We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely tango guesthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caseron Porteno B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caseron Porteno B&B
Ranked #42 of 273 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely tango guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Amazingly warm atmosphere because of the great people and beautiful courtyard. It is perfect if you want to relax and try out dancing tango. During the day it is wonderfully quiet in the courtyard, enough shade so great for reading. In the evening there are group tango lessons from different teachers. Also we can recommend taking private lessons; in 1 private lessons you learn as much as in 10 group lessons! The location is great; very easy to go anywhere you want. This guesthouse is perfect for whatever kind of holiday you want; active and/or relaxed. It is also very easy to get to know the other guests; the tango group lessons give the opportunity to meet everyone and in our case the guests were just as fun and charming as the Portenos (locals) we met! This guesthouse made our holiday most of all about meeting lots of special people and making real connections to them! We stayed in a room facing the street and had no problems, in fact we never slept so good as during this holiday! However, if you are a light sleeper you can better get a room facing the courtyard because the street can be busy and it is thin-walled. For us however, the old building with its imperfections only added to the charm and character of the place.

Room Tip: Take a room that doesn't face the street if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    65
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
78
50
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This guesthouse is excellent in Buenos Aires if you want to experience some Tango in a very easy way, as they offer free tango lessons for the guests every day, and you can try different teachers almost every day. That is really fun! Location is good-ish close to a main street where buses to Boca stop and also the metro Olleros that can take you to any atraction. It is located in Palermo, but in a quiet residential part, to go to the trendy area you have to walk 10min. cross a dodgy looking bridge and you are there. The breakfast is basic, but ok, the staff is nice (only Flor the receptionist, I guess she should try to get a better fitting job for herself) but she tried... The house is a very nice old house. The rooms have high ceilings, the plumb system as already mentioned cannot handle toilette paper, but that is no worries. The external and internal toilettes are ok. For us it was the best option to try out the tango and live the Buenos Aires flair. We were very happy to stay there for 10 nights

Room Tip: The street rooms are noisy, it is better to get the ones at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gawci, Propietario at Caseron Porteno B&B, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thanks for your useful comments.
We always pay attention to our guests feedback and try to take actions according to them.
We just wanted to mentioned that we also realized that Florencia was not proper for the receptionist job and she has already been replaced.
We hope that next time you come you'll find the person who's now in this position more appropiate for the job.
Kindest regards,
Cinthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This B&B has an undeniable charm - cute wall hangings, beautiful indoor courtyard, nice breakfast in a sun-lit room, clean rooms, etc. Maria, who runs the place, is very warm and friendly.
Certain aspects are less charming - an "ancient" plumbing system which can not handle paper, bucket under a leaker radiator, very loud noises throughout the morning (our room did not face the street; I imagine that ones that do are even worse), and spotty internet access.
That said, I would recommend staying there, especially to people who want to learn tango. Every evening, a different local teacher gives a free beginner lesson in a studio at the back of the courtyard. Taking a free lesson for a few days is a great way to be expose to different teachers and then pick one for the private lessons. They also provide a lot of useful information on the local tango scene.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VStraneChudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Super, fantastic, so kind and helpful and patient owner/hosts that will guide and direct you to what ever level you want, just ask, even loaning money for the subway when the banks are closed. Location blocks away from subway and city bus. Guests are friendly and gather for conversations at breakfast and in the courtyard or not, the choice is yours.

Breakfast consists of fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee or tea, pastry, toast with ham and yogurt. Rooms are clean, comfortable, tv, frig, AC if you choose, shower. Large courtyard area to enjoy, BBq available as well as access to the kitchen after breakfast throughout the day and evening, you can cook your own meals,

Enjoy the free tango lessons even if you don´t think that is something you are interested in learning, it is well worth planning your day to be part of that experience.

When they offer to arrange your transportation from the airport, accept their help. They will also advise you on ways to ensure your items, money and self are safe, do follow their advice.

Guests included singles, couples, families
Owner, or manager or resident person always available
Hotel front is locked to ensure only guests are on the property

Free wifi and use of the computer CD players around, Tango CD available, be sure to ask

Some rooms have private verandas
Large sitting room indoors to gather in as well as court yard

Sleep quality was excellent for us and if you bring a sleep mask and ear plugs, it will be for you in any room, since rooms to the front may have street noise or you may hear closing doors as other guests arrive home from late night milongas or guests waking up early who did not go to the milonga

Room Tip: Room 10 = terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mealborozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

What a delightful place! After a month travelling around Argentina, staying in smaller towns and cities, we were a bit apprehensive about staying in a huge city for the last five nights of our trip. Caseron Porteno, however, was by some distance the best place we stayed in Argentina, and among the best places we have stayed anywhere. A beautiful and spotlessly clean house, quiet and peaceful yet situated in a nice part of Palermo only two blocks from all facilities and an underground station. Free tango classes for guests, and friendly staff who made us feel at home and gave us all the tourist information we asked for (Gracias Daniel, Cinthia y sobretodo Maria). We cannot recommend Caseron Porteno highly enough - we had a wonderful time there. If we ever go back to Buenos Aires (and we hope to!), we will DEFINITELY go back to the wonderful Caseron Porteno.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be a little noisy in the morning due to rush hour traffic, so for comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

I spent nearly a month at Caseron Porteno, it was such a delightful experience. Thank you so much Daniel and Cinthia. You are such charming hosts, the service was impeccable. And although I have not been to Tango Lodge yet, I am certain that your exquisite experience and know-how will make this new place as wonderful as the Caseron! And just to show that I brushed up a bit on my spanish while there......
Su hotel es muy lindo y comodo, y me senti como a mi casa todo el tiempo. Me disfrute mucho las clases de Tango, con sus excelentes profesores. Yo deseo seguir a apprender a bailarlo en San Francisco, y ojala regresar regularemente a Buenos Aires para mejorar mi tecnica. Por supuesto, cuando regresare, me quedare al Caseron!

Much love!
Philippe.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

This BnB is excellently located to explore the Palermo area by foot and very close to the subway which will take you to all the big sights.
Being a tango novice meant it was really fun to have a free lesson on offer.
Clean and quiet rooms in this bustling capital city, a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ll248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Dazzler Polo
Dazzler Polo
#21 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Palermo
248 Finisterra
248 Finisterra
#191 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#6 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Atempo Design Hotel
Atempo Design Hotel
#111 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Palermo
CasaSur Palermo Hotel
CasaSur Palermo Hotel
#66 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caseron Porteno B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caseron Porteno B&B

Property: Caseron Porteno B&B
Address: Calle Ciudad de La Paz 344, Buenos Aires C1426AGF, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caseron Porteno B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caseron Porteno, Tango Guest House in Buenos Aires. An oasis in the city of tango, Caseron Porteno offers daily tango lessons, warm hospitality and charming accommodations in a tranquil garden setting. With only 10 rooms (all of them with private bathroom), this B&B located in Palermo neighborhood offers breakfast, free internet access, maid service and tango lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Caseron Porteno B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing