We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average quality, a little overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carmen Iguazu
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average quality, a little overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Came here as to be close to the airport for a morning flight. The hotel is basic. Rooms are large but all furniture is oldish and mismatched. Two nice swimming pools on the outside are well visited.
The staff is helpful but limited. WiFi is available in selected spaces, the pool being one of them (nice).
Being close to the main road is noisy but you don't notice with the air condition scream.
In all it looks cheap. I won't stay here again, there is plenty to choose close-by.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonardoTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    67
    104
    28
    25
See reviews for
109
92
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I have been at this hotel two years ago. I paid a very reasonable and cheap price for a room. In the life, you get what you pay. Considering the basic fare I have paid, I got a basic service.
Anyway, the breakfast and dinner was reasonable good, for the price I have paid!
Room was quiet and clean, big room, good bathrom. Smell moisture at other rooms, not mine. SHower was old. The hotel staff was very friendly.

Final Conclussion. You get what you pay, and for the money I have paid at this place, it was fine.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank assaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Terrible hotel and bad breakfast
The hotel is 1 star max. The room smells bad and the shower is old and hardly works. The breakfast is minimal and not tasty.
positive points: The hotel staff was friendly and the room is big.
Try to find a better hotel..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gachbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Iguazu hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

I stayed in this hotel as part of a package deal, hence I don't know what the room rate is, but I gather it must be really cheap.

Like another reviewer said it resembles a run down motel and frankly it is a bit depressing. The reason I give it 2 out of 5 is because it claims to be a 3 star hotel. It is definitely not. If it had claimed to be a one or a two star resort I might have been able to give it 3 out of 5.

The decor is very bland, the rooms themselves are really basic with rather small beds although there is ample space in the room itself. There is a damp smell that hits you when you walk into your room. I did not, as opposed to some other reviewers, find that my room was dirty and I didn't find any mold. On the contrary, there is quite alot of cleaning going on. In the corridors you smell the detergent.

The reception was helpful I have to say, but with no great enthusiasm. A positive note is that the tv in the room had international channels (movies and news).

The food was average at its best, but very uninspiring. Think highg school cantina.

There is wifi but only in the reception area.

I would not stay there again unless I was on a tight budget (perhaps a hostel with a private room would be better in that case). The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the town and 20 or more minutes from the entrance to the Argentinian side of the park.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolasLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in Nov. 2010 while we were in town to see the Falls. The hotel (actually a motel) was so terrible that it took away from the beauty of the falls. We couldn't wait to get out of Iguazu and spent as little time as we could at the hotel. I only wish we had read other reviews before we booked it, but we planned our trip to the falls at the last minute. Knowing how beautiful the falls are now, i would have paid more money to stay at a nicer place!

The location is average. Its along the same major highway between National Park and downtown, and only a 10 minute drive to both. There are several hotel and hostels in this area, so pick something else!

Our room was AWFUL! Mold in the hallway, patched ceiling in the bathroom, toilet not well connected to the wall, old smelly mattresses, and damaged locks. The air conditioning barely worked and was loud. As such, the room remained damp. The walls hadn't been painted in years and were several different shades of colors, not to mention there were several holes/patches.

The WiFi only worked in the lobby and the breakfast was subpar (i found a dead fly on one of the pastries). The internet barely worked but cost only $1/hour. There are 2 pools, although only 1 had water. The outdoor deck wasn't fully furnished and had several broken lamps. It appears as if the owners haven't spent any money on this hotel in ages.

Definitely stay somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citykitty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights, booking through GAP Adventures. I would not stay here again and found it hard to believe they consider this a 3-4 star hotel.

The room was clean but failed to meet basic standards for these reasons:

1) There was mold growing on the walls. This is a health hazard!
2) The room smelled funny.
3) My clothes were all damp and smelled funny upon leaving even though I kept them in the suitcase.
4) The hair dryer in the room caught on fire when I turned it on and started melting.
5) The bed was very uncomfortable.

The hotel itself needs to improve:

1) The pool is nice but needs to be cleaned. There were dead bugs and other items floating around.
2) Have staff that can speak English and other languages to appeal to the tourists that arrive there.

Also, the hotel is too far away from the town and one needs to take a cab back and forth.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

Stayed here as part of a GAP adventures "comfort" level trip - I'd hate to see the lower quality hotel!! The room was unpleasant, smelled musty with damp on the walls. Awful decor and uncomfortable bed, air conditioner barely worked and was incredibly loud. Bathroom was clean but there was a general feeling of dirt about the place!

A few people have mentioned location as an advantage but I don't see why! It is still several miles from the National Park and also a couple of miles from the town.

Breakfast was poor too....I'm trying to think of something positive to say about the place but to be honest I don't think it has any redeeming features!

This hotel almost ruined my trip to the Falls, I couldn't wait to get out of the place and I would never book another GAP adventures trip based on this hotel and the activities included in the trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flynnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
3.1 km away
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
#47 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.4 km away
El Libertador
El Libertador
#39 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.6 km away
Marcopolo Suites Iguazu
Marcopolo Suites Iguazu
#40 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hotel Azaleas Iguazu
Hotel Azaleas Iguazu
#46 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Iguazu Royal
Hotel Iguazu Royal
#35 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 km away
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
#25 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmen Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen Iguazu

Property: Hotel Carmen Iguazu
Address: Ruta Nacional 12 4.5, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmen Iguazu 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmen Hotel is located in Puerto Iguazu, 15 minutes from the waterfalls and 20 minutes from the international airport. This Argentine hotel features two swimming pools and a large garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Otel and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carmen Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoteles Carmen Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Carmen Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing