We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay - worth the expense”
Review of Melia Iguazu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

With only 24 hours in Iguazu, we knew this would be the way for us to maximize the value of our trip up here. The hotel is very nice -- American style with its room (we had a jungle-side room), which was lovely), nice reception, and swimming pool area. The best part of this hotel is its incredible proximity to the falls, which made for easy trips and time for siestas. Even though it was expensive, this alone made the hotel worth every dollar.

The all-you-can-eat dinner buffet was totally overrated, but the free breakfast buffet was pretty good. The lunch and dinner menu is decent, and the restaurant has a nice environment for meals and views. The wait staff is very attentive. Instead, we recommend the bar/cafe by the reception. The prices are better, food is pretty good, and it's the only place in the hotel with free Wifi. This is where the Argentines were eating, and it was only foreigners in the restaurant.

All in all, we would recommend this place wholeheartedly! Just go in with a realistic expectation of the restaurant and other food options for your time in the park.

Room Tip: The jungle-side rooms are still quite nice (even without that jaw-dropping view), so consider it if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you very much for your comments and remarks, they are actually very constructive!!
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the land of the falls.
Sincerely, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 3,167 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

The location of the hotel is fantastic if visiting the Argentinian side of the falls. Only a short walk to the start of the falls (1.5km).

We only stayed for 2 nights at the hotel, the room was quite comfortable. Free wifi is available in the lobby area/reception, however you need to pay (approx $25USD per day) if you want wifi in your room.

The food at the hotel is excellent, even though it is a little pricey but well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you very much for your comments!!
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your vacation in Iguazu!!
We hope to see you again.
Best regards, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Sheraton at Iguazu is the place to stay to see and experience the falls. The trails to the falls are just a few steps from the hotel. This is the only hotel on the Argentina side within the Iguazu Park. The hotel is pricy but if you are going to the falls, this hotel will provide the best experience for your sightseeing. We were only there a couple of days and it was worth the extra money for the convenience of the location. Also, it is worth the extra money to get a falls view from your room.

Be sure to have the shrimp taco’s in the bar/lounge they are wonderful.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a falls view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savvy-TravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderfull comments, It`s really good to know you coul enjoy your holidays in this magical place.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Regards, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This really is the only place to stay on the Argentinian side - if you can run to the expense! The cost of the room was frankly extortionate, but, on balance, we felt that it was worth it to be able to walk the trails before the crowds arrive - and, yes, the crowds are MASSIVE. It was also good to be able to escape the crowds and pop back to the hotel to enjoy the view from our falls-facing room during the day.

Our room was large and comfortable.

We did not eat in the restaurant, but used the bar service which we found more than adequate. We were, though, a little disappointed in the breakfast buffet - not up to the standard of similarly rated hotels.

Overall, though, we were glad that we had decided to stay at the Sheraton - it has a peaceful feel to it, and to be able to see the falls from the hotel (and your room if you choose a falls-facing room) was priceless.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review!!
I would like to apologize if something during your stay was not to your liking, we truly apreciate your constructive comments.
Is good to remember that you can always get some great promotions on our web site.
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you here.
Regards, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This would have the be the perfect place to stay when visiting the falls. You could even feel the spray from the falls when the wind was in the right direction.

The hotel is not new but the location is to die for. I had a room with a view of the falls and all rooms have a balcony - the perfect place to enjoy a bottle of wine.

The rooms are very comfortable with everything that you expect of the Sheraton brand. The staff are very helpful, friendly and efficient; they do speak English.

There are a range of options for food and a lovely pool with its own bar.

I would certainly recommend booking a room with a view of the falls.

Being in the park, you get the added advantage if enjoying the serenity this area has to offer. While there are are time restrictions on the actual falls walks, you are able to walk around the grounds and you can get onto the tracks before the busses arrive. There are also a number of cafés around the park.

The hotel is quite a way out of town so if it is action you are wanting, you will spend a bit of time travelling in and out.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a bad room; but I would recommend a falls view room. I had read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you very much for your comments!! It`s nice to receive positive feedback from the services we offer. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location and views!!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We arrived late in the evening and stayed only two nights, so had just one day to enjoy the Falls. For such a short stay the hotel was ideally located and affordable. We had a standard car park-facing room which was comfortable but quite bland. We had probably our best evening meal on the first night when we went straight to the bar and ate a light meal. Our breakfast from the groaning buffet was good and being so close to the Falls we were able to set out early and to a certain extent beat the tour buses and huge crowds which soon arrived. The Falls were still spectacular even though this must be one of the most touristy places on the planet. It was good to be able to lie in the sun and swim in the afternoon. The restaurant provided us with our last steak before leaving Argentina, but we felt the meal was over-plain and expensive for what it was (in our five week trip in Argentina, we obviously did not eat in such posh restaurants as other reviewers). However, the bed was so comfortable that we had our best sleep at the Sheraton of our whole eight week vacation in South America.

One slight grouch. The advice from the hotel receptionist about the time it would take to get to the airport on the Brazilian side of the border was way off the mark. It took 40 minutes (much closer to the time specified on the hotel website) rather than the two hours he advised - we could have had another look at the Falls...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitSuffolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Within the Iguazu National Park, this hotel overlooks one of the natural wonders of the world, with great views from the balconies of most (many ?) of the hotel's rooms. From here, you can be inside the national park when it opens, before the tourist hordes arrive, and that's a great advantage. In reception there are travel agents' stalls offering fabulous activities (kayaks, bird watching, boats under falls) on both the Argentinian and Brazilian sides of the Park. The restaurant is very good rather than excellent - and anywhere else this hotel would be 'just another Sheraton' - however staying here is a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony with a Falls view. Book several activities - the (very) early guided bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spinoccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

It`s great knowing that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel, is great to receive positive feedback from the services we offer.
Hope to see you again.
Sincerely, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iguazu National Park
13.8 km away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,453 reviews
13.7 km away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
324 reviews
13.5 km away
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,866 reviews
14.1 km away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,987 reviews
15.6 km away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Iguazu

Address: Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina (Formerly Sheraton Iguazú Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Iguazu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iguazu National Park
Price Range: $315 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Iguazu 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a natural sanctuary in the heart of the jungle, where the magnificent Iguazu Falls cascade in front of the Meliá Iguazu Resort & Spa. . Rest in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere, immersed in the mystical energy of the Paranaense jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iguazu Hotel Iguazu National Park
Sheraton Iguazu Resort And Spa
Sheraton Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing