We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Pizza - insult to Chicago pizza - waste of money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante

Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante
Ranked #14 of 914 Restaurants in Mesa
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lindsay & McKellips
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
“Terrible Pizza - insult to Chicago pizza - waste of money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We are from the Chicago area and this place was recommended by 2 people to us. We like thin crust pizza and tried it twice. We will not return. The pizza sauce and sausage are both tasteless. You should be able to taste bacon on a pizza, but it was almost tasteless bacon bits. Our veggie pizza tasted like cardboard They must not be making the pizzas the way they used to according to our local friends. Waste of money.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    43
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“family run”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Family run business that uses fresh ingredients to make wonderful pizza and lasagna. It can get busy on the weekends so go early.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank custravel_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
329 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Just Go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have not been to Vito's since we can't remember when and after eating there we wondered why it had been so long. This time of year with all of the "visitors" if you are planning on a dinner time you had better be there by 5:00 even on a Sunday evening. We were told our wait at 5:10 would be 5 minutes and were seated at 5:30, not bad considering the string of people waiting behind us. Greg one of the managers greeted us at our table and what a sweet man he is, just the kind of management a business anywhere can use. After asking him about several dishes I decided on the eggplant but I didn't want the ordinary layered mushy type. Greg was over the top willing to accomodate me by checking with the kitchen to see if they had an eggplant they could fry in separate layers for me to make it crispy. He not only went the extra mile but the dish was knocked out of the park in flavor and texture. Upon leaving he said to mention his name again or ask for him and he would make sure any dish we wanted would be made as we liked it. Husband had the lasagne and the sauce was so good, not at all tomato bitter but freshly made thick and wonderful. The lasagne was as well very fresh, it had not laid in a pan cooking until it was gooey or overdone but just perfect. We ordered a cesear salad to share with our meal and I loved that we weren't charged for an extra plate and that the salad was fresh fresh fresh, crisp and the dressing was excellent. The bread before our meal could have been warmed but the grain bread that came with the variety was very good as well as the pesto garlic butter for the spread, such a nice touch of flavor. We were full to capacity but had to look at the dessert menu just for the fun of it, but, there was Tiramisu, well let's just go over the edge and see how good this is. It was presented on a long slender plate, with a carved strawberry and chocolate syrup swirl on the plate and mint under the berry, so lovely. Now for the real test, oh my, creamy not over cheesy, just the right amount of coffe liquer and dusting of chocolate, Wonderful is all I can say. Cherie was also a very good waitress as well as Greg checking back with us often. For our dinner, salad and dessert the bill was $40, easy to leave a $10 tip for the great service and super good food. By the way the pizza's around us smelled heavenly, next time it will be wine and pizza. We won't wait so long to come back here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Travelers43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Want to try more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Went to Vito's with a friend while I was in town visiting. Everything from the service to the food was fantastic. They had a specialty pizza for the day which was a Chicken Enchilada pizza. It was very good. I wanted to try there regular pizza so we also ordered a pepperoni and sausage. When they were bringing both pizzas out one of the tiny corner slices fell off the tray and on to the floor. To compensate us they cooked a whole new small pizza which I would have gladly said don't worry about but they were alredy making it. Service was great as we never wanted for anything. I grew up near some Italian american communities and miss the pizza. This reminded me of the pizzas I ate from there. I want to try some of the pasta dishes they have as the menu is much more than just pizza.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timmy485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“absolutely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Will return, worth the time and money. Good food, good service. Nice place.

Helpful?
Thank tandcrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing