We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$69
US$64
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$90
US$81
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$66
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$110
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$92
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Delvino Boutique Hotel(Salta)(Great Value!)
US$300
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
279
350
136
38
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
350
136
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areaac workssmall hillfront desk staffmoney changingbusiness triplocal attractionsplace to staystayed here for nightsfine hotelfree wifinice poolminute walk to the main squaredecent sizepublic areasbeautiful citypleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 822 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The Sheraton Salta provides all the comforts you would expect from a worldwide chain. The property is located atop a hill overlooking the charming and very pretty city of Salta. The walk to the center of town takes less than 10 minutes. The property features a nice restaurant and bar area, a well equipped gym, and lovely outdoor pool with jacuzzi area featuring incredible panoramic views of the city, and free WIFI in the lobby. There are also two computers for guests to use in the back end of the lobby. The on site casino is separate but a nice source of entertainment if you are into that. The rooms are standard Sheraton stuff, comfortable, clean, but in need of some touch ups. Walls are scuffed and carpets a bit old. They are bland but tidy and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are large and feature good shower pressure. The neighborhood feels safe and very suburban. The staff are pleasant, but a bit lazy. Use the on site tour office if you need to arrange tours or visits. They are much more resourceful and willing than the front desk. The hotel has a quiet, calm feel to it. Probably the best choice in town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2010

The Salta Sheraton. Well, yes, it is a Sheraton so your expectations should be inline with that first and foremost. The property is situated up the hill so to speak so you have a lovely view of the city, day or night. We had made a last minute change in our itinerary and opted to move to the Sheraton since we had some SPG points.

The staff overall was welcoming and very helpful (thank you Fabio!) Fabio from Misiones and the Iguazu Sheraton had joined the Salta team and we spoke with him and several other staff who made our trip very enjoyable. Including helping us order dinner from a local restaurant around midnight because we were tired to go out. Wonderful service!

Our room was clean, had great water pressure and offered very nice views. The spa, gym, and pool were in order and the staff accommodating. The breakfast was plentiful and the espressos and cappucinos got our morning off to good start.

Everyone from the casino, bar, desk, bellman, housekeeping and restaurant were helpful, professional. Thank you, Salta Sheraton!

We walked to Feria Balacarce about a mile (1.5km) and the main square maybe less than a mile in the other direction with ease, through nice neighborhoods, although we taxi'd back to avoid the hill. Salta is easy to navigate and friendly, you will come across wonderful places to eat. On Sunday, after mass, we followed the yummy smells and the masses of locals for wonderful dining. My message to you is to get out and explore, take the local bus and just try things. One great adventure (so to speak) was to get on the local bus to go to the Artensal Market (free trade) which is the white building and not the open air market! Of course we checked out both - but the adventure was our bus driver who was thrilled to have Gringas aboard talk about Salta and even stopped the bus and invited us to take pictures of an area he said was scenic. Some of the locals on the bus were not so enchanted they were on there way and didn't have the same fascination we had with every single novelty we saw. Accordingly, we were polite and respectful of their schedules and were quick about following out drivers instruction to take photos here, here, here =) Kudos to the public transportation system in Salta (drivers made sure we got on the right bus #'s more than once!) Practice your Spanish!

We like this place Salta!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOBY_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed at the Sheraton Salta hotel on two different times during the same trip, one for a single night and the other for two nights. We booked using SPG points.

The hotel itself is nice. Pool was great and has an outstanding view of the city and hills There are two computers in the lobby for free use as well as WiFi throughout the lobby (was not able to catch a signal in the rooms). The first night we were upgraded to a Club Floor room but I believe the Club Lounge was not open due to some remodeling so no real benefits to this except for free non-alcoholic drinks in the lobby bar.

Rooms were nice and clean. No complaints here.

The hotel always seemed relatively empty to us. I don’t think many people were staying there during our stays. I was told that some of the rooms/floors were closed down as well for remodeling but this was not apparent.

Can’t really complain about the hotel. Standard Sheraton fare with overpriced breakfast. There is a casino attached to the hotel as well.

Location is a little tough if you don't like walking. My wife and I are athletic and had no problems walking back and forth between Plaza 9 de Julio and the hotel but if you aren't up for the walk, you probably want to choose a more central location. Walking from the hotel, to the main plaza to the bars/discos/restaurants on Belcarce and back is quite a jaunt. Also, the Sheraton sits on a hill so the last block or two is a workout in the middle of summer. No worries about crime though as Salta seems like a very safe city and we never felt threatened as we walked back late at night. The statue of General Guemes right next to the hotel seems like a teen hangout but there are always cops on hand observing things.

All in all, a decent stay at the Sheraton Salta because we did use points. If we had to pay, I think we could probably do better at a smaller hotel closer to town for the same price or less.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ating02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We visited Salta to use the Tren a les Nubes, and chose the Sheraton because of the "brand" , and because of the pool. Location gives good views over the city and surroundings, and the rooms are reasonable spacious and clean. Whilst front desk staff appear unfriendly and unhelpful, fortunately the restaurant staff have a different attitude, and gave us a pleasant dining experience.

The train trip necessitated a 6.15am departure, but when we asked about coffee, we were told that nothing was possible, and we must use - and pay - for room service. In the morning, however, we happened to walk past the restaurant at 5.50am, to find it fully open and serving breakfast. Was this a cynical attempt to increase revenue?

Our biggest disappointment was the pool. The water quality was so bad, and the sides and bottom so filthy and black with mould that we found it unusable. ( The temperature - hotter than bath-water - didn't help either!) We asked the pool staff about this on arrival, but nothing was done. Eventually, we saw the manager, who, whilst polite, said perhaps the correct chemicals had not been used properly, but obviously this could not be rectified during our stay.
We feel that the hotel did not live up to the Sheraton brand, and suggest that staff should visit Sheraton, Iguacu, for training!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ToscaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2009

This is a very comfortable Sheraton with all the usual upscale chain comforts, including a great (heated) outdoor pool, a hot tub, gym, 24hr room service and a commanding location on a hill, just outside the town centre, overlooking Salta and the Andes beyond. It does all of that stuff really well but the real delight here is the staff, which we found exceptional. Everyone was so friendly, warm and proactive in their service style and seemed genuinely proud of their jobs. We had a great time and absolutely loved our stay there.

Our suite was on the front corner of the top floor and had great views across town and the mountains. It was very spacious and comfortable, with a huge, heavenly bed and all the other luxuries you'd expect. If I were being critical, it could have done with redecoration, being white and magnolia throughout and with quite a few scuffs on the walls. The restaurant was great too - top quality food, presentation and service. The executive lounge was closed while we were there, so we had breakfast in the coffee shop, which was lavish and, again, served extremely well.

All in all, very highly recommended: extremely comfortable, great value and exceptional service from the first bellman who opened our taxi door to check-out.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LunaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR-GeneralManager, General Manager at Sheraton Salta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2009

Dear LunaLondon,
Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review about the hotel.
As you mentioned, our staff is our best asset and they are glad to know that your stay was so good.
We look forward to see you again in Salta to share with you new and unforgettable moments.
Gabriel Roussel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews