We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caseron Porteno B&B
Ranked #42 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Allthough this place is definately not 5 star, it is affordable and good for a stop-over near Jorge Newbury Airport with some very good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Caseron Porteno B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Initially we were a little worried as this location is not exactly in the Buenos Aires hot spot but very soon we were incredibly happy with our decision. The hotel is located in a very safe neighbourhood in Buenos Aires and is a cheap taxi ride to all the best restaurants in Palermo which to be honest is the best spot to eat out in Buenos Aires anyway which is quite far from the main city centre anyway. Plus the hotel is right next to the train which is super cheap and fast so makes little difference. The hotel is located near lots of supermarkets (one very large 2 story one) and the kitchen at the hotel is very well equipped, perfect for travellers who are staying a while and want to do some cooking as we did. When we did go to the city centre we were so pleased that we had chosen to stay at Caseron Porteno as we felt that we were away from the touristy part and were experiencing true authentic Argentina but still in a nice area. Our room was very comfortable and we thought that it was really good value for what we paid, it was nicer than expected. Yes it can get a bit noisy as you are on the street but nothing some earplugs won't fix. I slept fine the entire time I was there. I really enjoyed sitting down to breakfast in the communal breakfast room and having toast and coffee every morning and chatting to fellow travellers who we got to know well and had some nice evenings out together. If you want a homely family feeling, meet people then this is the best place to stay. We will definitely be recommending this to our family and friends and would definitely stay there again. I particularly enjoyed having a wine in the lovely courtyard in the evenings, it was just magical.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Caseron Porteno is an old house in the not-terribly-glamorous suburb of Colegiales. Once you understand that, you will probably not be troubled by unrealistic expectations. Standard rooms are VERY basic - the suites on the courtyard are much better, but even they have very little sound insulation, and you will hear everything your neighbours say and do. It's just as well that there is an atmosphere of "intimacy" at the B&B - you will get to know other guests, you will sit with them in the breakfast room, and you will probably end up dancing with them in the nightly tango lessons. These lessons ("free" for guests, every evening except Sunday, 7.30-9pm) are well-organised and inclusive - they accommodate all levels quite happily, and there is no pressure at all to attend or to dance - just suit yourself.
We stayed here for 15 days in three different bursts while travelling around in Latin America... and you don't keep coming back to a place if it's no good, do you?
The appeal of Caseron lies mainly in its staff - the managers, Daniel and Cinthia, are very knowledgeable, helpful and flexible. You can believe what they say, and you can rely on them to do what they promise. We arrived late at night, we changed rooms, we had them change rooms for us, we left all our gear while going off to Peru and Brazil - nothing was too much trouble.
Honest criticisms? As notices tell you, there is an "ancient plumbing system" to cope with; the breakfast (like in most of Argentina) is ALL sweet stuff - Australians, bring Vegemite!
Good points? Apart from the staff, the tango lessons and the overall atmosphere mentioned above, the garden is pleasant, the location is handy to the bus or the Subte, and you are only a short walk from Belgrano or Las Canitas where there are plenty of trendy restaurants and cafes.
If you have any interest in tango, or you want to learn something about it, if you don't want too much glamour, you don't mind being out of the "centre", and if you want to stay with trustworthy people, this is a good spot.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I visited Caseron Porteno for the first two nights of our 16 trip to Argentina and were very pleased with our experience. Our flight to the country was delayed and the kind manager, Cinthia, was more than helpful in making the transition much easier.
We enjoyed our breakfast and were happy with the accommodations - especially considering the affordable price. They stored our luggage for us after we checked out in order for us to explore the city. I am a very cautious person, however, I fully trusted the staff to guard my belongings. They seem to be good and honest people.
We will recommend this B&B to other travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlovies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The view of the garden from the hotel's entrance was misleading as it is just a reflection from a
wall-sized mirror in the "tango" room. Tango lesson guests from other hotels smoked profusely
in the garden. We could hear every little sound from the room next door. Our bottom sheet on the bed was twin bed sized and did not cover the mattress. Our small ration of breakfast was doled out by a maid who measured our orange juice and allowed us only 3/4 of a glass. The only helpful employee was fired during our three night stay. We tried to take a tango lesson, but
were ignored by the disdainful teacher. We were glad to leave this disappointing hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gawci, Owner at Caseron Porteno B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Our hotel's land measures 60 meters long (which is a big land for Buenos Aires city) and mirror is not there for any "misleading" purposes but just for the dance lessons, that are in the studio at the back of the garden.

Even when our house in no-smoking and we're very strict with this rule, we think that not allowing smokers to join the tango lessons would be discriminatory.

This is a B&B and not a 4 stars hotel, so of course it has normal inconveniences of being an old house, and teh charm realted to this condition as well. Normally all our guests deeply enjoy the particularities of our antique house, huge garden and tango lessons (as other reviews show), so we're really sorry if this wasn't your case.

Yours sincerely,
Cinthia and Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We selected this B&B based on Trip Advisor reviews. We found the B&B' to be adequate, however, it was quite noisy. The rooms have little to no insulation and one can hear conversations in the room next door, in the courtyard, in the kitchen, and the cars and trucks going by. The location was adequate as it was walking distance to the subway but there wasn't much in terms of shops, restaurants etc. It is not in an upscale area. The tango classes were a plus, however, they should divide the guests into two groups - those who have never tried tango and those that have some experience.

We found the owners and staff to be helpful however, they seemed stressed and over worked. We were surpised that they didn't know answers to basic questions such as were the crafts markets going to be open on December 31 or January 1 or January 2? What about museum hours over the holiday period? Were retail stores open? How much a taxi should cost to the cruise terminal? Where was the cruise terminal? Where could we see a tango show for a reasonable cost - they only recommended one show that was $150 per person. We later met other people that attended $35 tango shows that lasted 2 hours!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the courtyard.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gawci, Propietario at Caseron Porteno B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

Dear guest,
We´re trully sorry if you were dissapointed by our guest house and service, when almost all our guests leave our house totally happy and return often.
Unfortunately you arrive to our house in the worst moment of our lives, when Maria (our beloved housekeeper who worked with us for the past 9 years and was in charge of the hotel), had an emergency, was in hopsital for one month (from decemer 28th till February 2nd) and passwed away. Maybe this was the reason why we seemed to be stressed and couldn´t pay enough attention to your needs, when we always devotely help our guests and all previous comments at TripAdvisor show this.
Once again, I´m sorry and hope you can come to our house someday in the future and let us compensate with a better stay.
Best regards,
Cinthia and Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Casero Porteno is a perfect stop for tangeros visiting BA. It is located in a middle class residential neighborhood convenient to a subway line and major bus lines, Palermo, and numerous tango venues. It has its own private dance room, and free tango classes each evening given by teachers from various dance halls. Good breakfast daily, friendly and helpful staff and owners, communal kitchen for cooking and private refrig in room, local supermarket, close to some nice non-tourist restaurants. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: we like the ground floor rooms near the kitchen.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Belgrano
Urbanica the Libertador Hotel
Urbanica the Libertador Hotel
#113 of 443 in Buenos Aires
87 reviews
Palermo
CasaSur Palermo Hotel
CasaSur Palermo Hotel
#35 of 443 in Buenos Aires
321 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Palo Santo Hotel
Palo Santo Hotel
#16 of 443 in Buenos Aires
419 reviews
Biarritz Hotel B&B
#25 of 256 in Buenos Aires
107 reviews
Palermo
Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo
Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo
#15 of 256 in Buenos Aires
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caseron Porteno B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caseron Porteno B&B

Address: Calle Ciudad de La Paz 344, Buenos Aires C1426AGF, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $47 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caseron Porteno B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caseron Porteno, Tango Guest House in Buenos Aires. An oasis in the city of tango, Caseron Porteno offers daily tango lessons, warm hospitality and charming accommodations in a tranquil garden setting. With only 10 rooms (all of them with private bathroom), this B&B located in Palermo neighborhood offers breakfast, free internet access, maid service and tango lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caseron Porteno B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing