We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst trip ever, real-life nightmare”
Review of Hotel Guerrero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Guerrero
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in Mar del Plata
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst trip ever, real-life nightmare”
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I was visiting Buenos Aires with my family. We decided to get out of the big city and go to Mar Del Plata on New Year's Eve. We were browsing online, and this was the only hotel that was available at the time. When we first arrived, the hotel looked slightly like a motel 6. The reception was very disappointing and rude. We obtained our room key an hour after checking in. We all had to walk around with our luggage to the other entrance of the hotel, which was located on a dark and filthy side street. On the side street, just as we were about to enter the building, a strange young man approached us. He pulled out a weapon and demanded for our money. After we handed around 600$ US cash, he vanished into the darkness. Already having been shocked, we entered our room, where we felt like we were robbed a second time...On one side, there was a closet full of the maid's supplies. To the back right, there was a full size bed. To the back left, there were three twin prison-looking cots. We were astonished. We were traveling with 5 people in total; 4 adults and one teenager. A member of my family is kind of a clean freak. She was checking the entire room to make sure it was spotless. Suddenly, she saw a brownish-greenish substance located near the television. She tried to identify what is was by touching and smelling it. She concluded that it was poop. As she was inspecting, another member from my family spotted an insect. All of a sudden she shouted "una cucaracha!" We approached her and spotted the most repulsive filthy large cocaroach that we have ever seen. We gathered our belongings and immediately went back down to the lobby. We demanded our money back, which was not a part of their policy. We vigorously gave them the keys and stormed out. Fortunately, a cab driver was handy and we found a very nice hotel located somewhere nearby; across the street from the casino.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fatchupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    167
    77
    11
    4
See reviews for
136
111
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We spent two nights there and really enjoyed it. The beds were a bit too small but the rooms were clean and with a beautiful ocean view. The buffet breakfast, included in the rate, was really REALLY good!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kg_ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Stayed in this hotel June 2009. Recommended.

There are *many* places to stay in Mar del Plata, mostly small hotels, and mostly away from the beach. This is a very good choice for its category, and I'm sure it is booked solid in high season. It's nothing special, so don't expect luxury. But do expect a great location just across from the beach and the Atlantic ocean.

It's on the inland side of the main coastal avenue, a two-minute walk from one of the main beaches. Rooms on the front of the hotel are sunny and have pleasing views of a huge fountain set within a traffic circle (not everyone's thing, but I liked it) and also of the Atlantic beyond. You definitely feel like you're at the beach! Rented a two-room "suite" with two bedrooms, one bath--and no living room. Not what I'd call a suite. But we were three adults and one child, and it suited us fine. Off-peak room rate was good value considering the excellent location and the general quality of the hotel.

Rooms are definitely small, but cramped rooms are the norm in Argentina. Not spotless by any stretch, but clean enough and probably correct for its category.

Staff was pleasant and accommodating, welcoming of children.

This is not a luxury hotel, nor does it pretend to be, so go with realistic expectations and you will be happy with your stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winebluesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2008

Nice people. Very helpful. Good Location right next the beach. The first room that they were going to give us was way too small. However, when we asked, they give us a large room with a kitchen for the same price. If you are used to five star hotels, and expect this quality, this is not the hotel for you. It is a little "funky" by high-end US standards.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank gurleylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2007

I was suppose to stay at this hotel in January for 7 nights, but I left after 4. The room was ok ( kitchen apartment ) but you had to pay extra if you wanted the Maid to clean any of the kitchen utensils or kitchen equipment. The hotel advertised beach equipment, but this ammounted to a beach towel....Actually it was a room towel really. The choice at breakfast was ok, but there was no milk for the cerials, so you had to use yoghurt.on your cerial.
On the plus side there was free internet service for guests & the snack bar next to the lobby was actually quite good.
My main problem with this hotel though, was I was robbed at the entrance to my apartment on my first day, where my wallet & room keys was snatched. To me this shouldnt be able to happen at the door of the hotel & showed a big lack in security. I later found out the hotel has CCTV fixed onto one entrance, but not onto the entrance to my apartment. I never really felt safe here afterwards, so I left early. Personally I would never go back to this hotel.

  • Liked — the snack bar
  • Disliked — lack of security
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank flixflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mar del Plata hotels
0.3 km away
Bristol Condominio Apart Hotel
Bristol Condominio Apart Hotel
#20 of 154 in Mar del Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.7 km away
Gran Hotel Panamericano
Gran Hotel Panamericano
#21 of 154 in Mar del Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.6 km away
Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel
Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel
#9 of 154 in Mar del Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
NH Gran Hotel Provincial
NH Gran Hotel Provincial
#13 of 154 in Mar del Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.8 km away
Dos Reyes Hotel Mar del Plata
Dos Reyes Hotel Mar del Plata
#11 of 154 in Mar del Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Club del Golf
Hotel Club del Golf
#5 of 154 in Mar del Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guerrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guerrero

Property: Hotel Guerrero
Address: Diagonal Alberdi b 2288, Mar del Plata B7600GYB, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Mar del Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in Mar del Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Guerrero 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Guerrero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing