We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels like home”
Review of Hostal La Posta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Posta
Ranked #8 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“feels like home”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We intended too stay just a few days but ended up staying a week and a half. We only stayed in double rooms so I don't know about dorms, but our rooms were very lovely - all covers looked new and fresh, the beds were comfortable and the decoration of the rooms included a lot of local elements, which was very nice.
It's a small hostel so we knew practically everybody staying there and even made some great friends!
I would recommend this place with all my heart, it's one of the best hostels I stayed in in Argentine

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zubrzyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    39
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
65
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed a total of 10 days in Hostal La Posta. Christian and Ariel, the owners, operate in a very professional way. Breakfast is included and so is WIFI. The hostel is just the right size, which means that you'll be able to meet other travelers while enjoy a bit of privacy and rest. Actually, La Posta is an excellent place to meet other travelers and make sightseeing plans together. It was easy for us to make plans with another couple, rent a car for 7 days, and explore the region together. We recommend La Posta heartily. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Ended up spending 4 nights here and really loved it. They have a mixture of dorm rooms and private rooms. It is really peaceful, clean and tranquil and 10 minutes from the main square, and good value. The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. There is a lovely kitchen, and an outdoor area with hammock to relax in, free internet and a lovely breakfast. Only slight downside is the 2 dorm rooms of 4 each all share one bathroom, but it was such a lovely place to stay that it didn't matter.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janebuswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We booked 2 nights and ended up staying over one week, I guess that says it all! This is the perfect place to relax and recharge your batteries after travelling for some time, it is calm and relaxed, very clean, the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is nice: coffee/tee, fresh juice and 2 pastries. There is a kitchen and a little yard where you can have lunch in the sunshine. There is one computer (free) as well as free Wifi. The location is great, it is easy to walk everywhere in the centre and we never felt unsafe.
The 2 brothers who own and run it have been more then helpful, from initially advising us what to do after we had a bag stolen in Mendoza, great advice on Salta and surroundings (restaurants/activities), to really helpful advice on our onward travel through to Bolivia. This was topped by providing us with a full breakfast at 6am when we had to catch a bus at 7am.
All we can say is thank you so much to all at Hostal La Posta, we loved our stay and would definetly want to come back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisefroh_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed 3 nights in salta and this was a little gem very clean tidy and a place to relax. Breakfast was great and the attention by the 2 brothers who own it shows that they are customer focused. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slider8p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Salta
Hotel Salta
#13 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Posada Del Sol
Hotel Posada Del Sol
#24 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.9 km away
Las Rejas Hostel
Las Rejas Hostel
#1 of 135 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hostel Salta Por Siempre
2.4 km away
Hostal All Norte
Hostal All Norte
#2 of 135 in Salta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.9 km away
Coloria Hostel
Coloria Hostel
#3 of 135 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Posta

Property: Hostal La Posta
Address: Calle Cordoba 368, Salta A4402EZH, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very well located just 5 minutes walking from the city center, Hostal La Posta offers you a quiet, clean and cosy place to spend some days in Salta : you will envoy our breakfast with a good home-made coffee, the garden where you can enjoy a glass of tipical wine and the particular atmosphear, relaxing and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal La Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing