We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Samka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Samka
Ranked #47 of 85 Hotels in Salta
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

I spent 3 nights here and enjoyed my stay. I had to wake up early two days in a row for excursions and they let me have breakfast before the opening time (7 am). The room was clean as well as bathroom. Did not enjoy the swimming pool due to the weather but had a good time there. Wifi is low but as everywhere I have been in Argentina. Good deal.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Marjo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Overall, Hotel Samka is a pretty good hotel for the price, with just a few inconveniences.

For the pros: big, clean rooms with TV and air conditioning; cold breakfast in the morning with ham and cheese; walking distance to everything

For the cons: Wi-Fi only in public areas not your room; breakfast hours start at 7 so if you're doing a day tour you have to scarf down food before your 7:15-7:45 pickup window; afternoon staff when I was there didn't really speak English; no tour desk so you have to go out to book tours (or the staff didn't understand me)

But to the latter point, there are a few travel / tour agencies a few blocks away so it's not a big deal if you're willing to walk around and look.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank blueroo292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located a few blocks from the main square and you can walk back ar night without any problem as the street is busy. The rooms are ok. Ilumination a bit dark a part from the bathroom. Plenty of hot water. There is a nice pool.
The people at reception are friendly and helpful. I could check in early.
Although breakfast is served from 07:00 on I could always get something earlier before leaving at 06:30 for the excursions
Good experience and surely worth the price.
The only negative point were the towels. They were changed daily a freshly washed but were all rather grey and grubby looking. No holes or worn, just the colout was not so good.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank JennyGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Of all the hotels we have stayed in in Argentina, this is by far the best in quality, price, and amenities. The staff were very welcoming, the room was more than adequate, and the breakfast was by far the most extensive we have experienced. The WiFi was not always available in our room but was fully available in the Lobby. The facilities were always available for preparation of drinks and use of your own food. If you want comfort, frindliness, and good value for money, this is the place for you. Thank you Hotel Samka for such comfort!

Room Tip: Rooms opposite WiFi transmitter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Staff were really helpful and attentive. Room was small but clean. Wifi reached my room but maybe because it was at the front of the hallway. Breakfast was good. A range of breads and spreads, cured meats and cheese, yoghurt and fruit which was good to see. There's also a little kitchen unit in the same area as the front desk so you can buy your own food to eat there, and tea/coffee except no kettle which was a bit odd. Overall it was fine for the money paid and in a good location.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
Thank mollyf271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

After a long trip from Cusco (3 days by bus) we decided to spend a little more and stay at Samka Hotel because it looked really nice, and they told us that the only issue they had was a malfunction with the TV in our 3rd level room. However, there was also no WIFI. When we called down to reception at midnight they said "oh yeah we don´t have a signal on the 3rd and 4th floors, you can come to the lobby and the signal is good here". What? Paying $600 ARS per night in downtown Salta for no internet and lying to us initally about WIFI being everywhere is totally unacceptable. We relied on the WIFI to book our next accomodations and flights in Buenos Aires. The breakfast was simple - no fresh fruit, no juice, just some average pastries. We asked for a later check out of 1 hour (and offered to pay more) but they refused. I suggest the management at Samka invest in a couple routers and value returning customers a little more.

Room Tip: No WIFI on 3rd or 4th floors and they won´t tell you this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Tired of earlier travels and intensive projects in Argentina, decided to have a comfortable stay in Salta at Samka rather than staying in a hostel.

Samka is well-maintained, clean and quiet rooms, nice breakfast space, pool, nice lobby where there´s water, tea available. Breakfast buffet is excellent; swimming pool enjoyable although the water could have been cleaner. Guys at the reception are not very talkative, but in general staff were nice.

Good quality/price balance if you´re looking for a bit of rest and comfort

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_natacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
1.7 km away
Antigal Hotel
Antigal Hotel
#40 of 85 in Salta
36 reviews
1.4 km away
Stelares Hotel Boutique
2.5 km away
Apart Hotel Ref
Apart Hotel Ref
#36 of 85 in Salta
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Refugio Del Inca
Hotel Refugio Del Inca
#45 of 85 in Salta
88 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Marilian
Hotel Marilian
#37 of 85 in Salta
239 reviews
0.5 km away
Ghala Hotel
Ghala Hotel
#27 of 85 in Salta
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samka

Address: Calle Buenos Aires 444, Salta A4402FDJ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 85 Hotels in Salta
Price Range: $53 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Samka 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a garden, Hotel Samka offers free Wi-Fi and buffet breakfast in Salta. BBQ facilities and computers are available for guest use.Providing a tranquil environment, the rooms in Hotel Samka feature TVs, heating, fans and safety deposit boxes.Hotel Samka has an on-site beauty shop and car wash service is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Samka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing