We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,050)
Filter reviews
2,050 results
Traveller rating
922
771
228
71
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
922
771
228
71
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main road iguazu falls jungle room jungle setting dirt road in town taxi service mini bar both nights national park rooms are spacious buenos aires nice pool both sides the bus after a long day taxis
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,050 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2018

This was an excellent base from which to visit the Iguazu Falls (a definite 5 rating -- not to be missed!). We had an upstairs room with a nice screened in balcony looking out into the jungle. Beds were comfortable, good shower with hot water, and the room was clean. The hotel is a series of buildings connected with wooden walkways about 18 inches off the ground with a nice restaurant and office in the center of the complex. The staff was great. They were helpful in arranging transport to the Falls, into town and to the airport. They also set us up for a walk through the jungle with a local guide/naturalist, Marcelo, who was terrific. Between his English and my Spanish we had a tour through the local area as he pointed out plants, identified birds and butterflies. I'm just sorry that we were not able to do the guided walk with a local Guarani to learn about the indigenous community in the area (too wet and muddy). We ate two dinners at the restaurant and found the food to be very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony on a second floor.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Gerente at La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Dear smynyc
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our attention, services, excursions, location and structure. Also the one that could have known the flora and the local fauna, as well as the culture of the original populations.
Thanks for sharing so kind opinon.
Cordially
Gabriel Fidalgo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

Staff made us feel extremely welcome after a long journey from Brazil. The hotel itself is a small complex with wooden walkways through the forest. We really enjoyed our stay here, waking up to the sounds of the jungle.

We ate in the restaurant twice; portion sizes were filling so we never felt hungry during our stay. Jonathan our waiter was extremely helpful throughout our stay too.
Our room was exactly what we needed for our two-night stay, comfortable and air conditioned with the bonus of a spa bath.

The swimming pool is of a good size too with the hotel well located near to the main highway to the airport and waterfalls.

Reception staff are happy to book taxis and make other travel arrangements for you as required which took a lot of stress away when needing to get out and about.

A very good place for a short break if visiting the falls or the town itself.

Room Tip: If not in a bungalow, you'll want a top floor room - the wooden boards can squeak so if you're below someone you'll know about it
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Drive_Tardy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Gerente at La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear Drive_Tardy86
Thanks for sharing your opinion here.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here
Best regards
Gabriel Fidalgo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

Feels as if surrounded by jungle but actually lots of hotels around & more being built so do hope the atmosphere isn't spoiled in future years. To get to the rooms one has to go along walkways which is fine if not raining which it was when we arrived. There is a minibus to the falls but the receptionists were extremely helpful knowing the price of taxis to the various places as we wanted to be independent. We ate both nights in the restaurants as the hotel is quite a distance from Puerto Iguazu. As so often the experience depends on the staff & chef. 1st night the waitress was very helpful & friendly but on the 2nd night the waiter was more interested in his tip! The food was good both nights but wouldn't recommend the Thai prawns if you like that type of meal as personally I thought it needed more spices.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vivienne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Gerente at La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear Vivienne:
We are aHppy that you enjoyed your stay here. Thanks for sharing your opnion is very important for us.
Best regards
Gabriel Fidalgo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2018

We spent 2 nights at the lodge and found it well placed for visiting the Falls on either side of the border. We had a lodge as far away from the main building as was possible, not a problem if it's not raining! But if it does then have those waterproofs handy! We arrived late from the airport due to flight delays but the staff were great in holding the restaurant open so that we could have a late supper. On the subject of food, as the lodge is quite remote the restaurant is the only option unless you know the area and get a taxi to another hotel or into Iguacu itself. Food is of a good quality if a bit on the pricey side but to be expected I guess. But breakfast could be improved, notably the doughy croissants which were also burnt.

Room Tip: Choose near the main building, maybe?
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Gerente at La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear Sheila:
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our attention, facilities, food and services.
Thank you for sharing your opinion here.
Cordially
Gabriel Fidalgo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

Not sure I understand some of the comments about not luxurious, etc. It is exactly as it is advertised - rustic, embedded in the woods. The atmosphere, particularly at night, is incredible. Room was very nice, bathroom huge and the fact we had a tree growing up out of our deck was awesome. Front desk support was fantastic, helping with everything from transportation to the Falls, our connection to the Paraguay Ferry, and exchanging money when we didn't want to run into town to do so. Staff very patient in our lack of Spanish skills :) Restaurant was excellent - wait staff was friendly, cordial - food was outstanding at dinner. Breakfast had a good selection of healthy options, but the scrambled eggs were to die for! Proximity to Falls and the uniqueness and total non-corporate feel (plus the restaurant) make this a location I will recommend to anyone traveling to the area. Reasonable as well. Had a great stay!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Gerente at La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear Jeffrey:
Neither do we understand some comments but as each one is free to feel what they want, we continue forward nourishing ourselves from them to improve.
We are very happy that you have been able to interpret our proposal and that you have enjoyed our attention, food, and services.
We are very grateful for your comments.
Very cordially
Gabriel Fidalgo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews