We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caseron Porteno B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caseron Porteno B&B
Ranked #43 of 273 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I visited Caseron Porteno for the first two nights of our 16 trip to Argentina and were very pleased with our experience. Our flight to the country was delayed and the kind manager, Cinthia, was more than helpful in making the transition much easier.
We enjoyed our breakfast and were happy with the accommodations - especially considering the affordable price. They stored our luggage for us after we checked out in order for us to explore the city. I am a very cautious person, however, I fully trusted the staff to guard my belongings. They seem to be good and honest people.
We will recommend this B&B to other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlovies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    65
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
78
50
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shady Cove, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The view of the garden from the hotel's entrance was misleading as it is just a reflection from a
wall-sized mirror in the "tango" room. Tango lesson guests from other hotels smoked profusely
in the garden. We could hear every little sound from the room next door. Our bottom sheet on the bed was twin bed sized and did not cover the mattress. Our small ration of breakfast was doled out by a maid who measured our orange juice and allowed us only 3/4 of a glass. The only helpful employee was fired during our three night stay. We tried to take a tango lesson, but
were ignored by the disdainful teacher. We were glad to leave this disappointing hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gawci, Owner at Caseron Porteno B&B, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Our hotel's land measures 60 meters long (which is a big land for Buenos Aires city) and mirror is not there for any "misleading" purposes but just for the dance lessons, that are in the studio at the back of the garden.

Even when our house in no-smoking and we're very strict with this rule, we think that not allowing smokers to join the tango lessons would be discriminatory.

This is a B&B and not a 4 stars hotel, so of course it has normal inconveniences of being an old house, and teh charm realted to this condition as well. Normally all our guests deeply enjoy the particularities of our antique house, huge garden and tango lessons (as other reviews show), so we're really sorry if this wasn't your case.

Yours sincerely,
Cinthia and Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We selected this B&B based on Trip Advisor reviews. We found the B&B' to be adequate, however, it was quite noisy. The rooms have little to no insulation and one can hear conversations in the room next door, in the courtyard, in the kitchen, and the cars and trucks going by. The location was adequate as it was walking distance to the subway but there wasn't much in terms of shops, restaurants etc. It is not in an upscale area. The tango classes were a plus, however, they should divide the guests into two groups - those who have never tried tango and those that have some experience.

We found the owners and staff to be helpful however, they seemed stressed and over worked. We were surpised that they didn't know answers to basic questions such as were the crafts markets going to be open on December 31 or January 1 or January 2? What about museum hours over the holiday period? Were retail stores open? How much a taxi should cost to the cruise terminal? Where was the cruise terminal? Where could we see a tango show for a reasonable cost - they only recommended one show that was $150 per person. We later met other people that attended $35 tango shows that lasted 2 hours!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gawci, Propietario at Caseron Porteno B&B, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear guest,
We´re trully sorry if you were dissapointed by our guest house and service, when almost all our guests leave our house totally happy and return often.
Unfortunately you arrive to our house in the worst moment of our lives, when Maria (our beloved housekeeper who worked with us for the past 9 years and was in charge of the hotel), had an emergency, was in hopsital for one month (from decemer 28th till February 2nd) and passwed away. Maybe this was the reason why we seemed to be stressed and couldn´t pay enough attention to your needs, when we always devotely help our guests and all previous comments at TripAdvisor show this.
Once again, I´m sorry and hope you can come to our house someday in the future and let us compensate with a better stay.
Best regards,
Cinthia and Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Casero Porteno is a perfect stop for tangeros visiting BA. It is located in a middle class residential neighborhood convenient to a subway line and major bus lines, Palermo, and numerous tango venues. It has its own private dance room, and free tango classes each evening given by teachers from various dance halls. Good breakfast daily, friendly and helpful staff and owners, communal kitchen for cooking and private refrig in room, local supermarket, close to some nice non-tourist restaurants. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: we like the ground floor rooms near the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Only had a short impression of the place but found it nice, with friendly staff.
Lovely tango studio in the back (though hot in the summer..), place more suitable for a bit longer stays in my opinion (since than you can only benefit from the tango studio). Location bit too far out for me.

Good breakfast and great that you can take it up to noon so you dont have to get up early after a late night out!

Room Tip: For light sleepers try to get a room not facing the street as these get a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malaikaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Excellent friendly place.Very clean rooms.Fine breakfast.Kitchen for self-cooking available allé ra/ Big coto market 3 min Walk',many busses 2min,subway 3min ' so very good quieter. location 3subte get you to palermo parks (8min) more(25min) to noisy crowded doxntown.Tango llessons 90min everynight for free in a convenient large room, excellent teachers. Take definitely private ones for quick progress, as I did is mosts days during my 11days there .Friendly owner Daniel and assistant Florencia. I will definitely go back there for mu next trip. Best milonguas Maldita Milonga,Salon Canning friday,La Viruta,Gricel monday,and toi see best tngo dancers/ont touristic nino bien. And el beso
Gaetan Nadeau Canada

Room Tip: Rooms on thé street will be sonnier but nosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaetan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Amazingly warm atmosphere because of the great people and beautiful courtyard. It is perfect if you want to relax and try out dancing tango. During the day it is wonderfully quiet in the courtyard, enough shade so great for reading. In the evening there are group tango lessons from different teachers. Also we can recommend taking private lessons; in 1 private lessons you learn as much as in 10 group lessons! The location is great; very easy to go anywhere you want. This guesthouse is perfect for whatever kind of holiday you want; active and/or relaxed. It is also very easy to get to know the other guests; the tango group lessons give the opportunity to meet everyone and in our case the guests were just as fun and charming as the Portenos (locals) we met! This guesthouse made our holiday most of all about meeting lots of special people and making real connections to them! We stayed in a room facing the street and had no problems, in fact we never slept so good as during this holiday! However, if you are a light sleeper you can better get a room facing the courtyard because the street can be busy and it is thin-walled. For us however, the old building with its imperfections only added to the charm and character of the place.

Room Tip: Take a room that doesn't face the street if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
248 Finisterra
248 Finisterra
#195 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Palermo
Dazzler Polo
Dazzler Polo
#20 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Palermo
Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo
Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo
#15 of 273 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biarritz Hotel B&B
#32 of 273 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Palermo
Matienzo Haus
Matienzo Haus
#112 of 273 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Espacia Suites
#71 of 482 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caseron Porteno B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caseron Porteno B&B

Property: Caseron Porteno B&B
Address: Calle Ciudad de La Paz 344, Buenos Aires C1426AGF, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caseron Porteno B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caseron Porteno, Tango Guest House in Buenos Aires. An oasis in the city of tango, Caseron Porteno offers daily tango lessons, warm hospitality and charming accommodations in a tranquil garden setting. With only 10 rooms (all of them with private bathroom), this B&B located in Palermo neighborhood offers breakfast, free internet access, maid service and tango lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Caseron Porteno B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing