We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise - very helpful staff, central location, and great room”

Hotel Goya Buenos Aires
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Goya Buenos Aires
Ranked #372 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise - very helpful staff, central location, and great room”
Reviewed 10 March 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel at the very last minute, quite literally - from the city airport in BA! There were very few inexpensive options as we returned to BA at the height of Carnavale. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel some 30 minutes after making the booking. The hotel is very centrally located, just a few blocks from Florida and Lavalle Streets and other touristy areas. Excellent security too. Our room was available immediately, and Carlos, who manned the reception when we arrived, was truly exceptional - gave us a map, showed us some places where we might want to go, and was ready to answer all our questions including where to see a tango show and even helped us translate a menu flyer we got from a restaurant! The hotel layout was admittedly a bit awkward with a requirement to take two different elevators to get to our room, but we weren't bothered. I think our rooms were "superior class" - truly excellent------very new, very modern, super swank bathroom. However, no mini bar or fridge to keep our drinks cool! Also, no wi-fi access from our room (though available on the 1st floor of the hotel). Also, the breakfast was not really our thing----lots of cakes and pastries when we were hoping for bacon and eggs! All that said, we enjoyed our experience at this hotel, although a little more expensive than we had hoped to pay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SonjaAndRoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    16
    28
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
22
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We had 4 nights here in a superior room at the rear of the hotel so there was very little traffic noise. The room was spacious with wardrobe, bedside cabinets, lamps, TV, 2 chairs and a table. New tiled ensuite with bath and shower over, a plug! plus wash line. Security access, breakfast on the top floor with seating area outside. Internet on first floor, 2 machines but found them slow, small seating area close by. Staff spoke some English and were friendly enough. Good location close to shops and eating places.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_and_Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Goya for 2 nights. The staff was OK but the breakfast all what you get is cake, a big selection but I like beacon and eggs not sticky cakes. The rooms are not very clean and very noisy. On our way back we stayed at a much better place.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dick40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Staff were friendly enough and helpfull but the room was a hole.
Booked a superior room for the last 2 nights of our holiday.
Carpet was stained and sticky with ciggerete burns as were the bed sheets. The walls were also long over due a coat of paint. The net curtains were black and blocked any light from the small window which looked like it haddn't been cleaned for some time, only a concrete wall to be seen through it any way. The room had air conditioning but all this seemed to do was make noise and circulate the bad smells in the room. The bathroom looked like it had been recently renovated and was OK.

Breakfast was a large buffet of mostly cakes and pastries, great if you have a sweet tooth but no alternative if you don't.

Seems to be pot luck with the rooms as the hotel website photos and those submitted by other reviewers look OK. There was some evidence of ongoing renovations.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank monty024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2008

If you can overlook the stains in the carpet and the smallness of the rooms, this hotel is an excellent bargain!

The standouts of this hotel are: very friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast, and great central location.

Staff is attentive and friendly. On multiple occasions we left our bags with them for the day before catching our evening bus ride or flight out of the city.

Breakfast here is a real treat given the wide assortment of traditional Argentine pastries!

This hotel is within walking distance of everything because it is right in the middle of the city...its close to the Subway, shopping and restaurants and all the key monuments and attractions Buenos Aires has to offer. It is also within 20 minutes walking of the main bus station which makes it easy for those traveling with backpacks.

  • Liked — location, food, service
  • Disliked — a little dingy
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank empanadita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2007

We needed a clean, centrally placed, relatively inexpensive place to stay for the last week of our two month travels in South America and this small, family run hotel met our requirements very well. Quite a bit of renovation work being carried out while we were there but it wasn't intrusive. We took the Presidential room at 180 pesos a night and thought it fair value. A bit tired looking but the linen was clean and the bathroom was adequate. Nice breakfast with a roof terrace to one side and helpful reception staff both contributed to making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

I stayed here upon my arrival in BA in early November and again at my departure in early December. My first stay was in a classic room for about 128 pesos for a single and my second stay in a superior single for about 160 pesos. I'd recommend spending the extra 30 pesos for the superior room with its upgraded bathroom and slightly larger room.

The rooms were ok but don't underestimate the hotel's great location - it's only about 5 blocks from the Galerias Pacifico and the Florida peatonal. I think this hotel is still recommended in LP and Moon.

By the way, there is an excellent tenedor libre called the Victoria just up the street heading north toward Cordoba. It is very popular with the locals with an all you can eat buffet for 13 pesos and drink minimum of 3 pesos. It's a combination Argentinian and Chinese cuisine!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — access to breakfast facility on 5th floor
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 505badgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#173 of 447 in Buenos Aires
339 reviews
San Nicolas
Viasui Hotel
Viasui Hotel
#237 of 447 in Buenos Aires
216 reviews
San Nicolas
Grand King Hotel
Grand King Hotel
#219 of 447 in Buenos Aires
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Art Deco Hotel & Suites
Art Deco Hotel & Suites
#343 of 447 in Buenos Aires
223 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Boutique Reino Del Plata
Hotel Boutique Reino Del Plata
#131 of 447 in Buenos Aires
736 reviews
San Nicolas
Tanguero Boutique Hotel
Tanguero Boutique Hotel
#137 of 447 in Buenos Aires
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goya Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goya Buenos Aires

Property: Hotel Goya Buenos Aires
Address: Suipacha, 748, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goya Buenos Aires 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Goya Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing