We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with very helpful English-speaking staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
286 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,060 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with very helpful English-speaking staff”
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We recently stayed at the Sheraton Mendoza for several nights in late May. As you can see in my photos, the hotel's interior was artfully decorated. Glass, rough hewn wood and exposed brick textures were melded together in a warm, contemporary style which was gorgeous. Our room was equally chic and done up in shades of cream.

As beautiful as this place was, our first night was a little marred by air conditioning that did not work. It was stuffy and warm and a visit from Maintenance to tinker with it didn't make much difference. Also, despite being Starwood Gold Members, we were given a room that directly faced their courtyard construction site and were awakened at 9 am to the sounds of hammering and shouting.

However, after speaking with the Manager, Senor Toro, we were upgraded to a Suite on the SPG 4th floor and life improved greatly. Our new room had a lovely view of Salta and the mountains and we were also sent a complimentary wine and cheese plate to apologize for the A/C issues.

I would also like to mention the Sheraton’s staff who all spoke excellent English and were very helpful. Lucas at the Front Desk was especially professional and he instantly took care of any request that we had.

As for the facilities, the Sheraton had a small but adequate fitness facility with 3 treadmills and some free weights. There was no charge to use it and by the way, they had a filtered water dispenser where we could fill up our water bottles for free.

The Sheraton also had a nice outdoor pool with a wooden deck as well as a casino. It was an easy 15 minute walk into the city center. Valet parking was 25 pesos/day.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jemimagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    326
    112
    29
    15
See reviews for
173
233
30
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
369 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

The Sheraton Salta provides all the comforts you would expect from a worldwide chain. The property is located atop a hill overlooking the charming and very pretty city of Salta. The walk to the center of town takes less than 10 minutes. The property features a nice restaurant and bar area, a well equipped gym, and lovely outdoor pool with jacuzzi area featuring incredible panoramic views of the city, and free WIFI in the lobby. There are also two computers for guests to use in the back end of the lobby. The on site casino is separate but a nice source of entertainment if you are into that. The rooms are standard Sheraton stuff, comfortable, clean, but in need of some touch ups. Walls are scuffed and carpets a bit old. They are bland but tidy and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are large and feature good shower pressure. The neighborhood feels safe and very suburban. The staff are pleasant, but a bit lazy. Use the on site tour office if you need to arrange tours or visits. They are much more resourceful and willing than the front desk. The hotel has a quiet, calm feel to it. Probably the best choice in town.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

The Salta Sheraton. Well, yes, it is a Sheraton so your expectations should be inline with that first and foremost. The property is situated up the hill so to speak so you have a lovely view of the city, day or night. We had made a last minute change in our itinerary and opted to move to the Sheraton since we had some SPG points.

The staff overall was welcoming and very helpful (thank you Fabio!) Fabio from Misiones and the Iguazu Sheraton had joined the Salta team and we spoke with him and several other staff who made our trip very enjoyable. Including helping us order dinner from a local restaurant around midnight because we were tired to go out. Wonderful service!

Our room was clean, had great water pressure and offered very nice views. The spa, gym, and pool were in order and the staff accommodating. The breakfast was plentiful and the espressos and cappucinos got our morning off to good start.

Everyone from the casino, bar, desk, bellman, housekeeping and restaurant were helpful, professional. Thank you, Salta Sheraton!

We walked to Feria Balacarce about a mile (1.5km) and the main square maybe less than a mile in the other direction with ease, through nice neighborhoods, although we taxi'd back to avoid the hill. Salta is easy to navigate and friendly, you will come across wonderful places to eat. On Sunday, after mass, we followed the yummy smells and the masses of locals for wonderful dining. My message to you is to get out and explore, take the local bus and just try things. One great adventure (so to speak) was to get on the local bus to go to the Artensal Market (free trade) which is the white building and not the open air market! Of course we checked out both - but the adventure was our bus driver who was thrilled to have Gringas aboard talk about Salta and even stopped the bus and invited us to take pictures of an area he said was scenic. Some of the locals on the bus were not so enchanted they were on there way and didn't have the same fascination we had with every single novelty we saw. Accordingly, we were polite and respectful of their schedules and were quick about following out drivers instruction to take photos here, here, here =) Kudos to the public transportation system in Salta (drivers made sure we got on the right bus #'s more than once!) Practice your Spanish!

We like this place Salta!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOBY_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed at the Sheraton Salta hotel on two different times during the same trip, one for a single night and the other for two nights. We booked using SPG points.

The hotel itself is nice. Pool was great and has an outstanding view of the city and hills There are two computers in the lobby for free use as well as WiFi throughout the lobby (was not able to catch a signal in the rooms). The first night we were upgraded to a Club Floor room but I believe the Club Lounge was not open due to some remodeling so no real benefits to this except for free non-alcoholic drinks in the lobby bar.

Rooms were nice and clean. No complaints here.

The hotel always seemed relatively empty to us. I don’t think many people were staying there during our stays. I was told that some of the rooms/floors were closed down as well for remodeling but this was not apparent.

Can’t really complain about the hotel. Standard Sheraton fare with overpriced breakfast. There is a casino attached to the hotel as well.

Location is a little tough if you don't like walking. My wife and I are athletic and had no problems walking back and forth between Plaza 9 de Julio and the hotel but if you aren't up for the walk, you probably want to choose a more central location. Walking from the hotel, to the main plaza to the bars/discos/restaurants on Belcarce and back is quite a jaunt. Also, the Sheraton sits on a hill so the last block or two is a workout in the middle of summer. No worries about crime though as Salta seems like a very safe city and we never felt threatened as we walked back late at night. The statue of General Guemes right next to the hotel seems like a teen hangout but there are always cops on hand observing things.

All in all, a decent stay at the Sheraton Salta because we did use points. If we had to pay, I think we could probably do better at a smaller hotel closer to town for the same price or less.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ating02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We visited Salta to use the Tren a les Nubes, and chose the Sheraton because of the "brand" , and because of the pool. Location gives good views over the city and surroundings, and the rooms are reasonable spacious and clean. Whilst front desk staff appear unfriendly and unhelpful, fortunately the restaurant staff have a different attitude, and gave us a pleasant dining experience.

The train trip necessitated a 6.15am departure, but when we asked about coffee, we were told that nothing was possible, and we must use - and pay - for room service. In the morning, however, we happened to walk past the restaurant at 5.50am, to find it fully open and serving breakfast. Was this a cynical attempt to increase revenue?

Our biggest disappointment was the pool. The water quality was so bad, and the sides and bottom so filthy and black with mould that we found it unusable. ( The temperature - hotter than bath-water - didn't help either!) We asked the pool staff about this on arrival, but nothing was done. Eventually, we saw the manager, who, whilst polite, said perhaps the correct chemicals had not been used properly, but obviously this could not be rectified during our stay.
We feel that the hotel did not live up to the Sheraton brand, and suggest that staff should visit Sheraton, Iguacu, for training!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToscaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

This is a very comfortable Sheraton with all the usual upscale chain comforts, including a great (heated) outdoor pool, a hot tub, gym, 24hr room service and a commanding location on a hill, just outside the town centre, overlooking Salta and the Andes beyond. It does all of that stuff really well but the real delight here is the staff, which we found exceptional. Everyone was so friendly, warm and proactive in their service style and seemed genuinely proud of their jobs. We had a great time and absolutely loved our stay there.

Our suite was on the front corner of the top floor and had great views across town and the mountains. It was very spacious and comfortable, with a huge, heavenly bed and all the other luxuries you'd expect. If I were being critical, it could have done with redecoration, being white and magnolia throughout and with quite a few scuffs on the walls. The restaurant was great too - top quality food, presentation and service. The executive lounge was closed while we were there, so we had breakfast in the coffee shop, which was lavish and, again, served extremely well.

All in all, very highly recommended: extremely comfortable, great value and exceptional service from the first bellman who opened our taxi door to check-out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LunaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR-GeneralManager, General Manager at Sheraton Salta Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2009
Dear LunaLondon,
Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review about the hotel.
As you mentioned, our staff is our best asset and they are glad to know that your stay was so good.
We look forward to see you again in Salta to share with you new and unforgettable moments.
Gabriel Roussel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We stayed at the Sheraton Salta for 6 nights in January. Salta is a good home base to explore the north and south of this incredible region. We first checked in to a non smoking room only to discover it reeked of smoke. Maybe it was a smoking room at one time. The front desk staff were totally accomodating and moved us to a executive level room at the same rate. Good breakfast buffet which was included. I found the staff very nice and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel has a attached small casino. The pool has a stunning view of he city, alley and mountains in the background. Health club is ok, sauna is good. The steam is being renovated.

  • Liked — Pool, views, service
  • Disliked — Smoky non smoking room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR-GeneralManager, General Manager at Sheraton Salta Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2009
Dear RFBoston,

Thank you so much for your review.
We look forward to see you soon back in Salta.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salta hotels
1.4 km away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
1.3 km away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Almeria
Hotel Almeria
#8 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Ghala Hotel
Ghala Hotel
#19 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.5 km away
Design Suites Salta
Design Suites Salta
#9 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.3 km away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#6 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Salta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Salta Hotel

Property: Sheraton Salta Hotel
Address: Coronel Francisco de Uriondo 330 | Av Ejercito del Norte, Salta A4406BKQ, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salta
#5 Business Hotel in Salta
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Salta Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Salta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salta
Salta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing