We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic rooms with excellent service and old school charme” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lion d'Or
Ranked #288 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Basic rooms with excellent service and old school charme”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

positive:
the friendly and helpful staff, the architecure (this place used to be an old embassy and contains most of the old features), location is very close to Recoleta Cementary, 10 min walk from Avenida Santa Fee with shopping and Subte station and 3 min walk from Avenida Las Heras with loads of bus lines. There are also a lot of nice cafes and restaurants in the area.
negative:
the bathrooms I had were small and akwardly shaped. the place is generally clean in the important areas like toilet, bedsheets etc but it could do with some dusting and painting.

overall it was a nice stay, especially due to the helpful and profesional staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kate76404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    49
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
35
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

After 36hrs of flying arriving at the Hotel Lion d'or was a relief. The place is so retro that it is über cool, from the 1920's lift to the antiquated room keys, this place ozes charm. Recoleta is a quieter part of town but still handy to everything. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning quiet. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freoboyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I decided to go to Argentina for the Holidays. We wanted to be in the "center" of Buenos Aires in a small hotel, where we would be treated by our 'given name' and not be just a 'number'.
We found this and so much more in this hotel! The owner is always there and you can talk to him directly! The personnel is fantastic! The rooms were spacios and some of them with a balcony! I could not have been happier! The price is excellent considering where it's located!
I would not hesitate to go back every time we visit the country!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

You are paying here for a hotel in a great location. The rooms are morelike private hostel rooms, but the beds are comforatable and there are safes in each room. My room also had air con.

The price is great value for BA. It is an hotel, but has the feel of a hostel - with the exception of the staff being quite reserved and respectul unlike your normal jovial hostel staff.

I liked the place and I liked the location even more. Suited to budget travellers only. Cosy couples might want something a bit more lush - but as I only sleep in my hotels, it did not matter to me.

Room Tip: I´d ask for an interior room with air con if possible as BA does get quite hot at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funkey_monkey_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here one night as a cheap centrally located option. and it was just that. Great location to walk wherever you wanted in Recoleta- and great to be amongst the apartment style living of the people in Recoleta.
There is some nice cafes close by for breakfast and like I said, walking distance to the cemetary, santa fe shopping street and other things. Taxis are always around to take you where you want to go.
It was clean and very basic.
Tiny bathroom but functioned well and it was a double bed, not a queen that was firm but we slept really well. It was nice and warm for winter and was very cheap for a one night stay.
The staff were quiet and extremely helpful, allowing us to leave our suit cases in their store room all day and into the evening after we had checked out.
We would come back if we wanted another cheap one night stay in Capital.
Was like a old quaint hostel of double rooms, not a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel on two separate nights in March. The first night we had a large room with A/C for 290AR and the other night we had a basic room for 220AR. The larger room had a queen bed and a twin bed.

We really enjoyed the location of this hotel. Just a few blocks away from the Recoleta Cemetery. It's a safe neighborhood but was made even more secure with a locked door where you were buzzed in by staff on 24/7 at the front desk.There are safe deposit boxes in every room.

They let us store our bags for free and hang out in the lobby waiting for our remise the last day. What I sincerely appreciate and take great notice of is their customer service. The first day I had left my sunglasses in the lobby by accident. When we called they not only had them but they held them for me for two weeks until we came back. When we walked through the door they handed them too me as we arrived. I'm very impressed!

The rooms are definitely basic but clean and if you're looking for a great location, a safe place to eat and shower before you go out and enjoy the city again then I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

One of the best experiences through the world.

Location is the heart of Recoleta, one of the quietest areas in BsAs. Major attractions are within walking distance. Hotel itself is small mansion in Art Deco style (mixed with Neoclassic and Art Noveau features), very convenient, clean, and comfortable to stay in. For people, who likes sunbathing, there is the terrace on the roof.

My room was very spacious with original walls, marble fireplace, and unique parquette. There are some minor dated downmarks, and the walls can be less sound-transmitting, but at the same time it creates special atmosphere of old-fashioned approach to luxury from the beginning of 20th century.

Breakfast is not included in price, and is being served at the cafe just 1 block away - quite nice place to have decent meal before walking through amazing city.

On of the most positive things is the service, which I appreciate a lot. Accurate, respectable, tactful - just amazing. Special thanks to Gabriel, whose English was very helpful.

I highly recommend this place for people, who is looking for true Recoleta experience during their stay in BsAs. Bravo!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikhail_Pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Ayacucho Palace Hotel
Ayacucho Palace Hotel
#300 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Recoleta
A Hotel  Art Gallery
A Hotel Art Gallery
#148 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Recoleta
Art Suites
Art Suites
#130 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Hotel Omega
Hotel Omega
#309 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Recoleta
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#319 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Recoleta
Babel Recoleta
Babel Recoleta
#239 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lion d'Or

Property: Hotel Lion d'Or
Address: Calle Pacheco de Melo 2019 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1126AAE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Lion d'Or 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have over 10 years of experience in the sector, the Hotel Lion d'Or is a stylish, comfortable, with a familiar and highly personalized attention, making our hotel your best hosting experience. Our hotel features: 30 Rooms with and without balconies, central heating, air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, Wi-Fi, digital safes, vending drinks and snacks, terrace, lift, breakfast optional, Assistance 24 hour care, tours, shows, car rental service, personalized attention to address everything our guests need. It is located in Recoleta, one of the most distinguished of Buenos Aires, surrounded by shopping centers such as Buenos Aires Desing, Patio Bullrich, restaurants, parks, museums: National Museum of Fine Arts, the Centro Cultural Recoleta, Malba, Palais de Glace, churches like the Basilica of Our Lady of Pilar, Recoleta Cemetery, the National Library, 1 block from the Recoleta Mall and attractive night where tranquility and security ensure a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lion d Or
Lion d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing