I can really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
#41 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Retiro
NH Collection Buenos Aires Lancaster
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#136 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Melia Recoleta Plaza
#40 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Retiro
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
#100 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
#46 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenos Aires

Property: Melia Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Buenos Aires
#22 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#27 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#38 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#49 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#66 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few blocks from Puerto Madero and the Colon Theater, in downtown, Melia Buenos Aires is the best choice to stay in Argentina's capital city, thanks to its prime location in the heart of the city, its luxurious and comfortable facilities, quality of services and an exquisite personalized service. Among its services and facilities, Melia Buenos Aires offers 209 comfortable and spacious rooms; different dining spaces: Restaurant Azorin, Gongora Lobby Bar, Machado Cafe, La Terraza. Internet access (Wi-Fi) high speed (*); Free Business Center with 3 computers, printer and fax; Spa with heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, full gym, massages and beauty treatments; parking and a modern Congresses and Conventions Center 9 meeting rooms, 7 with natural light and capacity up to 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Melia Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing