We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
19
63
47
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
63
47
13
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 152 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

Overall, Hotel Samka is a pretty good hotel for the price, with just a few inconveniences.

For the pros: big, clean rooms with TV and air conditioning; cold breakfast in the morning with ham and cheese; walking distance to everything

For the cons: Wi-Fi only in public areas not your room; breakfast hours start at 7 so if you're doing a day tour you have to scarf down food before your 7:15-7:45 pickup window; afternoon staff when I was there didn't really speak English; no tour desk so you have to go out to book tours (or the staff didn't understand me)

But to the latter point, there are a few travel / tour agencies a few blocks away so it's not a big deal if you're willing to walk around and look.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank blueroo292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located a few blocks from the main square and you can walk back ar night without any problem as the street is busy. The rooms are ok. Ilumination a bit dark a part from the bathroom. Plenty of hot water. There is a nice pool.
The people at reception are friendly and helpful. I could check in early.
Although breakfast is served from 07:00 on I could always get something earlier before leaving at 06:30 for the excursions
Good experience and surely worth the price.
The only negative point were the towels. They were changed daily a freshly washed but were all rather grey and grubby looking. No holes or worn, just the colout was not so good.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JennyGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2016

Of all the hotels we have stayed in in Argentina, this is by far the best in quality, price, and amenities. The staff were very welcoming, the room was more than adequate, and the breakfast was by far the most extensive we have experienced. The WiFi was not always available in our room but was fully available in the Lobby. The facilities were always available for preparation of drinks and use of your own food. If you want comfort, frindliness, and good value for money, this is the place for you. Thank you Hotel Samka for such comfort!

Room tip: Rooms opposite WiFi transmitter
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

Staff were really helpful and attentive. Room was small but clean. Wifi reached my room but maybe because it was at the front of the hallway. Breakfast was good. A range of breads and spreads, cured meats and cheese, yoghurt and fruit which was good to see. There's also a little kitchen unit in the same area as the front desk so you can buy your own food to eat there, and tea/coffee except no kettle which was a bit odd. Overall it was fine for the money paid and in a good location.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank mollyf271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2015

After a long trip from Cusco (3 days by bus) we decided to spend a little more and stay at Samka Hotel because it looked really nice, and they told us that the only issue they had was a malfunction with the TV in our 3rd level room. However, there was also no WIFI. When we called down to reception at midnight they said "oh yeah we don´t have a signal on the 3rd and 4th floors, you can come to the lobby and the signal is good here". What? Paying $600 ARS per night in downtown Salta for no internet and lying to us initally about WIFI being everywhere is totally unacceptable. We relied on the WIFI to book our next accomodations and flights in Buenos Aires. The breakfast was simple - no fresh fruit, no juice, just some average pastries. We asked for a later check out of 1 hour (and offered to pay more) but they refused. I suggest the management at Samka invest in a couple routers and value returning customers a little more.

Room tip: No WIFI on 3rd or 4th floors and they won´t tell you this.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews