We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed with two daughters recently for a week. I contacted the hotel prior with a message that we would be arriving by a late flight - they had confirmed 7 nights in an East facing room I had requested- but apologized when we got there - our first night had to be in a different room - this was not great at all - bad room, banging metal sound outside overlooking parking lot and roof fans, equipment. We were compensated for having to put us up for that first night in a terrible room with a buffet breakfast the next morning which was ok - but started us off with moving rooms for the second night which cut into our travel plans as we had to wait for the room - don't like leaving luggage in vacating room idea. The remaining six nights were nice overlooking the golf course at the back. Was only provided three smaller bath towels even though we were three women with longer hair . I asked that we be provided with at least two extra towels every day - and it only happened once - after that we got tired of asking. There was only an inside bathtub rack to hang towels to reuse - great difficulty keeping them dry!! So much for conserving towels :) !! The executive rate which was supposed to include Manager's reception every evening was nice - lots of appetizers etc. Great drinks!! However my two almost adult daughters who are a few months from University could not join me - this was disappointing and misleading when I booked - no mention of age restriction at night. They were allowed, however to join me for a continental breakfast every morning in the same room - which, when we booked the trip - is not explained on the hotel website (the over 21 rule for evening reception needs to be communicated to guests so that they know prior to booking). The hostess was very accommodating and lovely. The pool was ok but small - interesting how hotel website photography always makes things look so much bigger. We were shocked how the local area and people have been hit by the economic times - huge big box store strip mall across the street was like a ghost town - completely shut down and empty. The Fiesta Mall close by is limited - so we rented a car from the SEARS and drove to Scottsdale area Fashion Mall and stores, Cubs Spring training game at Hohokum etc. Easy access to freeways etc. Looks like an Embassy Suites idea without the atrium plants, tables, evening reception and breakfast.

Room Tip: East facing towards the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westcoastseabreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Westcoastseabreeze,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with helpful feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the room mix up. We do everything we can to accommodate our guest requests, but due to high peak season we may fall short. Your housekeeping comments have been addressed with our housekeeping staff and will be fixed immediately. Our Executive Lounge does not allow anyone under the age of 21 to attend the evening reception and I do apologize if you were informed otherwise. Our websites and reservation staff does inform our guests of this. Once again I would like to thank you for providing us with valuable feedback that we use to improve our service for future stays.

Sincerely, Gary Levine, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Non-smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke; basic, but overpriced hotel.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank mtpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, Front Office Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
I wanted to thank you for choosing the Hilton Phoenix East Mesa for your family trip. I do apologize that your accomidations left you less than satisfied as we strive to follow our motto "Everyone Leaves Happy" with every guest. Our Housekeeping department has been notified of this and is working on correcting the issue. Again I truely apologize for the smoke smell in your room and please do not hesitate to contact us if you wish to discuss this further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Have a great day.

Sincerely,
Alex Slingerland
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Four night stay for business. Location near Fiesta Mall provides numerous choices for meals in addition to the hotel. Next to 60 providing rapid access to wherever you need to go in the area. Check-in was very good but had to change rooms due to temperature problems and second room was fine. Very few true balconies but suites do have a sliding door and you can step out but no room for a chair. Nice pool area but not many chairs. Executive lounge was small. Food was good. Internet worked fine. Exercise area good. Plenty of places to walk for exercise that felt safe and not too busy with traffic. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sometrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, Front Office Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Phoenix East Mesa while staying in the valley of the sun and we thank you for your comments. We value our guests feedback and are always striving to make sure every guest leaves happy. It is with great pleasure to read about your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Slingerland
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We reserved a wheelchair accessible king bed for two nights with Hilton honors
Points. We arrived at 7:00 PM and were told they made a mistake and gave our room to someone else. This really was entirely inexcusable. You simply don't make a mistake like that. We were given a non accessible queen room instead for the first night and were given club privileges for both nights. Small recompense when my wife could barely use the toilet and could not use the sink/mirrors or bathe. The second night we were given a king suite. The hotel is 25 years old and badly needs renovation. We only used the club privileges once. The club host was exceedingly nice. We were shocked to find out that they are made to throw out all their unused food. They should make an effort to donate that food to a homeless organization. Hotels should never give away accessible rooms which are reserved. At the very least they should have made our stay free. We are not the suing type, but if we were I don't see how the hotel could win. Disabled people do have rights. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakingsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Lakingsrule,

Thank you for the opportunity to provide us with your feedback for your recent stay. We strive to grant all guest’s requests to our best ability and sincerely apologize this did not happen for you. We would love to make things right and would like to speak with you further. Please contact our Front Office Manager, Alex Slingerland, at 480.833.5555 ext 7128

Please accept my deepest apologies and we hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely, Gary Levine, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The reception staff were most unfriendly and unhelpful, and the executive lounge was the smallest and worst equipped I've ever seen in a Hilton. Our room was nice, but we looked out over a busy freeway. It was not what we expected from a Hilton hotel - our favourite chain of hotels. A great disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmin186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Jasmin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. The information you have shared serves as valuable feedback for myself and my staff. I sincerely apologize for the frustration and inconvenience you experienced. Please be assured the situation is not a common one and it is certainly not indicative of the level of guest service we wish to provide.

I am investigating and examining the issues with the team members involved and will resolve the situation immediately.
Again please accept my sincere apologies. I also hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you with the exceptional hospitality you deserve.

Sincerely, Gary Levine, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The pool was beautiful and the staff was very friendly, unfortunately our room had no hot water, poor ac, and there were extension cords used through out the room for lighting which made the room look cheap and unwelcoming. I feel for the price per night (200.00) you would expect to see a little higher quality.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malexander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Malexander1,

Thank you for your feedback and your kind words regarding the pool and staff. I sincerely apologize about your room. The engineering department has been notified of this and I assure you, we will correct our mistake. I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to change your opinion of our establishment by staying with us again.

Sincerely, Gary Levine, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Hilton was nice. I booked for one night as I was flying out the next morning. Sky Harbor airport is a short drive. My room was 735 and upon entryto my room the fragrance of Febreze was nice to take in. Room was modern and updated. The hotel as a whole was quiet. The pool was more like a lagoon/lazy river type with waterfalls and plenty of outdoor seating. Free wi-fi access is available. The Hilton is located right of the 60 freeway and Alma School Road. The Fiesta Mall is adjacent to the Hilton as well. Nice hotel and staff. I highly reccommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank island_gyal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhxEastMesa, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Island_Gyal78,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Phoenix East Mesa and thank you for your comments. It is with great pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely, Gary Levine, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mesa hotels
5.5 km away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
4.3 km away
Phoenix Marriott Mesa
0.5 km away
Courtyard Phoenix Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa
5.4 km away
Sheraton Mesa Hotel at Wrigleyville West
18 km away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa

Address: 1011 W Holmes Ave, Mesa, AZ 85210-4923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mesa
#7 Family Hotel in Mesa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
Price Range: $216 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Phoenix East / Mesa Hotel Mesa
Hilton Mesa
Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing